We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice SPA hotel in downtown Ubud”
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #42 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I traveled with my 7-year girl and stayed at Alaya for 5 days. We both love it and feel very safe and welcome as women travelers.
The location of the hotel is superb, eg. a nice 5-min walk to the Sacred Monkey Forest, 1-min to "Yoga Barn", and plenty of shops and restaurants close by.
For me, the best part of the day is its SPA center, world-class luxury! It is relatively expensive, but you get a nice discount after the 1st treatment. It is totally worthy it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lakes_mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Lakes_mama,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. We are located in the central of Ubud with paddy field view from each room; an award winning DaLa Spa perfectly designed for the guest to enjoy the true Balinese relaxation with the menu inspired by age-old Indonesian healing and beauty rituals.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,011)
There are newer reviews for Alaya Resort Ubud
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,282 - 1,288 of 2,011 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2014

At the Alaya you will find yourself both in the center of Ubud, in walking distance from all the great sites, and in a tranquil retreat. Cleverly designed the Alaya furnishes its guests views and character of the countryside, while giving them access to the main street of Ubud. Ducks wander through rice fields followed by the farmer as you watch from your balcony and when the sun sets the mountain ranges are dark against the sky.but as soon as you feel like it you can be among the markets and the fascinating side streets enjoying a lively time.
The Alaya staff are courteous, their menu so reasonable for a hotel and their overall attention to detail makes them a highly recommended place to stay.

Room Tip: Room s at the far end of the hotel have the best views, though all views are good.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaytype
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear kaytype,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. Alaya welcoming all the guests with personalized services and complete facilities from each side, all the rooms overlooking to the paddy field with private balcony and our details decoration from the room to public area made for the guest convenience during stay at Alaya Ubud.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

I stayed at Alaya for two and a half weeks and had a wonderful time there. It took a couple of days to adjust to the noise levels, especially at the front of the hotel on JL Hanoman, but my spacious room was quite a long way back and much quieter, overlooking the lovely pool and rice field beyond. The standards in all areas of the hotel were consistently maintained and what really stood out for me were the staff who were exceptionally warm, helpful and friendly. Most of them knew my name and I was welcomed back to the hotel after I'd been out which was lovely. At my request, I learned a little Indonesian each day at breakfast, and the location was perfect - for doing yoga at the Yoga Barn which was virtually next door and Radiantly Alive, another yoga studio about 20 mins walk away - and for all the main cafes and shops in the centre of Ubud. The hotel shuttle wasn't always available for longer trips and it would have been good if they could have offered a freelance driver as an alternative - the regular taxis were OK but not great. The food was good quality although more vegetarian options would have suited me but overall this is an excellent hotel with high standards in a good location in central Ubud that I would be happy to recommend.

Room Tip: The hotel stretches back away from the road so the rooms at the front are likely to be more noisy th...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia101_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Julia101_10,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Alaya located in a vibrant area filled with specialty shops, art galleries, cafes and many tourist destinations. We aim to provide a personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This hotel is currently one of the best hotels/resorts I have been to. Service is excellent, amenities are very good too but I guess the very reason I love this resort is the peace and tranquility it somehow made me feel. Aside from the beautiful rooms -spacious, nice and sturdy furniture, aromatic bath amenities-, the view of the rice fields just literally a few meters from your door is really really very nice. Early in the morning, the scent of the fields and the serenity of the place makes you thank God the more for his beautiful creation. Breakfast is okay although it is not the usual buffet. You have to budget some time though because it takes a while for the food to be prepared.

I was not able to try the pool because it is almost always full at that time but lounging around the pool area or just outside your room is good enough. I guess the only thing if your room is near the pool is that it can get noisy at times if the pool is busy.

Getting around is no problem. You can walk and enjoy the view and observe the activities around you or you can also ask for the complimentary shuttle to take you to the town center. The monkey forest is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel and a grocery and money changer is also nearby.

Ubud is highly recommended for those fed up with city life, with malls, with heavy traffic and pollution, etc. It's laid back in its own way and very culture rich. Don't leave Bali though without trying the Balinese massage complete with flower bath!

I would definitely return if given the chance. Stayed for 3 days.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, ask for a room far from the pool. It can get noisy at times when the p...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank I-benget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear yusil,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. All the rooms at Alaya with private balcony overlooking to the paddy field, we provide various facilities for the guest to spend a lovely time at the resort from Balinese dance, making offering, yoga class, spa class, cooking class and weekly live entertainment at Petani Restaurant.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

This hotel is one of the best I've stayed at (and I've traveled a lot!). This was close enough to Ubud places (walking) but yet far enough out not be bothered by noise or excessive tourist. Was 50m away from YogaBarn! And right next to the rice paddies. throw is 5 star luxury and an infectiousnessly happy staff and this hotel is certainly one of my world favs.

Room Tip: All the rooms I tried (2) were good. the ones nearer the front are a quicker walk but have a so-so v...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tmaharaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Tmaharaj,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Alaya is a boutique hotel with each room overlooking to the paddy field and private balcony. We located in downtown Ubud next to Yoga Barn which is perfect choice for Yogis and easy walking to a lot tourist destination in Ubud.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We spent our first night in Ubud at this hotel and wish we could have afforded to stay longer. Upon arrival we were greeted with a welcome drink while we completed all the necessary forms before being shown to our room. Can't say that we had the best view overlooking the supermarket across the way but we had booked a room at a special rate so can't really grumble....bearing this in mind it did not spoil our stay. The rooms are spacious with lovely showering facilities that we could not keep out of especially with all the aromatic body treats that were free to use...we really did want to pack them away in our bags! The beds were comfortable and everything we wanted to get to was within walking distance although once we'd arrived at this hotel we did NOT want to leave! The gardens are beautiful and calming it was like a little oasis and I enjoyed wandering around them, they are so well maintained by the employees. We did venture out to take a look the spa which looks amazing if a little pricey. The breakfast had a nice selection of choices which catered for different cultures and we thourougly enjoyed it.

The only negatives for me were: that we were telephoned as soon as we got into the room asking at what time we would be vacating the following day...'hang on...we've only just arrived' and we were certainly going to get our moneys worth! The other minor annoyance was being disturbed so the beds could be turned back...it's just not for me...I'd have prefered the choice and not been disturbed! A final negative was the breakfast...the cold and hot choices all arrived at the same time, I guess we are used to having one course at a time and like to eat our cold food before the hot food arrives..maybe this is the norm for Bali...?

All in all you cannot really fault this place, the service is outstanding as are the rooms.. I would return in a hearbeat.

Room Tip: Anywhere towards the back of the hotel either overlooking the pool or spa appeared to be quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blubella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Blubella,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Alaya welcoming all the guests with personalized services and complete facilities from each side, all the rooms overlooking to the paddy field with private balcony and our details decoration from the room to public area made for the guest convenience during stay at Alaya Ubud. Apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We value your inputs and have advised our management of these issues.
Much appreciate for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud on your next visit to Bali.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights last February.
I loved this hotel. The room was large, very clean and well maintained, with air-con, TV, safe, closet. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've ever slept in my whole life! My room had views of the pool (below) and rice fields (ahead), which was very nice.
The whole staff (front desk, waiters, room maid) was always very friendly and polite.
The breakfast was delicious, you order your choices from a list and it is prepared immediately. Do not miss the cappuccino, it is so good.
The bathroom amenities that are provided in the room are the same they use in the spa and you can buy these products if you want to (shampoo, hand-soap, conditioner, etc), which is a nice souvenir.
Location wise, the hotel is a 5 min walk to Monkey Forest Sanctuary and 12-15 min walk to the main road. There is a supermarket (Coco Supermarket) beside the hotel that is open till 10pm. There is also a "taxi" counter just across the street, that you can use to arrange transportation to the airport or day trips to other places in Bali.
All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrazilBackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear BrazilBackpack,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us from the room, food and services. Alaya located in a vibrant area filled with specialty shops, art galleries, cafes and many tourist destinations, We aim to provide a personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
767 reviews
3.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.7 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#13 of 199 in Ubud
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Address: Jalan Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#36 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £93 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing