We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect llocation and people”
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #42 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

What a nice resort, stayed 3 nights with no regrets. They have a great staff, good food. Indra at the Alaya was the perfect server..so kudos to the management for having her on staff. Although everyone was great. The morning lattés were the highlight of breakfast for me. Our location was perfect to go out and visit the area and try other dining options. Our favorite restaurant was Ira Rae just cross the soccer pitch. Will be back soon.

Room Tip: can't really go wrong, we enjoyed the top flop watching the rice paddies grow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Justinsane,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. We located in a vibrant area filled with specialty shops, art galleries, cafes and many tourist destination.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,053)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,408 - 1,414 of 2,053 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

PLEASE stay at this hotel if you're visiting Ubud. First of all, it's beautiful - the rooms are incredible, the pool is amazing, the restaurant is to die for and the staff...well, they felt like family. I may have been a paying customer but I felt like I was part of an incredible family and walked away with new friends, not to mention a happy happy heart.

You HAVE to sign up for the bike tour with Mayun! Mayun is an incredible person - he's beyond kind, incredibly accommodating, knows the ins and outs of Ubud and we stumbled upon many magical moments during the bike tour which he just seized and made happen- such as asking the random guy in the coconut tree to thrown down some coconuts for us, crack them open and voila! Fresh young coconut juice right there.

I love these people and am already planning my next trip back. Thank you Mayun, Komang, Diana, Artini and so many more. I adore you and miss you!

Oh and please check out Joe Mura who is a sensational musician that performs at the hotel restaurant on Saturday nights. He seriously gives John Mayer a run for his money.

-Sara Stein

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Dear Sara S,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us from the room, food, services and our live Performance at Petani Restaurant. Alaya keep provide a personalized service to each guest, we arrange a cycling activity with trained guide to enjoy ubud area and live evening entertainment at Petani from Violinist, Balinese dance and of course Saturday night with Joe Mura.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed for a night and was very reluctant to leave the next day. Everything about the resort and the room was just perfect. We checked into a room with a view of the paddy field. Although the field is not in its best condition at this time, it was still a serene experience. The room was amazing: with a lovely open concept shower, super comfortable bed and pillows, charming decorations and settings. The pool was nice too, especially loved the daybed by the pool. The resort is just at the junction between Jalan Hanoman and Jalan Monkey Forest, extremely convenient location in Ubud. The complimentary afternoon tea was awesome: we were served some Indonesian snack and chose to have their coffee which was excellent. The breakfast was also great: I was very happy to have their coffee again. We felt really relaxed and pampered during our stay with Alaya Resort. Highly recommended stay if you are visiting Ubud.

Room Tip: Rooms on ground floor with view of paddy field
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank UrbanBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Dear UrbanBabe,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. Our healthy food from breakfast to dinner at Petani Restaurant takes a cuisine around Indonesian to western food, Petani Coffee also exclusive to Alaya Resort Ubud and is freshly roasted using the finest grade Arabica beans from around the Indonesia archipelago.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

we have booked two rooms in ubud in this resort and no regret , everything was perfect , rooms , swimming pool , service , parking and location .
we stay two nights and took one diner , good quality of food
recommended early to everybody , families with kids .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dubois c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear dubois c,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations, we try to provide a personalized service to the guests from the facilities, room and healthy food at Petani Restaurant.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a excellent time at Alaya.what makes Alaya Ubud best among other hotels is their staffs.The room are spacious and on our return stay they even arranged for pool view. The location is central.Food is nice and reasonably priced.
We would also like to thank Ayu and Artini they went out of way to find tour pacakage&scooter&pool view room for us ,and also the guard who stopped traffic everytime we drove out and in.
Wifi was ok ,only the spa we found a bit expensive.All in all ,anyone who wants to stay in Ubud must start from here!!

Room Tip: Look for a room at ground floor with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sumant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Sumant M,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Alaya features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms with private balcony overlooking to the paddy field. Daily freshly ala carte breakfast and afternoon tea created by Chef Made Siharta, all the menu are essentially driven by island-fresh produce and seasonal specialties to ensure that diners are introduced to some of the best dishes that Bali has to offer. Award winning DaLa Spa has created several signature treatments, which are truly unique experiences. “Manis Klepon” is a nurturing ritual that draws its inspiration from a traditional Indonesian rice flour cake and “The Island Cocoon” that pays homage to a timeless Indonesian skin care remedy.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Me and my hubby stayed at Alaya resort for 2 nights, in October 13. The hotel is located right in the heart of Ubud, very close to shops, restaurants, cafes, supermarket, and yoga barn. The room is beautiful, great size, and I got the one that was facing the paddy field. The staff are very attentive, and friendly, they explain everything to you, show where things are, etc. The supermarket is just one minute walk, very convenient. The room was very clean, the bathroom as well, the shower and bathtub only separated by a curtain, which is fine for us, but some people might not like this.
The one thing I love most about Alaya is they paid great attention to details, guaranteed you won't find typical annoying things that other hotels usually have, like crappy bath and body product that makes your hair frizzy and your body smells like aftershave; in fact they smell soooo amazing, I ended up buying the conditioner to take home. The restaurant serves beautiful foods, and reasonably priced. The breakfast was great, no buffet breakfast when we were there, means that there's no chaotic guests walking around with plates, trying to avoid bumping into each other. Unfortunately we didnt get to try their spa and pool, so I cant really comment on them, the pool looks clean and amazing though. The kids pool, however, located far from the main pool, and looks more like a pond than a pool, I think this place is more suitable for couple. I would recommend this place to everyone travelling to Ubud, and will definitely will stay here again in the future, and I'll make sure to stay a bit longer next time! :)

Room Tip: get the one that faces the paddy field, or the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Amanda S,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. We aim to provide 5-star service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. Alaya features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms with private balcony overlooking to the paddy field. The main pool is elongated with shapely curves mirroring the sloping contours of the surrounding landscape and an award winning DaLa Spa available for personal indulgence where age-old Indonesian healing and beauty traditions are put into practice to recharge the body, mind and spirit. Our daily freshly ala carte breakfast and afternoon tea created by Chef Made Siharta all the menu are essentially driven by island-fresh produce and seasonal specialties to ensure that diners are introduced to some of the best dishes that Bali has to offer.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed 7 nights in October 2013.
Staff willingness and friendliness 5 out of 5.
Staff training 4 out of 5, for example hot meals and toast delivered at the same time as the fruit and yogurt for breakfast, went cold by the time you were ready to eat the hot food, we were very disappointed with the buffet breakfast on Sunday.
The room was kept very clean and the beds were very comfortable but we didn't like shower, toilet and bath being in the bedroom with only a curtain divider, also missed something to sit on in the room other than the bed. Fridge did not work when room key card was removed and even then didn't work that well due to lack of ventilation in the cabinet.
Only solution was to remove the fridge and stand it in the room and get a second key card to leave power on at all times.
Location was good lots of other places to eat close by and the supermarket was almost next door.
The hotel shuttle service was available some of the time to use to go to the top end of town, but this wasn't a problem as taxi cost is very cheap and easily available from across the road.
Spa was great as were the staff at this facility, ambience was something special.
Entertainment in the restaurant at dinner was very good, well worth staying in for.
Internet service is available throughout the complex, including by the pool.

Room Tip: Ask for a room by the pool or a corner second floor room. If you have difficulty with stairs ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjc195410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear pjc195410,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Alaya Ubud is an unpretentious boutique resort that is all about taking time out to enjoy quality relaxation in a stylish environment surrounded by natural beauty. A casual dinning Petani Restaurant comes with an exclusive evening entertainment from the acoustic, Balinese dance and violin performance. Award winning DaLa Spa has created several signature treatments, which are truly unique experiences. “Manis Klepon” is a nurturing ritual that draws its inspiration from a traditional Indonesian rice flour cake and “The Island Cocoon” that pays homage to a timeless Indonesian skin care remedy. Apologize for any inconvenience, we value your inputs and have advised our management of these issues. Hopefully you can come visit us again and be happy with the progress we've made.
Much appreciate for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud on your next visit to Bali.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
787 reviews
1.8 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#41 of 199 in Ubud
1,029 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Address: Jalan Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#37 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £85 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Agoda, Southall Travel, ACCOR, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing