We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay”
Review of Rumah Jepun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rumah Jepun
Ranked #134 of 666 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Not a thing to complain about! Rumah Jepun truly is a:

-gem
-secret hideaway
-haven
-fantasy place

It is hard to believe the location is so close to the hustle and bustle of the main part of Ubud, yet so peaceful and full of such life in the garden and little river.

The hosts and staff in this property are very accommodating and caring; they will help you out with any questions and help you feel at home.

Will love to stay again next time I'm in Ubud!

Thanks Rumah Jepun

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Laura O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Owner at Rumah Jepun, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words. It means a lot to us that guests have a great time here at Rumah Jepun. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had a great stay at Julie's place! I highly recommend it. Julie and her staff were really friendly and helpful. They helped us arrange transport to the north coast and gave us tips on where to eat and what to see. There was always someone on hand to help us with whatever we needed, and I really feel that everyone there went above and beyond what was expected of them. The place itself is also fantastic. It is really well located, it is only about a 1.5 minute walk from Monkey Forest Road, but it feels like you are staying outside the town as you only hear chirping birds, no traffic sounds at all! The building was built to fit in with Balinese style and is also part of the experience. Julie has made up a binder that includes a lot of information about Ubud, but with her personal recommendations, which really helped us planning our time there and was a nice touch. The included breakfast was also nice. It had papaya grown right there in the yard and after asking for a second coffee on the first day we were always asked if we wanted another (little detail, but shows that the staff cares) Overall a great experience, if you stay here you won't regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnaDoddridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Owner at Rumah Jepun, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We really appreciate your great review Anna, thank you. I told Gede about your 'coffee' comment - he was beaming! We look forward to seeing you again next time you're in Ubud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

It was such a delight staying at Julie's Rumah Jepun! It truly was a hidden gem. So nice to turn off the busy road and enter into a peaceful, beautiful garden, surrounded by papaya and banana trees, hibiscus and Jepun, and other lovely, colourful flowers. We loved it!! Julie was fantastic at suggesting things for us to do, and explaining about the Balinese culture, and we had delicious breakfasts made by Gede. Did I mention that we loved it? We'll highly encourage any of our friends to stay there, and if we're lucky enough to return to Ubud, we'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weelassielesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Owner at Rumah Jepun, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for the wonderful comments Lesley. They are much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you both again if you return to Ubud someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Our time at Julie's was amazing! To put things into perspective, both my partner and I caught a terrible cold and flu as soon as we landed in Bali. Julie's home and Ubud was the perfect place to recover as well as enjoy the beauty and rich culture of Ubud, Bali. Julie and her staff, Gede and Ketut were extremely hospitable. They were caring and extremely genuine. They made sure we were hydrated with lots of ginger tea and got us a fan in lieu of the AC. Julie recommended an amazing traditional healer, Wayan Ketut who significantly helped us both. Julie's place is nestled in a lush garden with beautiful flowers. The room was a good size and the bed comfortable. It is in the perfect location (right in the centre yet away from the noise and traffic). Breakfast made by Gede was delicious!! We LOVED the banana pancakes - you must try it! Did I mention how lovely Gede is? Such amazing energy. Julie helped us plan our days and had amazing recommendations: Sedona Spa. White water rafting, great restaurants, various temples and fire dance show. Julie arranged our airport pickup with Wayan and we booked with him two other times for day trips - highly recommended! The thing I loved the most is that Julie has a genuine love for the Balinese culture and great respect for the people which made me feel good about my stay. Thank you so much Julie for taking good care of us, thank you for your kindness, hospitality, great recommendations, and your lovely energy. Highly recommended and will definitely stay again if ever I am in Bali.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivon_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Owner at Rumah Jepun, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Thanks so much for the fabulous review Shivon, so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you're both 100% better now. We look forward to seeing you next time you come to Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

A great way to land on your feet in Ubud. From the busy streets of Ubud, down the pathway and enter another world. Julie's home is a little piece of paradise. It is quiet and tranquil with easy access to all the activities Ubud has to offer. Julie and her staff are wonderful and nothing is too much trouble. Rumah Jepun is set in a beautiful garden, complete with all the mind settling noises of birds, trickling water, and the visually pleasing colours of tropical beauties. Julie is a wealth of local information which is great when planning outings. I loved my stay at Rumah Jepun and wouldn't hestitate to recommend to anyone visiting Ubud.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathTahlsOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Owner at Rumah Jepun, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

We love that term, 'a little piece of paradise', thank you for that Cath and we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you next time you come to Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

If you have stumbled across Julie's listing, consider your search over! It's hard to put into words how great this room is. 'Perfect' I suppose will have to suffice.

It's so secluded, it's a mini-adventure walking the path to the house from the main street. But when you're ready to go out, it's so close to dozens and dozens of restaurants, bars, and monkeys ready to literally climb up your shirt to grab a banana from your hand!

Julie was so friendly and accommodating, and the room was pristine. My wife and I had such an amazing time here.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davidandcindyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Owner at Rumah Jepun, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

We really appreciate your great review and are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again next time you come to Ubud.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Had the most amazing time at this wonderful little hidden gem. Julie is an awesome host and always offering advise or help where needed, or inviting us out to join them in the evening. The room has everything you need for a comfortable stay and the staff are just lovely. We felt very humble to have had such wonderful people looking after us. Breakfasts are beautiful as are the surroundings tucked down in the trees where not a sound can be heard, but within 2 minutes walk having everything at your fingertips, great restaurants and shops. We're already planning our next stay with Julie.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie S, Owner at Rumah Jepun, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thank you so much for the great review Karen. We enjoyed meeting you and look forward to seeing you again next time you come to Ubud.
Take care
Julie and the Rumah Jepun team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.9 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
#1 of 6 in Kedewatan
1,874 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Fivelements Bali Retreat
0.8 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 5 in Mas
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rumah Jepun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rumah Jepun

Address: Monkey Forest Road | Behind Warsa Bungalows, Ubud Bali 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 666 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £22 - £29 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rumah Jepun has 3 individually furnished ensuite rooms, in central Ubud - the cultural heart of Bali. 2 standard garden rooms and 1 deluxe room which includes a four-poster bed and a fishpond in the bathroom! Affordable rates incl breakfast, aircon, wifi & free tea/ coffee/ drinking water. Just 2 mins walk from the many shops, spas & restaurants in Monkey Forest Road, yet set in a tropical garden with a jungle backdrop. Enjoy breakfast on your balcony, while listening to the river and watching birds & butterflies. Friendly and helpful Balinese staff are waiting to greet you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rumah Jepun Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing