We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ubud Value: Clean, Quiet, Beautiful, Easy Access, and BEST Pancakes!”
Review of Tanah Semujan Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Ranked #25 of 568 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Ubud Value: Clean, Quiet, Beautiful, Easy Access, and BEST Pancakes!”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

The Tanah Semujan Hotel is located on a quiet street in Ubud, with easy walking access to the main section of town. My wife and I had a very nice time here. We were able to take an 8 minute walk to "Casa Luna" for dinner, which is one of our favorite restaurants in Ubud. The room was beautiful, with marble floors, large comfortable bed, and a breakfast served on our own private patio. There is no swimming pool, and our room looked out upon a tropical courtyard. Considering the low price of the room, the quiet location (much different than the typical noise of Ubud), the beauty and cleanliness of the accommodation (it was like new, and quite opulent for the price), the kind owner, the BEST Balinese pancakes, and easy access to central Ubud, this hotel is a great value and highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank elcamara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    48
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
95
31
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed here in July 2013. The location is great - on Bisma St which is just minutes away from "downtown" ubud, but feels so much more quiet and peaceful. If you have access to a motorbike you can be to Monkey Forest or Hanoman Street in 2 minutes. But there are also some shops and restaurants directly on Bisma St within 5-10 minutes walk from the hotel and you can get downtown in 10-15 minutes by foot.

Hotel appears to be brand new. The rooms are huge and beautifully decorated. All rooms have balcony/patio - where you can enjoy tea or breakfast overlooking the beautiful property.

Owners were very sweet and accommodating. Breakfast was great and they make coffee or tea available throughout the day. The owner helped arrange for a motorbike rental within minutes for my arrival.

I stayed at and priced other locations in Ubud, but I can't imagine you get a better value than Tanah Semujan.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcf172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Very spacious rooms in new B&B overlooking the rice paddies in Ubud. Wayan, his wife and parents run the place, and you can tell it is very important to them that you enjoy the stay. The breakfast is large and very good. Location is a 10 minute walk past ducks and rice paddies to the main tourist sights in Ubud. Wayan even arranged for his cousin to drive us to surrounding sites. You can not be the value this offers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chasem66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this great value B&B (booked through booking.com). Rooms are nice and clean, and the surrounding area is very quiet, surrounded by many coconut trees. The owner, Wayan, is very friendly and chatty, and he can tell you lots of information on Ubud and life in Bali. He even does an Indonesian dance performance in Ubud every week! Breakfast was delicious and fresh every morning. We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Booking directly through the hotel (via phone or email) will get you a cheaper rate than through int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silverspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at this lovely family run B&B jus 10 minutes walk from the lively centre of Ubud. The B&B consists of 6 large rooms, 5 of which have air con. The rooms are adequately furnished, with lovely cool tiled floors, high ceilings, carved furnishings and air conditioning. Having travelled extensively through South East Asia, this air con was far quieter and superior to that I have experienced in some hotels. The rooms are light and airy with large glass doors leading to a small private verandah, where breakfast is bought every day. The verandah looks out over wonderful gardens that have been designed and are maintained by Wayan and his family, who run and own the Tamah Semujan. A little different from what you may have come to expect from a B&B, a breakfast menu is bought to you every morning and your choice is bought to your verandah where you can eat at your own pace and not feel rushed by staff standing over you. Flasks of boiling hot water are filled and replenished throughout the day for hot beverages. Getting to the centre of Ubud is really simple, turning right or left from the main path will take you to different parts of the town. We preferred turning left and walking 15 mins on the tracks separating rice fields which led to the Monkey Forest side of town. Some praise must be given to Wayan and his lovely family who own and run the Tamah Semujan. Wayan was so helpful in advising us of things to see and do around Ubud and helping us to understand Hinduism and some of the practices attached to the religion. Wayan also arranged a moped for us at a much better cost than others we spoke to had paid. The moped was fun, we kept it for 3 days and visited the mountains and a wonderful place called Tegallalang where we sat admiring steep green rice terraces. If we return to Ubud I would definitely return to the Tanah Semujan B&B. I wish Wayan and his family every success for the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are furnished the same. We chose an upstairs room, right at the top of the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnHonestLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

I definitely recommend this lovely place - clean, spacious, and comfortable air conditioned rooms. We requested an extra bed and were expecting a cot but got a big and comfortable mattress and the owner was so nice and helpful. The owner's wife made fabulous breakfast and would take your order and bring it to you on your porch. The cheese Japal and banana pancake were my favorite! This place is also in the perfect location - walking distance from the center of the town and surrounded by peaceful rice fields. You will love it!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmcnulty406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire, uk
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome from Wayan,the friendly owner, awaited us as did freely available tea/coffee. Lovely large room. Comfy bed. Dressing table and lockable wardrobe. Nice to have breakfast on own balcony overlooking lovely garden. Would prefer to arrange a time for breakfast rather than having to wait and see if anyone notices we're up! Lovely breakfast though. Good location on quiet street not far from main shopping street and monkey forest. Did hear loud and badly done karaoke a few nights though but not late into night. My main reason for 4 star is the bathroom: the shower is over the bath-fine- but it is so low I had to squat to wash my hair. The shower head barely came up to my waist. Not the most enjoyable shower and something that is easily fixed. Would still recommend staying here if you're not fussed about a decent shower!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo_and_luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
0.2 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#14 of 568 in Ubud
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jiwa's House
Jiwa's House
#40 of 568 in Ubud
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gerhana Sari 2 Hotel
Gerhana Sari 2 Hotel
#10 of 568 in Ubud
190 reviews
0.5 mi away
Padma Ubud Retreat
Padma Ubud Retreat
#43 of 568 in Ubud
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#11 of 568 in Ubud
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanah Semujan Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Semujan Ubud

Property: Tanah Semujan Ubud
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 568 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanah Semujan Ubud 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tanah Semujan Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanah Semujan Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing