We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Kristine the owner … just wonderful !!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
105 reviews
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Looking towards the stairs in the Treehouse Joglo living area
The Master Bedroom has floor to ceiling windows looking to the rice fields
The luxurious open bathroom looking over the private ravine in the Treehouse Joglo
A buddha in the Treehouse bathroom looks over the rice fields
The Treehouse second bedroom
Another bedroom includes a desk overlooking the ravine
Languish in the shade of a bale by the raised pool with rice field views
Looking onto the pool area from the Dutch Joglo balcony
Many species of flower give so much colour to the gardens!
Welcome to the Rice Joglo Property
A unique antique retreat amongst the rice fields just 20 minutes walk from Ubud Centre
Our friends, the ducks come to visit after the rice has been harvested
Entrance way to the Lotus Suite
Watermelon fresh from the ground
Salad made from the organic vegetable garden
Order a local chef to cook dinner for a modest price
Balinese potato cakes
Cap Cay, a popular Balinese vegetable curry
Sunset from the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 105 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
marquin59
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Kristine the owner … just wonderful !!!”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Its with a heavy heart I had to cancel my up coming booking at The Rice Joglo. I wanted to write this review just to let people know how fantastic Kristine was the deal with. I had paid a deposit for my accommodation. She fully refunded this payment. I emailed she emailed back promptly. She was just so so easy to deal with. (Because sometimes when you have to cancel & request a refund it can be a big hassle. This was not the case with Kristine !
I can't wait , to hopefully , stay in 2017 at her stunning Rice Joglo. Thank you Kristine :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: mail contact with owner
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Mar 2016
Dear Marquin59,,
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience.
And thanks for giving us such early notice!
We very much hope to be able to host you next year.
Until then, best wishes to you and your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kara W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fairytale in a Rice Paddy”
Reviewed 10 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This is the most amazing place to stay, we were a group of 8, and simply loved staying here. The accomodation is very rustic, and simply styley, and cool.Loads of different bedding options are available, and it is a really restful place to stay. It has a great deep pool, which the teenagers loved for doing bombs into. Part of the adventure was hiring scooters to get too and from the main road, as the Rice Joglo is a 15 minute walk from the main part of town. Ubud is a great central location to stay in, and we loved the markets, Bali Safari, whitewater rafting etc. We got a beautiful breakfast cooked each morning, and the staff were very accomodating and helpful. We would highly recommend this as part of your Bali adventure!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, quietness, helpful staff
Liked least: The possibility of snakes and rats being around
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise W
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A few positives but would not recommend”
Reviewed 19 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The positives:
1. The Rice Joglo itself is a quirky structure with an interesting history.
2. The fish pond with overhanging flowers is a delight.
3. Situated in the rice fields, it is especially beautiful first thing in the morning and at sunset.
4. Mosquitos love me but I did not have a problem with mosquitos here.

The negatives:
1. Cleanliness. My sheets were not changed during my 5 night stay. I certainly don't expect my sheets to be changed daily but once in 6 days would have been nice. The room was not cleaned and the bins not emptied. Give credit where it is due: My bed was made on two occasions using my existing sheets.
2. Breakfast will be whatever you are given. You won't have a menu to choose from. This is fine if you don't have allergies but may not be what you are used to if you frequently travel to Bali.
3. The staff here are not supervised and do not display the same eagerness to please that you will find everywhere else in Bali (with the exception of the gardener who inappropriately suggested he stay in my room with me).

Information I would have found helpful before booking:
1. It takes an hour to walk to the yoga barn. If you intend to go to the yoga barn daily, I would recommend hiring a bike.
2. Get a top floor room if you can. I stayed on the ground floor in the Lotus Suite and was woken up all through the night as the guests moved about upstairs. They had stayed downstairs before I checked in and agreed that it was very noisy.
3. The Rice Joglo is unattended after about 5pm. If you don't travel with a phone or computer, I would not recommend staying here on your own.

Overall, I think The Rice Joglo is overpriced. At over $100AUD a night, I expected a higher standard of service. In my opinion, it is too remote not to have someone on site 24 hours a day or at the very least a phone to use in an emergency.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Liked best: The building itself
Liked least: Poor service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2016
Dear Eloise,
We are sorry to read about your experience of The Rice Joglo.
We are also sorry not to have had a chance to address them during your stay. We pride ourselves on being a small and intimate property, and hope that our guests will feel free to tell us what they need during their stay.
Unfortunately, neither Ketut, Sonu or myself heard anything from you either in person, by phone or email.
We understand that your experience did not start well, with the distress of finding out you would be unexpectedly alone for the holiday.
Sonu was on hand when you arrived, to introduce you to the property and staff, and made extra effort to listen and to help you settle in. He escorted you to the shops, and the health spa. Sonu explained that he, Ketut and Kristine are contactable any time. It was unfortunate that we never had contact during your stay, since you were away from the property most of the time (and uncontactable by either phone or email) .
So being alone, it seems the location worked against you. The Joglo’s tranquillity is a key feature, and guests usually enjoy its connection to nature, while being an easy walk into the busy Ubud centre. We are on the north side of Ubud’s main raod, and the Yoga Barn is on the south side. We certainly would never promote proximity to the Yoga Barn as a key feature of our property.
Regarding your sheets and laundry, we are mindful of our environmental footprint. The sheets are changed every second visit by the housekeeper unless there is a need otherwise, or is requested by the guest. We apologise if this was not enough during your 5 night stay, and will make sure in the future that guests know they are welcome to ask for more frequent laundry.
Eloise, as we are a small property with only 2 Joglos, we don't offer a wide café-type menu. Wayan goes to the market every day and offers a small range of breakfast items designed to cover common Western tastes, with a Balinese influence. We don’t claim to cater to people with specific dietary requirements, but will be happy to pre-order items if we get notice beforehand.
Regarding staff, it is always a fine balance between allowing guests to enjoy privacy and the tranquillity of the property, and having staff constantly coming and going. Our gardenener is present most of the day, Wayan the chef arrives every morning to prepare breakfast, and Ketut the housekeeper is either on the property or available by phone. Kristine is always contactable by email. We would have been happy to address your concerns had you voiced them at all.
Lastly regarding noise. You expressed an appreciation of the authenticity of the building – it is a fully original antique teak building. Its unavoidable that some noise will travel between the rooms. We have used insulation as much as we can without disturbing the structure. While a little noise may travel, it is a quirk of the building itself. Your point is noted that guests expecting a completely noise proof stay could be disappointed.
Thanks for taking the time to write your concerns, and we have certainly taken your feedback on board.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks_G...
Aix-en-Provence, france
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A slice of paradise!”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I absolutely fell in love with Bali, and I think staying at the Rice Joglo was a big part of that. The wooden tree house is rustic and charming, located among rice fields, down a beautiful footpath, dotted with small shops offering their wares, and great restaurants.
We stayed in the big house, which comfortably slept the nine of us. The grounds and pool are amazing. We had 5 young boys travelling with us, and they loved the space!
The only downside was sharing the one bathroom with a large group. But, the bathroom itself is amazing, as it open to the jungle behind the tree house.
It is about a 20 minute walk into the main village, but I loved the solitude of being away from town.
Wayan was so accommodating with the breakfasts, which were delicious!!! I cannot say enough great things about this property!! I will definitely return here!!!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: I enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the property!
Liked least: Only having 1 washroom.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lememily
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Most magical experience for our wedding day”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a magical experience staying at the Rice Joglo's over the days of our wedding, for us and our wedding group. We hosted the ceremony in the lush gardens, and pure magic setting in the rice fields. The staff, Sonu, and Kristine were all absolutely fantastic - so helpful and gave so many suggestions to make the day really special. Us and our guests were blown away. The rooms are very comfortable, open air bathrooms and the breakfasts amazing. There are little chill areas everywhere, and it's so peaceful to sit and take it all in. Anything we needed , was sorted for us and our guests. Cant recommend enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M0nique23...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly magical place to be”
Reviewed 4 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Where do I start! We wanted to relax and chose The Rice Joglo as it is a little out of all the hustle and bustle of Ubud. What a magical place, in the middle of the rice fields, like an enchanted cottage from a fairytale. The joglo, had so many places to relax, by the pool, on the balcony, out on the porch, in the shared kitchen area etc, which was great for our large group of 7 family members. The decor and bedrooms where stunning as was the semi outdoor bathroom looking over the jungle. If this wasn't enough, what made our stay so special was the manager Sonu who looked after us, drove us back and forth to town and helped us with any arrangements we needed during our stay. Made the gardeners friendly smiles and Wayan amazing banana pancakes, corn fritters for breakfast, made us never want to leave...we will be back for sure. Thanks Kristine for letting us stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: only one toilet for a large group is a little problem, and a washing machine would be handy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannimann...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I wouldn't stay anywhere else.....”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at the Rice Joglo for 2 nights (22nd and 23rd) and I wish we could have spent longer there! The location was perfect, in the middle of the rice paddy fields, it was very peaceful. The 2 houses and the property are stunning! Beautifully designed by the property manager Sonu. All the people working at the Rice Joglo are friendly and helpful, Made would bring us fresh veggies and herbs from the garden and Wayan's pancakes for breakfast were yum! Sonu was a great host for all the time we were there-we will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing