We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“OMG!!!! TERRIFIC!!!!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
105 reviews
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Looking towards the stairs in the Treehouse Joglo living area
The Master Bedroom has floor to ceiling windows looking to the rice fields
The luxurious open bathroom looking over the private ravine in the Treehouse Joglo
A buddha in the Treehouse bathroom looks over the rice fields
The Treehouse second bedroom
Another bedroom includes a desk overlooking the ravine
Languish in the shade of a bale by the raised pool with rice field views
Looking onto the pool area from the Dutch Joglo balcony
Many species of flower give so much colour to the gardens!
Welcome to the Rice Joglo Property
A unique antique retreat amongst the rice fields just 20 minutes walk from Ubud Centre
Our friends, the ducks come to visit after the rice has been harvested
Entrance way to the Lotus Suite
Watermelon fresh from the ground
Salad made from the organic vegetable garden
Order a local chef to cook dinner for a modest price
Balinese potato cakes
Cap Cay, a popular Balinese vegetable curry
Sunset from the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 105 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
NickSmith...
Moscow
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“OMG!!!! TERRIFIC!!!!”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is nothing to write about! It's just the best place I've ever stayed! Better then ANY 5* hotel. There is no word to describe it! Terrific!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juserneem
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I don’t know if I can find a way to describe this place that actually does it justice. I’ve seldom been to something so amazing. I will try, though.

I was lucky enough to spend two nights in The Rice Joglo (way, way too short), together with a friend. Sonu, the owner, picks you up - The Rice Joglo is in de middle of the rice fields and you can’t get there by car or public transport (if you are an experienced motorbike driver you can get there yourself, but the path is not for beginners). We, however, wanted to walk, not carrying much luggage and having been on our motorbike for a while. It’s a delight to walk through the rice fields, it’s all so lush and green. Beautiful walk.

After 15 minutes or so, we arrive at the Rice Joglo. And it’s just amazing. Sonu was collecting food for the ducks (they live in the cutest duck-house I’ve ever seen) and he welcomes us while working his way back through a rice field. One of his staff invites me to take a closer look at the ducks and gave me 2 eggs, “for breakfast”. After a fresh coconut (very welcome after the walk ) we get to see our room. Well, room, that doesn’t do it justice at all. It’s a small house. A porch, a living room that leads to the semi-open air bathroom and upstairs the bedroom with balcony with an amazing view of the rice fields. The interior of the house is just magnificent. Beautiful woodwork, and such an eye for detail. Beautiful decorations everywhere. Then I found out that Sonu makes and creates and builds everything himself. Everything.
Later he showed us one of the other ‘houses’, which is bigger and can accommodate more people (more bedrooms) and that was equally (maybe even more) amazing. The way all the rooms are connected - there’s space but yet it feels very intimate; the tree that he built around, not wanting to cut it; again the woodwork, de interior and decorations; the bathroom that must make you feel you are having a shower in the middle of the jungle; and the huge balconies. Again with amazing views. Jaw-dropping, seriously.

It would come as no surprise that breakfast was delicious. And Sonu is an amazing host. Such a warm and welcoming guy. If you’re up for some entertainment hang around and chat with him and his crew. They’re all so kind and amazing and really funny!

This place and the people who create it and bring the atmosphere are just amazing. You will not want to leave. Simply magnificent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, it's just magnificent
Liked least: nothing
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Justin W
Nancy, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant, serene, tranquil”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Great location, set in the rice fields. The accommodation was very pretty and was spot on for relaxing in during the hottest part of the day. We loved being able to walk everywhere through the meandering scooter/walking paths.

Brilliant food/massages and yoga nearby.

Sonu was super friendly and really made our stay a delight - he's hard not to like instantly and makes a killer Chai.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fabienne...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“a magical place in the middle of the fields”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

our trip to Ubud wouldn't have been the same had we stayed somewhere else.
the property manager Sonu welcomed us as if we'd been friends for ever, he arranged out day tour to the Rice fields followed by a blessing and purification and prayers by Wayan the healer at the Tirta Empul water temple.
we were also invited in the once a year celebration at Sonu's local Temple which turned out to be a huge yearly event. Kadek invited us in his home and his wife dressed us in traditional sarong. there were just a handful of westerners at the temple and we liked it because it wasn't a commercial event.
the Joglo itself is located in the famous rice field walk very close to the center of ubud 20mns walk or 5mns by scooter, however the road is in quite a bad shape but it adds charms to the whole experience. the bedrooms are amazing decorated with taste and antique pieces.
Wayan the cook makes the most wonderful beetroot pancakes.
overall we loved our stay there and are hoping to come back very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esther B
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place ever, you never want to leave…”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed at the Rice Joglo for one week and all I can say: it was so hard to leave this amazing place! When I arrived in Ubud it was busy on the main streets, this was not what I expected.. But everything changed when I arrived at the Rice Joglo. Where to start? The place is so peaceful: still close to town, but in the middle of the rice fields and surrounded by coconut trees, local farmers, beautiful flowers, a lotus pond, animals like ducks, turtles and rabbits and a big organic garden where you can pick your own herbs and veggies – thanks to gardener Made.

The Joglo’s are built in old Dutch colonial style, with a lot of wood and respect for the nature. I slept in the Master Suite. I loved all the details, like the Buddha statues, the lamps and specially the hanging chair on the balcony to watch sunrise or –set with a drink. The shower was always powerful and hot and I slept like a little baby because of the high quality bed, matrass and blankets. And the swimming pool was perfect for some refreshment during hot days.

Every morning Wayan made an amazing breakfast, including banana pancakes with grated coconut and palm sugar, fresh fruit and tasty duck eggs. The super friendly and helpful host Sonu even made Indian Chai Tea for me, when I told him how much I loved this. He always likes to chat and will give you all the information you need about Bali. He helped me to arrange some trips around Ubud, like dinner with a local Indonesian family including a cooking lesson – you really have to try the slowly cooked duck – and a demonstration of how to make baskets for ceremonies. And even for a massage I didn’t had to go into town, because Sonu managed to bring one of the massage ladies over to the Rice Joglo.

Every time I think about this amazing week and the helpful staff Wayan, Sonu, Made and Ketut, the only thing I can do is smile! One of the best places I even stayed: I’m sure I will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoGilbert
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Simply stunning. ”
Reviewed 15 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Escaping the hustle and bustle of central Ubud, we arrived at this haven of tranquility nestled in the rice paddies that sit above the popular tourist hub. This is the stuff of daydreams and fairy tales. It captures the imagination of adults and children alike. The traditional Dutch wooden joglos command incredible views over the rice terraces and it is absolutely the best place to sit and watch the sun rise or set and contemplate the natural beauty of Bali. We stayed 6 nights with our 7 and 10 year old daughters. They adored it there. They loved the freedom to explore and play. They loved the turtles and ducklings, the geckos, rabbits and fishes and the most tolerant and chilled out cat we have ever come across. They loved the quirky wooden architecture, the hanging chairs, the little cabanas and the banana pancakes. We loved the wonderful owners and gorgeous staff who did everything in their power to make us feel at home and to make our experience a special one. You need a sense of adventure and a desire for something different. The walk into town takes about half an hour but scooters are cheap and plentiful and the walk is stunning. There are Warungs to dine at on route that serve delicious food but once darkness falls you will need a torch and a good pair of shoes to get home. If you want everything to be on your doorstep and you enjoy the hustle and bustle and nightlife then stay in Ubud but if you want a truly special and unique experience then stay at the rice joglo. The place has evolved so organically and every element has been planned and executed with such care and from a real place of love. We all loved it. It added a really special element to our time in Bali. Book it and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella B
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique house in stunning location”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed here for close to 3 weeks in total. The house is lovely, set among stunning rice fields offering stunning views at any time of the day (and night when the fire flies come out). Our children loved staying here and did not want to leave again due to the location, wonderful staff and many activities at the villa and nearby. They loved the fish, turtle and baby ducks and spent hours exploring the place outside. Sonu organised some great activities for us including a bike ride through the rice fields and home cooked meals. The breakfast was also amazing. Made and Ketut who took care of the house and the garden were amazing and taught us a lot about gardening and local traditions/culture. It was an immense pleasure to stay there and we definitely hope to return there. Thank you so much for making our holiday so special.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great staff, location in the rice fields and unique building with its organic garden. All the animals.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing