We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, with beautiful rice fields view”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #46 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, with beautiful rice fields view”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Alaya for 4 nights, as from Ubud is much easier to visit the center and east part of Bali.
The hotel is located near the Monkey Forest (not quite in the city center). The hotel looks great, it has large rooms and gorgeous balconies with view towards the rice fields and a beautiful swimming pool. The hotel is just next to the yoga barn and the rooms located in the back, far from the noisy street are the best.
The food is good and at a fair price. We also enjoyed a romantic dinner in the first night, and it was very nice- with a lot of candles and flowers in an intimate location.
I can also mention the very good fresh juices and good coffee. The complementary tea, coffee and cookies between 15:00-17:00 is also nice if you are at the hotel at that time.
The only disappointing thing here was that in the first day we received a room that wasn't cleaned very well after the last guests(we found toe nails in the bathroom and room) and the towels had poop stains on them! We called the receptionist to request clean towels and they immediately came to bring us some. Though, this was not a one time event, as the thing with stained towels happend another day! :( The sheets were good but they seem to have a problem with the towels!
Overall the hotel is very nice, but the towels might disappoint you.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank The_usual_tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear The_usual_tourist,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Staying at Alaya Ubud Guests can experience the nature from every facility provided, inspiring programme created for in-house guest from yoga class, cooking class, spa class, traditional Balinese dance and also how to make Balinese offerings. We aim to provide personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. Apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We value your inputs and have advised our management of these issues. Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,238
    403
    68
    23
    13
See reviews for
274
910
156
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Over priced. No where close to star hotels. We booked hoping to stay in a resort this was on main road. Breakfast is not buffet you are given a choice and each time you have to ask even for extra glass of water fruit tray in room doesn't get replenished each day you need to ask. Location however is superb if u wanted shopping it is on main market of ubud

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sp102001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear sp102001,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Alaya located in a vibrant area filled with specialty shops, art galleries, cafes and many tourist destinations. Our daily freshly breakfast and afternoon tea at a casual dining Petani Restaurant, we provide a set menu breakfast for a personalize service to each guest. Apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We value your inputs and have advised our management of these issues.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I spent 3 nights at Alaya to escape from routine activity. And I realy got what I expected, to relax, get a nice surrounding and nice place to sleep. The staff are very friendly and helpful. I could have coffee or meal, simply just jump to the hotel restaurant or just cross the street. I wish I could stay longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ria-Soehadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Ria-Soehadi,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. We aim to provide personalize service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. Alaya provide various facilities for the guest to spend a lovely time at the resort and award winning DaLa Spa Inspired by traditional Indonesian therapies offers a carefully-researched selection of pampering and healing treatments.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucarest
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

When choosing to stay in or close to Ubud and having in mind the tranquility and the serenity of this city, if the book/review you red is more than 3 years old, than think again!
Since the access to cheap credit, almost every family in Bali owns at least one scooter or motorcycle, thus the traffic, noise and madness on the streets and roads of Bali, Ubud included, increasing daily and exponentially.
So when you are coming to Ubud, know what you want: because if you really want the peace and tranquility, maybe choosing an accommodation inside the city is not necessarily what you are looking for...

However, Alaya has both worlds: the hotel itself it is peaceful and zen (especially if you book a room at the back of the hotel), while if you go to the front, where the breakfast is served and the restaurant is located, you get a direct contact with the daily hustle of Ubud traffic, noise and so on.

We stayed in Alaya for a week and a half and for us it was the best choice. Staying outside of Ubud would mean that every time you want/ have to do something outside the hotel there is a transportation issue. Or, getting in the traffic could really spoil the whole zen you accumulate during the day.

Alaya has the view to a nice rice fields, a very nice pool (the water although was a bit cold), very nice staff and on the same time, peaceful surrounding especially at the back of the hotel. In the same time, there is a walking distance to the Monkey Forrest or to the shopping streets, and you can get on the center within 5 minutes (depending on the traffic...)

A big minus for us was the breakfast, especially that we stayed quite long. Being a lacto-ovo-vegetarians, after 3 days we kind of exhausted the possibilities, so for 10 days straight we eat eggs, fruits, jam and toast...There was no buffet, just an "a la carte" menu with 4 types of choices, the same every morning.

Wi-fi was completely unreliable, and completely frustrating to use it, as the connection was getting lost all the time. The only place the connection was good and stable was the restaurant.

For convenience, there is a very good super-market just 100 m away, and I recommend you buy your Bali coffee from this place before buying it from the touristic markets. Quality is the same or even better, but the price is a fraction.

But the big issue of Alay is the consistent inconsistency of the staff.

Indeed, the staff was compensating the lack of training and, sorry to say, clumsiness, by there enormous kindness. However, every morning at least 2 people, sometimes 3 of them, asked us every 2 minutes what is our choice for breakfast, what is our room number, etc. We were asking to get our brakfast choice without the meat, instead we got in our plate a big sausage or a nice fried piece of ham :) We were asking to get another piece of bread, but our bread never came... There were always to many people taking care of our table and in the end none of them actually responsible :)
One other day, at the pool, we ordered for a couple of drinks and after 30 minutes, the drinks were not coming still... There are so many daily examples.

Without this permanent inconsistencies and the wi-fi issue I would give Alaya an "excellent" review. I do hope the management will improve as this easily will transform our experience to a great one instead of a very good one.. It is just a managerial issue which may be solved quite easily.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calator77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Calator77,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed staying with us. Staying at Alaya Ubud puts the travelers in touch with many famous tourist destinations as listed in all the best guidebooks. Each room with private balcony overlooking to the paddy field and/or swimming pool, we provide various facilities for the guest to spend a lovely time at the resort, a multi function pavilion for yoga class, cooking class, dance class and also to learn Balinese making offering surrounding the green view. Apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We value your inputs and have advised our management of these issues.
Much appreciate for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud on your next visit to Bali.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

An amazing greeting with welcome drink, the cleanliness was amazing spacious rooms and the best shower ive ever been in, wonderful shower gels and shampoos, the 1 negative point was as soon as we got into our room we had a phone call asking us when we were leaving the next day ! i thought this a little rude as we hadnt even opened our cases yet , but a wonderful stay, and one of the best breakfasts i have ever had,

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awils71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear aow71,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. All the rooms at Alaya overlooking to the paddy field and/or swimming pool view with private balcony, our signature collection of bathroom amenities has been formulated exclusively for Alaya using pure and natural ingredients. Apologize for any inconvenience caused during your stay with us. We value your inputs and have advised our management of these issues.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed at Alaya for 4 nights and sincerely wished we could have extended our stay. The grounds are stunning, with the view of the adjacent rice fields making you feel like you aren't in the hustle and bustle of the city.

Alaya is located steps from lots of delicious restaurants, shops, and, of course, Monkey Forest. We could not have asked for a better location from which to explore the city. It is also conveniently located right next to a very large grocery store, which made it easy to pick up water, snacks, etc.

Our ground-floor room was very spacious, and we particularly loved our giant shower that almost had a room of its own with a huge planter next to it. I really wish that our room had a bathtub, if only to order one of the luxurious in-room baths that the spa offers. Nevertheless, I did really enjoy the natural bath products, soap and lotion in the room, a far cry from the usual cheap synthetic products in other hotels. The beds were super comfortable and everything was spotless, with daily turn-down service ensuring that we always came home to a fresh-feeling room.

I also loved that the hotel had a complimentary shuttle to ferry us around the city. The driver was extremely friendly and knowledgeable, suggesting other sights and restaurants that we should check out.

Indeed, all of the staff members that we encountered were exceptionally pleasant, patient and helpful. We called about everything from forgetting the wi-fi password (twice!), to having trouble ordering a pizza, to renting DVDs (free at the front desk, albeit limited to mostly action movies) and more, and were always greeted by staff willing to go above and beyond for us.

We took advantage of the giant terrace outside our room - including a large table and comfy chaise-lounge - and ordered delicious room service breakfast twice. Worth every penny, the fresh-squeezed juice and assorted pastries made for our best breakfasts in Bali.

I highly recommend Alaya for a spa retreat feel in the heart of a busy and fun city. We were very sad to leave and would certainly return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Kristen P,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. Staying at Alaya Ubud Guests can experience the nature from every facility provided, inspiring programme created for in-house guest from yoga class, cooking class, spa class, traditional Balinese dance and also how to make Balinese offerings. Daily live music also available at a casual dining Petani Restaurant from Violin performance, Guitar performance to single and duo acoustic acoustic.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in Alaya Resort Ubud and had a great experience. We upgrade to the Alaya room which had a great view on the rice fields and a great bath. We found the staff really helpful and professional. The award winning spa in the resort was quite overpriced we thought. We ended up going for a massage most evenings at "Magic Fingers" just across the street. You can choose between Asian, Western, or Healthy breakfast and they changed the breakfast menu a few times avec the 6 days we were there. Room service can be a bit slow if you order in the evening whilst the restaurant is open. But overall, Alaya exceeded our expectations and even made a special effort and special setup in the room for my birthday (as requested by my wife but a nice touch!).

Room Tip: Alaya rooms on the top floor are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank undercovermagicman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear undercovermagicman,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a great experience during your stay with us. Alaya Ubud is open to welcome travellers looking to experience the village of Ubud and all of its attributes. Our freshly breakfast and afternoon tea available at Petani Restaurant; Petani signature is chef’s own version of Bebek guling and Nasi raja with healthy and fresh ingredients direct from local growers. Award winning DaLa Spa Inspired by traditional Indonesian therapies offers a carefully-researched selection of pampering and healing treatments.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#13 of 195 in Ubud
1,812 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#40 of 195 in Ubud
977 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Tulip Visesa
Royal Tulip Visesa
#19 of 195 in Ubud
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Property: Alaya Resort Ubud
Address: Jalan Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#40 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing