We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #46 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed at Alaya during their opening special offer of half price rooms. Firstly I was on the ground floor but asked to be moved after the first night during which they were trying to fix a blocked pipe outside! Not off to a great start but things improved and the third floor room was much quieter. Staff aimed to please with a few other issues including a lack of hot water. Good location with a supermarket next door and Monkey Forest Rd close by. Need more deck chairs and add umbrellas for around the pool - it was very hot and there was not enough shade. The restaurant wasn't busy except for breakfast - the menu was not very appealing for those wanting a true Bali experience. Overall though, a great place to stay and I hope to go back some day soon. Thanks for making my first trip to Bali special.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gogirl12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear GoGirl12345,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are so delighted you considered us a lovely hotel during your first trip to Bali. Apologize for any inconvenience caused about the said facility, we immediately resolved it to avoid any more problems in the future. As we are still on soft opening period, a lot of testing are being done to get us ready for full occupancy and improvements.
We truly appreciate for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud on your next visit to Bali.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,196
    396
    67
    21
    13
See reviews for
264
886
153
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed two wonderful nights at Alaya Ubud Resort. The resort itself is fairly new and beautifully designed and we had a very spacious room with a king bed and big LCD TV and gorgeous balcony overlooking the pool. Breakfasts were delicious. The staff are all lovely and very helpful. We also loved the location, a 5 minute walk to the Monkey Forest and Monkey Forest Road. We loved Ubud and would love to come back and stay at Alaya again in the future.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Leah T,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We much appreciate your comments and most importantly that you had an fantastic stay with us. Glad you enjoyed our extremely popular breakfast. We pride ourselves for being the secluded boutique in Ubud, but at the same time having easy access to all major attractions, and still provide a personalized service for each and every guest treating them as a family member.
Again, thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you again to Alaya Ubud on your next trip here.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We were lucky enough to enjoy a wonderful night at the Alaya Resort in Ubud. We have never stayed in Ubud before, we have driven through and around but never stayed the night. We always stay in Villa De Daun in Kuta and were asked if we would like to see what we thought of Alaya Resort.

We loved it. It was so peaceful overlooking the rice fields from the balconey of our room. The room was so nicely decorated and the fixtures magnificent. I could have stayed in the shower all day with the rain shower head.

All in all the experience of Alaya Resort was wonderful. The staff were so friendly and helpful.

Hopefully next time we will stay a bit longer and really enjoy the peace and quiet.

Karen and Ian

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz66Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Dear Kaz66Perth,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are so happy you had a relaxing experience during your stay with us. Here at Alaya, we ensure that we deliver the same level of warmth and looking after each guest personally, just like at Villa de daun Kuta. We want to offer a chance to experience Bali’s various destinations, in the heart of Kuta and Ubud.
Appreciate your praise and looking forward to welcoming you again to Alaya Ubud.

Warmest regards,
Alaya Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wasaga Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

Our 25th Wedding Anniversary needed a special hotel, so we checked the options in Ubud and selected the Alaya Resort. This proved to be one of my better decisions. From the moment we arrived to the time we had to leave it was a most enjoyable experience.

Our standard room was spacious, well designed and beautifully appointed. A marvelous breakfast was included each morning, as was complimentary afternoon tea. Dinner at the hotel's Petani restaurant was beautifully prepared and excellent value.

Staff took the usual Balinese hospitality to new heights - nothing was too much trouble. If you enjoy the spa experience, this is the place, and the pool provided the perfect way to recover from a busy day in town. The location is handy to most everything you need in Ubud.

They even surprised us with special considerations for our anniversary celebration. We really hated to move on, and will definitely return at the next opportunity. Go ahead, spoil yourself!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wasagadave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear Wasagadave,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Congratulations for your 25th wedding anniversary, we are truly happy that you chose to celebrate it with us here at Alaya. We want to give each guest a personalized and heart warming experience, from the moment they step into our lobby until check out. As many guests have commented, our convenient location, delicious breakfast, and wellness treatments at DaLa Spa is what makes sets up apart from other hotels in Ubud. Again, thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you on your next wedding anniversary in Alaya Ubud.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We arrived into Ubud with no plans, just my iPad and tripadvisor for a guide, Hotel Alaya seemed to appear everywhere, so we thought we'd take a look. I'd seen it was only opened in January 2013 so it's very new and in perfect condition. The staff are all 100% friendly and services spot on, the rooms, especially the hot tub ones are amazing! We stayed in room 321 near the pool and loved it.

Both my partner and I wanted to cycle and see the rice fields but didn't want an all day trip so the hotel lent us their brand new mountain bikes and Mayun (a member of staff) kindly offered to let us cycle with him during his afternoon break. It was amazing! We saw locals bathe in the rivers, rice fields that tourists don't usually see and a sunset to die for.

Breakfast was very good, I had American one day and eggs benedict the others, with drinks and afternoon tea included too. They operate a private bus (again brand new!) to just about anywhere in the town you'd like, free. I have to say (and heard other visitors say when checking out too) that it is the best hotel they've stayed at, and I have to agree.

We would come back for sure!! Tim

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Timbogray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Timbogray,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are happy that you found your stay with us absolutely perfect.
We wanted to create this experience using these small details, made available for guests, so they can enjoy every moment of their experience with us, whether it is simply relaxing in your room or laying by the pool or wanting to go out and explore Ubud and beyond. Our staff are well known for treating each guest as a family or dear friend.
We are looking forward to offering you another fabulous stay during your next visit to Alaya Ubud.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

We spent three lovely nights at Alaya. Everything was lovely; staff were always welcoming, friendly and helpful. We were in a third level room with bath and private balcony overlooking rice fields and it was fantastic to be able to retreat and watch the ducks being herded! The room was huge and comfortable. Breakfast was absolutely delicious, especially the nasi kuning!

Room Tip: Third floor Alaya rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Dear Thi_13,
Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. We want to reflect the atmosphere and spacious lush open paddy fields in our rooms. Chef Siharta from our kitchen is the creator of all mouth-watering dishes, including our unique breakfast, in Petani Restaurant.
Again, thank you for your comments and looking forward to welcoming you again to Ubud on your next visit.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

Service is excellent, Spa is top notch, rooms are good value. We stayed in April and got a promotion deal of 125$ per night, they told us the price will go up to 450$. There are 60 rooms, of which 41 were filled during our stay. It did not feel busy at all, except for all deck chairs at the pool being occupied.

Restaurant is ok, but not up to the standard of the hotel. Meals are looking nice, but lack the taste of Bali and the meat is not as good as it is on the street stalls, or other places. Next to that, they are very, very slow, even when it's empty, which it is most of the time. Go eat somewhere else. Just call another hotel and be picked up for free!

The hotel could and shoud do more about promoting green practices. The bigger hotels like this have the responsibility to learn their guests and staff how, by showing it top-down. A list of examples in case the management is reading this:
- there are some led lights, but mostly halogene
- all rooms have AC blowing full power all day, occupied or not
- garden lights are on all day, install a timer system
- offer shared taxi drives to airport and electrical motobikes
- offer re-usable shopping bags
- buy only locally, organically and more vegeterian and promote this
All this could be done and presented in very chique ways, which fit a hotel of this standard and we hope to see more of it when we return to Bali, because without it Bali will lose its famous charm.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jonasdejong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Dear jonasdejong,
Thank you for your valuable feedback.
As Alaya strives to offer the best products and services, we will review all your inputs and make sure all issues raised will be properly handled.
As we are still on soft opening period, a lot of testing are being done to get us ready for full occupancy. These testing would include things like light and AC testing, but nothing which may create disturbances to the guests. Furthermore, we are still gearing towards full equipment facilities, full staffing and full services and rest assured all products and services are being improved each and every day.
Thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcome you back in near future.

Best regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Property: Alaya Resort Ubud
Address: Jalan Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#41 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotelopia, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Fastbooking so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing