We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great big modern and clean rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Frangipani Bungalows
Ranked #108 of 640 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I randomly selected this place and were 100% satisfied. It lies in a quiet street where you wake up with bird singing. All rooms receive their breakfast served on your own terrace table. You have a nice choice between pancakes and various toast and egg combination. Tea and coffee are available as well as a communal minibar with soft drinks and beer. Our room was one of the top ones (very spacious , baththub, ecotoilet, hotwater and AC). The view is nice; overlooking the small green garden. Price 400000 rupiah per night.

Its 10 mins from the main street and you easily can walk there. I you choose to walk along the rice fields take a torch or some sort of light during the evening. The way is not fully paved and can have holes.

The owner Nik and staff speak English and are very friendly and respectful.

I recommend this place to you all!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank naissinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed a week in a beautiful, clean and comfortable room! The garden was perfect! Nick is a fantastic artist and he is a great host, very helpful and kind to us! Excellent breakfast, coffee and tea available all day long! Perfect place for a relaxing staying in Ubud! The centre is a short walking distance but better if you rent a scooter for moving around easily by day and night!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranEma2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

The Bungalow has only 4 rooms (another 2 are under construction) and is run by a couple with no other staff. They try their best to get you what you need and for me and my wife it was a well spent 2 days. Although the location is a little hard to find at first and there is no parking facilities. the view will be disappointing. Getting dinner might be a little difficult, if you are a late eater like us, as most restaurants in Ubud close by 10 pm. The "happening" restaurants are about 15 - 20 mins walk away in Ubud main road but there are some nice and cozy cafe's and restaurants nearby the hotel as well, along Jalan Bisma.

The property has no TV but the super fast wifi makes up for it. There are no swimming pools either but they have working hot-cold water with other modern amenities.

If you are looking for a quite get-away, and don't have the need for business center's and TV, I would recommend you give this property a shot.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the top floor (two story building) as it will be quieter. The rooms all have gla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faruq_Isu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed for two nights but would have stayed another if they had not been full. The rooms are huge, very modern and super comfortable. The breakfast is good and served on your balcony which is lovely. I would recommend asking for a room on the upper floor so you have more privacy. It is a little walk to the 'hub' of Ubud but to be honest it's really nice being is such a lovely area away from most of the tourists surrounded by rice fields. There are though shops and restaurants a couple of minute walk away and lots of taxis. Would stay again if we were to return to Ubud.

Room Tip: Request a room on the upper floor for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This small (4 room at present, two more being built) hotel is located about 100m down a 'gang' (pathway), there are a couple of parking spaces on the road.

The room was very large. My partner did not find the bed comfortable, the bedding was clean but low quality. The curtains also are very thin, so it is very bright in the room early in the morning.

The hotel is near to rice paddies, but the view is blocked by other buildings. It does have a nice but small gardens. The owners are building two new rooms in the garden, which also detracts from the view at present.

No fridge in the room but a well stocked fridge in the common area is shared between the rooms. Breakfast is served on the terrace, also tea/coffee in the evening.

The wifi worked well when we arrived, but later lost it's internet connection which was restored again the next morning.

Friendly and helpful service from the staff. Our room was upgraded which was nice (paricularly as the cheaper room we booked didnt have a/c). But still, I have stayed in nicer places (with better views and with a/c) in Ubdud at the same price level.

Room Tip: Upstairs room have A/C, downstairs rooms only have fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An0nym0use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodday20, Manager at Frangipani Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Dear An0nym0use,

Thank you for your valuable time to post a valued review at TripAdvisor.

As what has been shared on our property details that we are a guest house and not a Hotel and all the facilities has been clearly mentioning Online. However as the guest house managed by the owner of the guest house, we will treat all of our guest very well as other review posted on TripAdvisor.

In regards to the wi-fi, we are apologize, it just happening rare in time and at until today all has been fixed and there is no problem.
We admit at the moment we are running to finish new building and we trust it's not as noise as before. Building process will be done by end of February and we will have more space at tropical garden surrounded by rice field area in Ubud.

We do hope that we have another chance to welcoming you back in Ubud and should you have any problem during your stay please let us know as soon as possible and we will fix it on time.

Once again thank you for your valuable feedback.

Regards
Frangipani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Room is very spacious and quite from the hustle bustle in Ubud. they provide basic amenities without compromising on cleanliness. Slightly further up from Ubud centre (just about 10-15 minutes of walking), this is the place where one can truly enjoy what Ubud can really offer; surrounded by paddy field and lovely garden. However, there was some construction going on for additional rooms, but it didnt really affect us because it was done not too early in the morning and just in time when we were out and about.

Owners are really helpful and they ensured that we were always informed about Ubud whereabouts. It's very commendable of Nik, who waited for our arrival in the wee hours because our flight was delayed. Thank you!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms so that you could enjoy the lovely scenery (garden), that is upon availability of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Beautiful garden, super clean, in the middle of Ubud sans noisy scooters, and last but not least, amazing owners Nik and Darini make this place feel like home. This place is worth more than its price. If you must absolutely have a pool, you can pay $2 for the use of a nice one next door. Tip: Even though it's just a 5-8 min walk to the main road, I'd recommend renting a scooter to get around ubud in general.. Ubud center is bigger than you think! They are $4-5 a day. the drivers on the road are actually more aware and considerate than you initially think! It's almost safer driving here than in Canada because drivers are WAY less distracted here!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g-to-the-el-oh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
629 reviews
0.4 mi away
Merthayasa Bungalows
Merthayasa Bungalows
#165 of 199 in Ubud
90 reviews
0.9 mi away
Karang Mesari Ubud Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Tanah Semujan Ubud
#28 of 640 in Ubud
208 reviews
0 mi away
Alam Terrace Cottages
Alam Terrace Cottages
#51 of 640 in Ubud
156 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#9 of 640 in Ubud
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Bungalows

Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £10 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Frangipani Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Frangipani Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Bungalows Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing