We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a special stay!”
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #44 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

I was warmly greeted by the infectiously smiling Agung at the front desk. Then had a refreshing welcome drink. I had a lovely room overlooking rice paddies. The bath products were so luscious (rose coconut bath foam to be enjoyed in my oversize tub. Service in the restaurant was impeccable and the food was quite tasty. Lots of food and choices for a free breakfast! You can eat healthily, american, or try Indonesian breakfast. Big variety to select from. The rooms are extremely clean. All staff members on the property make you feel special by greeting you each time they see you. Oh, the bed was so very comfortable after long hot days of shopping. The Dala spa isn't the cheapest spa in Bali but it's worth it to try one of their 2.5 hour treatments made with products by hand. It was a delightful splurge on me. I highly recommend this hotel. Thanks for a lovely stay Alaya Ubud.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Actived25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Actived25,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us from the room, spa, food and services. Alaya welcoming all the guests with personalized services and complete facilities from each side, all the rooms overlooking to the paddy field with private balcony and our details decoration from the room to public area made for the guest convenience during stay at Alaya Ubud.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,340 - 1,346 of 2,145 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is the best hotel in Ubud and beyond. We absolutely loved our 4 days stay in Alaya! Everything other reviewers mention is absolutely true. The kindness of the staff, the cleanliness of the room, the excellence of the breakfast but also of the dinners!!!
Every little detail for a perfect stay has been thought of in Alaya. To be definitely recommended !!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voyager006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Voyager006,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. We aim to provide a personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

First time in Bali, and I was fortunate to have chosen Ubud and stay at the wonderful Alaya Resort. There was not one thing that could be faulted. Amazing staff, in all areas. The room was large and comfortable, restaurant and menu great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DLG193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear DLG193,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. We aim to provide a personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Initially we booked three nights and after liking it so much we extended three more days.... The staff was very kind and always helpful. This is our third time in Bali and Surely we will return on our fourth trip to Bali to Alaya. Thank you again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Upper floor ALAYA rooms was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aravi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Aravi M,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. Alaya welcoming all the guests with personalized services and complete facilities from each side, all the rooms overlooking to the paddy field with private balcony and our details decoration from the room to public area made for the guest convenience during stay at Alaya Ubud.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We only had 3 nights at the alaya however every night just got better! From breakfast to evening dinner everything in our opinion was just perfect. So much so we were sad to leave but I am certain we will return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue657w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear sue657w,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. We aim to provide a personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is in the most convenient area in Ubud yet cozy and quiet. I took a room at the second floor overlooking the rice fields. Their service is very good, good choice of tasty breakfast. Bed is very comfy, balcony is great and very private. Swimming pool is not very big for a hotel of this size. there are always ppl around it, no one swims though:-)
Cocktails in a bar are on a weak side but like almost everywhere in Bali. The hot tub looks very impressive however not very convenient, especially if you are tall - it is just oddly shaped. there is a curtain to separate the whole tub-shower-toilet area of the open concept room. An I mean really open concept - everything is 100% exposed. I didn't mind the tub and shower, the room i had is mostly suitable for romantic get away. The thing i was not crazy about - practically exposed toilet - there is a little mystery I'd like to keep with a person i am sharing everything else! it's partially separated by a glass wall and a glass door - the door is just a short separation swinging both ways. Any sound and smell can cross the room not problem. Not practical. The curtain is not enough.

I did not try the spa as i found better value options but i went there and it lookd just gorgeous

Room Tip: higher floors definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear alanbel,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. We aim to provide a personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. Apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We value your inputs and have advised our management of these issues.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

This is our first time to Bali and really feel excited and memorable. I searched for many resort but finally chose Alaya Resort for 2 nights. Compared with the price per night, it is valuable and excellent for environment, room, services and facilities, especially the comfortable bed. My husband even want to know which brand it is?
The resort is very near to dirty duck and even having the view for duck and rice terrace.
We were very happy and for sure will introduce to our friends to bali.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 750daphnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear 750daphnel,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Staying at Alaya Ubud Guests can experience the nature from every facility provided; a multi function pavilion for yoga class, cooking class and also to learn Balinese making offering surrounding the green view.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 196 in Ubud
837 reviews
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
3.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
0.5 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#43 of 196 in Ubud
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Address: Jl. Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#38 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £90 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing