We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alaya Resort Ubud
Nearby Hotels
US$343
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$313
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$699
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,504
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$238
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$166
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bisma Eight(Ubud)
US$368
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$252
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$258
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$722
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$615
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,280)
Filter reviews
2,281 results
Traveller rating
1,635
512
91
26
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,635
512
91
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdala spayoga barnpetani restaurantmonkey forestriceafternoon teabeautiful hotelyogurta la carte breakfastrain showerthe ground floorlocation was perfectrooms are spaciouspaddy fieldsdeluxe roomour honeymoonthe main street
Filter
Updating list...
1,743 - 1,748 of 2,281 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We stayed at the Alaya Ubud for one week and could not have made a better choice. The wonderful owners, Michelle and Jimmy and their entire staff could not have been more welcoming.Our beautiful room had everything we required, including a safe, strong wifi signal, comfortable bed, blackout curtains, satellite TV, and a fantastic rain shower with as much hot water as you could want. An extra bonus for us was the ceiling fan on the balcony. The pool was refreshing and the lounge chairs extremely comfortable.
The dining area is picturesque and our breakfasts and dinners were delightful. The wait staff could not do enough for us.
Don't miss the complimentary afternoon tea and Balinese sweets! We wish we could have this at home.
The spa was opening the day we left. We are sure it will be first class, as well.
If you're coming to Ubud, we strongly suggest that you consider the Alaya Ubud. You won't be disappointed!
Thanks to everyone at Alaya Ubud for making our stay such a memorable one.

Randy and Ralph (Mama and Papa)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy_Ralph_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2013

Hi Randy_Ralph_13,
Thank you for your review. You have put a big smile on each and every staff at Alaya including us. Once again thank you for your stay, hope you have a good time in your next destination and look forward to welcome you back hopefully in not too distant future.

Best regards,
Managing Director of Alaya Resort Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Their food is great, I had the spareribs which were cooked excellent! The meat fell right of the bones.
The chocolate foundant for dessert was also really good. The crispy duck was very crispy and a little too dry, but good taste.
Service was fair, we didn't have any wine so they weren't really tested. But they interrupt in our conversation which is a bit annoying, maybe just a culture thing.
All in all, nice place, good scenery in the back, away from the road. Price and quality match very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank MFK44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Public Relations Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Dear MFK44,
Thank you for staying at Alaya Resort Ubud, enjoying our Petani Restaurant and taking the time to share your dining experience on Tripadvisor.
We are so happy you found the food great and our services to your satisfaction. Our restaurant has chosen to pay tribute to the members of Bali’s hardworking farming community who cultivate the land to provide a consistent food supply. Therefore, every effort is made at Petani to source organic ingredients direct from local growers so that even rural landowners can benefit from the island’s tourism industry. Our motto is delicious and healthy.
Again appreciate your comment and we definitely will be looking forward to welcoming you again during your next visit to Ubud.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013 via mobile

This hotel has only been open a little more than a month so I was ambivalent to stay here due to the ongoing construction and just generally services aren't perfect when it hasn't even had it's grand opening yet. But surprisingly the services was excellent - staff had good English. The room was clean and spacious with a view of the rice paddy. The shower was excellent. I liked the open space plan. The restaurant was superb. Breakfast was amazing with huge portions. Coffee the best I've tasted. Since it was new I got a great internet promotion rate which I'm sure will go up in time so for now it was a value for $85 considering it's right in the heart of Ubud! The front desk staff were very helpful with anything I needed. I only wished I had stayed in Ubud longer to enjoy the facility. My only comment is - this is not a resort - it's a hotel but a good one.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelEatSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaLa Spa Ubud A, Public Relations Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear TravelEatSpa,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that described your experience exactly according to our foundations for establishing this property, a smart boutique hotel that reflects Bali’s artistic nuance and at the same time meets international needs, yet easily accessed in downtown Ubud. You mentioned about coffee at Petani, our coffee is perfectly brewed using a rich blend of beans sourced by leading Indonesian roasting company Anomali, processed using the La Marzocco FB/70 limited edition machine.
Our special promotion rate is still valid until end of March 2013 so much appreciate of you can recommend us to your friends visiting Bali.
Thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.
Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

While walking the streets in Ubud I came upon the Alaya Hotel, a beautiful hotel with open reception. Friendly personnel waving and smiling with me so I stepped in just to see what was behind the friendly staff. I was completely
overwhelmed by the beauty of the hotel, the view on the sawa's (rice fields) and rooms. A-one.
I had a cup of coffee at the restaurant and ever since I returned several times for breakfast, lunch and coconut water.
The food was delicious and the staff very attentive. The waitresses knew their menu and could made recommendations.
I would strongly recommend visitors to just drop by and convince your self. Thank you staff!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank clariciah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DaLa Spa Ubud A, Public Relations Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Clariciah,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you found your experience with us worth a lifetime. Our unique and smart boutique hotel was designed with Bali’s artistic nuance in mind, set amidst the beautiful lush paddy fields of which Ubud is so popular. Indeed we take pride in our signature Sarapan, the Petani breakfast, which includes a serve of young coconut water to replenish energy levels.
Culinary needs of in-house guests and passersby such as yourself are met with a delightful menu of flavoursome fare.
Again, we appreciate your comment and we looking forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We stayed at this hotel early Feb, in the Alaya Room. We booked knowing it was a brand new hotel. When we arrived we realised that the hotel wasn't actually finished, the pool was not filled, the spa centre was not built and the rooms were still being finished hence lots of construction noise. The positives were that our room was completed(phew), the staff were very welcoming and the breakfast and afternoon teas were beautiful, the pool was filled halfway through our stay. Overall we were a bit disappointed and didn't feel that we got the experience that was advertised on the website. If you are wanting to spend your days relaxing in your room or at the spa centre or by the pool then I would not recommend staying here until everything is finished! This place has great potential and may well be finished by the time this review is read !

Room Tip: There is three levels to the alaya rooms if you want to be near the pool ask for a ground floor if not you could request a third level which would give you a great view of the rice paddy field
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeloveAsia_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResort, Owner at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear WeloveAsia_12,

Thank you for your feedback. On behalf of Alaya ubud team I sincerely apologize if your recent stay did not meet your expectation. We are glad to inform you that the restaurant and the pool are now in full operation, and all remaining public facility including the bale and the spa will open by this weekend Mar 2nd 2013. Please let us know should you wish to try our resort for 2nd time and allow us to improve your next stay experience. Thank you once again for staying with us.

Best regards,
Jimmy Gunawan
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews