We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #45 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Samarinda, Indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

all staffs are helpfull , we arrived so late ....they help us carry our things. we just felt to sleep.
when we woke up , open our terrace ...wow it's pool just in front of terrace & padi field beside it.
breakfast was superb , bread very nice.
you can find anything you need nearby , there is minimarket beside the hotel & many restaurants surrounding. we took dinner once @ the hotel , their pork rib steak fantastic.

Room Tip: if you love swimming ask for the room with the pool view/access , its on the ground floor. choose th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nelkaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear nelkaka,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. Our rooms are overlooking to the paddy field and or swimming pool with private balcony, the room also includes daily freshly and healthy breakfast and afternoon tea at a casual dining Petani Restaurant. Our in-house guests also can enjoy weekly live entertainment at Petani, yoga class, making offering and Balinese dance.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,246
    404
    69
    23
    13
See reviews for
276
915
157
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed for two nights in this lovely hotel. The hotel is locatet in center ubud. Breakfast ist perfect and rich. Rooms are big. Internet in rooms.
Petani restaurant in the hotel offers great food and very good coffee. We had a great balinese massage, including food bath to begin. The hotel is new, not tipical balinese.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Dear Geraldine S,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. We aim to provide 5-star service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed at the Alaya Ubud resort during my trip to Bali and it was amazing. We sadly only had one night there, but it's one of the most beautiful and peaceful hotels I've ever been it. It's right off the main road and walking distance to great restaurants and shops. And while one side of the building faces other residential buildings, the other side faces a beautiful rice field. When I looked out the window of our room it was like we were in the middle of the country.

The staff were really helpful and nice (they even upgraded us to a room with the most beautiful round stone bathtub!) and the food at the restaurant was delicious. The pool was incredible and I just wish we'd had time to visit the spa.

Definitely recommend this place!

Room Tip: All the rooms looked amazing, but the first floor rooms could be looked into when you were walking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annique D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Annique D,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us from the room, pool, view, food and services. Alaya located in a vibrant area filled with specialty shops, art galleries, cafes and many tourist destinations, live entertainment also available at our casual dining Petani Restaurant to enjoy the night with acoustic music, violin performance and Balinese dance.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud, also for a relaxation at award winning DaLa Spa.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We have just finished a 4 night stay at this hotel and couldn't fault anything. The hotel was booked as a result of tip advisor comments and we really thought it would live up to expectations but it did.

The staff go out of their way to ensure that your stay is the best it could be, the accommodation is excellent as previously said large rooms and balconies the shower is within the room but once you get your head around this it works well.

Beds very comfy and room locations quiet and peaceful, though the hotel is on a busy road this is not head from the pool.

We ate in the hotel 2 nights and had no complaints, breakfasts had an excellent choice and selection,

We used the hotel transfer service from the airport and then onto our next destination in Bali, again very efficient, clean, safe, friendly and professional.

Would love to visit again and will definitely recommend to friends who may want to say in a hotel close to Ubud center and the yoga barn.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor near the pool very quiet, I just requested a quiet location on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank h0lsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear h0lsrus,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. We aim to provide 5-star service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. Alaya provide various facilities for the guest to spend a lovely time at the resort, award winning DaLa Spa Inspired by traditional Indonesian therapies offers a carefully-researched selection of pampering and healing treatments.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My daughter and I have spent 4 days last week in this charming hotel. Nice personnel, new and clean rooms, just next to the swimmimg pool, next to rice fields, quiet place (no frog concert as in most of hotels), close to the city center (if we can call it like this). I warmly recommend.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Christian M,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us from the room, pool, view and services. Staying at Alaya Ubud Guests can experience the nature from every facility provided, a multi function pavilion for yoga class, cooking class and also to learn Balinese making offering surrounding the green view.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Two of us stayed in Alaya after finding a brilliant deal. The hotel staff catered for everything we had requested (specific to allergies), and took great care in accommodating our needs. The facilities are incredible and the rooms are a great size. The beds are sensationally comfortable!
It is wonderfully located, close to everything important and special surprises along the way. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Gabrielle80,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. We aim to provide 5-star service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

Have just returned from 5 nights at Alaya. One of the best hotels I have seen in Asia. Large bedrooms with large balcony. Huge bathroom part of the room (with curtain) not that private.
On the second floor(room 219) you wake to the view of rice paddies. Very quiet rooms. Bar fridge not very cold.
Very central position on one of the two main shopping streets; a short walk to the Monkey Forrest and to Monkey Forrest st (shopping and restaurants).
Of course a hotel is only as good as its staff; from the restaurant staff to the spa staff they are all beautiful and can't do enough for you.
Restaurant serves a wonderful choice of breakfasts. Dinner can be a little hit and miss.Cocktails expensive at the bar(go next door to Siam Sally's for more reasonably priced cocktails and live music three nights a week).
Beautiful spa facilities. Bali massage highly recommended!
Taxi ride to airport or Kuta should cost you no more than 250000r and can be found across the road from the hotel. In Ubud there are no meter taxis, fares negotiable and taxis can also be found along all streets with taxi drivers holding signs .
Huge supermarket next door selling everything you might need: alcohol, drinks, fruit and vege's, cold meats, cheese etc and includes a bakery.
Would love to come back to Alaya one day.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms- a good level for view and less stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manajer at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear flowermouse_12,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. All the rooms at Alaya with private balcony overlooking to the paddy field, located in a vibrant area filled with specialty shops, art galleries and cafes along with lifestyle activities for health conscious guests. Our daily freshly and healthy set menu breakfast and afternoon tea available at Petani Restaurant, also with live performance from violin, acoustic and Balinese dance at evening.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#27 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,815 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Tulip Visesa
Royal Tulip Visesa
#19 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Property: Alaya Resort Ubud
Address: Jalan Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#39 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing