We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best accomodation in Ubud”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
108 reviews
The Treehouse Joglo living area flows onto a generous bathroom overlooking the ravine
Looking towards the stairs in the Treehouse Joglo living area
The Master Bedroom has floor to ceiling windows looking to the rice fields
The luxurious open bathroom looking over the private ravine in the Treehouse Joglo
A buddha in the Treehouse bathroom looks over the rice fields
The Treehouse second bedroom
Another bedroom includes a desk overlooking the ravine
Languish in the shade of a bale by the raised pool with rice field views
Looking onto the pool area from the Dutch Joglo balcony
Many species of flower give so much colour to the gardens!
Welcome to the Rice Joglo Property
A unique antique retreat amongst the rice fields just 20 minutes walk from Ubud Centre
Our friends, the ducks come to visit after the rice has been harvested
Entrance way to the Lotus Suite
Watermelon fresh from the ground
Salad made from the organic vegetable garden
Order a local chef to cook dinner for a modest price
Balinese potato cakes
Cap Cay, a popular Balinese vegetable curry
Sunset from the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 108 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
AmandaA37...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best accomodation in Ubud”
Reviewed 30 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

For travellers that love something unique, nature and beautiful architecture off the beaten track, you will fall in love with this place.
I couldn't recommend it higher and was very sad to leave it. It's really something special.
Sonu is an incredible host and such a generous and warm human being, he makes you laugh with every interaction and more than happy to accomodate anything you need.
I could write so much more. But will leave it at- I have travelled a lot and am always digging around to find those places with something really special and this place is incredible in all aspects.
You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camilla N
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“A magical hideaway”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Thank you to Sonu - the host with the most! From the delicious green coconut pancakes for breakfast, freshly made chai tea and waking up in comfort with views over the rice fields, I couldn't recommend the place more highly. After zipping into town on the back of the motorbike before relaxing in the discreet outdoor bath, you'll wake up thinking you are in paradise. Just wish I could have stayed longer.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisG932
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Piece or paradise in the Rice fields of Ubud”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have been coming to Bali for several decades, normally as a family of 4 in recent times, but as a family of 5 this time and took the chance to stay at the Rice Joglo.

First things first, this is a bit isolated, you either walk 15 minutes each way along a very narrow path or hire a motorcycle to reach civilisation. The Joglo itself is very rustic and charming. Basic to be honest, but this should not put you off if you are looking for a wonderful place to relax. There are 2 main buildings with 2 rooms to the side catering for couples or larger groups.

Breakfast is included in your stay and can I say, what a breakfast. Wyan does an amazing job making pancakes, rice, eggs, the best thick toast known to mankind and fruit, you really don't need lunch after you have a big breakfast.

There is no restaurant here so you need to go out, but several restaurants are within 5-10 minute walk and free what is provided for guests (as much as you need).

The Johlo has a small but very nice pool and Sonu (manager) looks after all of your needs with the help of Made.

Now, if you have teenage children there isn't a lot here for them. There is free wifi, we had some issues with it but I'm using it at the Johlo as we speak and you just need a little patience. Some other small maintenance issues are being fixed as we speak, but again, nothing to put you off staying here.

The only reason this does not have an excellent review to be honest is that for our family it was ever so slightly isolated, but again, if you a happy stalling along the path for 15-20 minutes each way then it is fine.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eng C
1 review
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I have had a walk along the padi field and this house is the most unique n beautiful compare to the rest. It is not for you if you r looking for happening places, busy street with pubs, easy access to main street shopping n you do mind mosq. n fly. It is just for me as I like the surrouding there, the padi field, the rabbits, ducks and frogs singing at night. Most amazing we spotted firefly at night in the padi field. Recommended for big family like 4 to 8 so that you can stay in the 3 floors good view house. I m also amazed by how this house was built. You are brave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mchiovett...
mchiovetti
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“If I could move in for good, I would. Our stay was lovely!”
Reviewed 14 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

This is the little escape from city life our family needed! The Rice Joglos are in the most beautiful part of Ubud (just outside of the hustle and bustle but close enough for shopping and restaurants if you need them!)

Sonu and Wayan made our stay memorable with lots of chatter about the locals and the area, wonderful food (mostly straight from the garden) and generous help whenever we needed it.

Beautiful guest houses, lovely outdoor bathrooms. Close to local warungs (restaurants) that we walked to for dinner.

Can walk to the Yoga House - my favourite spot in all of Indonesia for yoga. Amazing classes with gorgeous views of the rice fields.

This place is in the rice fields, in a no car zone - so it did mean we had to scoot back and forth to the main road on motorbikes which made me a bit nervous with my 2 year old at first but she settled right in.

Rice fields also mean ants and mozzies so my little one was covered in bites when we left but she didn't seem to mind as she was so distracted by ducks and cats and getting dirty in the rice fields!

Over all one of my favourite guest houses we've ever been to. Love this spot and will absolutely come again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antonia T
1 review
“Magical joglo experience”
Reviewed 28 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We had a wonderful time at the rice joglo, the staff made and wayan were incredibly lovely and helpful and always smiling. THe place itself was remote and quiet, exactly what we were after. Kristine was ever ready to respond to any queries via email, and the little warung across the way that had just opened was a lovely treat after a long day in sun. This is a remote destination, so if getting away from the hubbub is important to you, then this is the place to go. A real adventure, and the place is really stunning, we'd love to come again! Thanks all for making us so welcome!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellietia
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“The most beautiful place in Ubud”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed in both the newly built Ravine joglo's . Words do not describe how stunningly beautiful these are, actually the whole place is filled with beauty, I could not stop taking photos.
The outdoor bathroom was such a great experience, having a bath while its gently raining with jungle and frogs making noises was unbelievable. Amazing to go out at night with the lights off and see the fire flies flitting about is something I'll never forget.
Breakfast was yummy with Wayans pancakes/crepes maple syrup and coconut the first to go.
Sonu is just amazing, he goes the extra mile, something you don't find often, he truely is a blessing to have looking after the guests and the general day to day running of the accommodations. Thank you Sonu we are all missing you and your stories and gentle caring nature. Not to mention the hairy scooter rides to the street!!!
The whole place is perfect, go and experience it, natural beauty at its best .

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing