We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and location”
Review of Alaya Resort Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Alaya Resort Ubud
Ranked #44 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth WA
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good hotel and location”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and really enjoyed our stay. Great location beside Yoga barn and a pleasant short walk to Monkey Forest. A la carte breakfast was good and staff always friendly and organised.Pool area was fairly small but very nice and quiet. Wifi was very patchy but otherwise no complaints - hope to return

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KellyzWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear KellyzWA,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. Alaya located in a vibrant area filled with specialty shops, art galleries, cafes and many tourist destinations. All the rooms at Alaya overlooking to the paddy field and/or pool with private balcony, inclusive daily breakfast and afternoon tea at Petani Restaurant.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,373
    434
    73
    23
    13
See reviews for
315
994
167
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We had not been back to Bali for years and Ubud was such a disappointment. It has become a tourists trap and going around the city is just not pleasant anymore.
However, the Alaya resort was excellent. Relaxing, nice rooms, good service and restaurant with a great breakfast. Beautiful spa starting at $40, which is way more than in the city but worth the experience. Best massage we had in Bali. Would definitely recommend the Alaya although a bit on the expensive side. But don't stay too long in Ubud and head East, West or North to really enjoy the spirit of Bali.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss_Shogayaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Swiss_Shogayaki,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a lovely experience during your stay with us. We aim to provide personalize service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. Alaya provide various facilities for the guest to spend a lovely time at the resort and award winning DaLa Spa Inspired by traditional Indonesian therapies offers a carefully-researched selection of pampering and healing treatments.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with mum and 2 kids, booked 2 rooms. Its in a great location, set beside a padi field and close to restaurants, interesting shops and a huge supermart. The food in the hotel is very good and they go out of their way to make you comfortable, its great to be able to just relax and look into the fields, both from your room as well as when you are having a meal at the restaurant. The swimming pool is tucked inside the property and set in a very calm and tranquil environment. Everyone at the hotel was very helpful and have great suggestion on where good restaurants are around Ubud.
Its a great property to unwind and relax, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthura33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Arthura33,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a great experience during your stay with us. We aim to provide a personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. Alaya provide various facilities for the guest to spend a lovely time at the resort, we offers inspiring programme for the in-house guests to experience Balinese dance, yoga class, spa class, cooking class and making offering.
We value your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

New and presentable hotel that delivers on value and experience as expected, clean, solid rooms, terrific staff that care, an excellent outlet, excellent food, location worked well, the whole tourist machine of Ubud is well oiled, efficient, polite and works well during the high season and this hotel is a worthwhile addition to it.I would also agree with the other comments found here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CX710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear CX710,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Alaya is a boutique hotel with each room overlooking to the paddy field and private balcony, we located in downtown Ubud and easy walking to the Monkey Forrest, Ubud Market, shops and art galleries. Our daily freshly set menu breakfast and afternoon tea available at Petani Restaurant, also with weekly schedule live performance from guitar performance, violin and acoustic.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jar, Akershus, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Fantastic hotel with excellent service and very helpful staff. Good location, good food and atmosphere in restaurant. Rooms were great with balcony overlooking the rice field.
Hotel organized car and driver to see the sights nearby (tempel, coffee plantationa, ricefields etc) and were also helpful in booking guide to hike up Mount Batour ( a must!).

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Anne B,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. Alaya located in a vibrant area filled with specialty shops, art galleries, cafes and many tourist destinations. We aim to provide personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for three nights, and it was fantastic. Good location and super friendly. The whole resort is spotless and the breakfasts are amazing! We stayed with two kids (1 and 3 years) and we're well looked after. Arjewa who was working at the pool was exceptionally great with the kids, as were many other staff. The spa is luxury redefined!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyurn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Eyurn,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you had a great experience during your stay with us. Alaya Ubud is open to welcome travellers looking to experience the village of Ubud and all of its attributes. All the rooms overlooking to the paddy field with private balcony and our details decoration from the room to public area made for the guest convenience during stay at Alaya Ubud. An award winning DaLa Spa perfectly designed for the guest to enjoy the true Balinese relaxation with the menu inspired by age-old Indonesian healing and beauty rituals.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Location is great and the staff is very helpful and kind. Food at the restaurant Petani is also really good, don't look any further. There is live music in the restaurant, especially the guitar performance on Thursday night was really fun.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurcuSayar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlayaResortUbud, Manager at Alaya Resort Ubud, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear BurcuSayar,

Thank you for visiting Alaya Resort Ubud and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are happy that you found your stay with us up to your expectations. We aim to provide personalized service, convenience, and facilities to each guest yet still able to keep the Ubud ambiance. Our weekly live performance schedule at Petani Restaurant for the guests to enjoy the dining accompanied by acoustic, violin and guitar performance by The Magic Finger Balawan.
Once again thank you for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Alaya Ubud.

Best Regards,
Alaya Resort Ubud Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.5 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#25 of 198 in Ubud
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 198 in Ubud
1,875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Bisma Eight
Bisma Eight
#14 of 198 in Ubud
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alaya Resort Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alaya Resort Ubud

Property: Alaya Resort Ubud
Address: Jalan Hanoman, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#38 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Alaya Resort Ubud 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Ubud, Alaya Resort Ubud meets the needs of international travelers as a modern interpretation of Bali’s local building culture through the combination of indigenous materials, imbued with the essence of ancient Ubud. It features 60 tastefully-appointed rooms, Petani restaurant specialising in cuisine from around the Indonesian archipelago and award-winning DaLa Spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Fastbooking, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alaya Resort Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alaya Resort Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing