We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, good location”
Review of Tanah Semujan Ubud

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tanah Semujan Ubud
Ranked #28 of 638 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Located in central Ubud, just 15 minutes walk from the palace, 5 minutes to a very good and cheap warung, 7 mintues to an internet cafe.

They only have 8 rooms, so very quite place. The owner family is quite helpful and Wayan can speak good english.

The room was spacious and clean with hot shower in the bathroom. AC was okay, so as the free wifi. No stray dogs + no traffic = good sleep quality!

Some reviews said that it is quite hard to find this place, but it is not true, we could find it easily.

Give it a try!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (208)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

This is an awkward review. I liked the place, but we had a problem at the beginning. When we arrived with our agoda booking for 3 nights, an older guy told us no rooms, no rooms. He then took us to another hotel and said we could stay there. The place he took us to was no way comparable to Tanah Semujan, the room was dark and smelt mouldy. After some conversation he did have a room but it wasn't the superior one that we had booked. At this point I didn't care, I didn't want to spend all afternoon looking for new accommodation so we moved in. It was a room with a fan. This is fine in Ubud as it is not so hot at night. The room was just like the others but no air con. To their credit, they apologised and refunded us the difference in price which was 10 bucks a night.

So, the rooms with fan only are great value, you don't need the air con and the breakfast is brilliant. They have only 6 rooms and I think only two have fans. It is in a quiet area but only 10 mins walk to town. No fridge in the room and no safe either.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpyoldpom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goodday20, Manager at Tanah Semujan Ubud, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Mr. grumpyoldpom,

Thank you for your great review for our system improvement. We was so sorry about this overbooking situation and we have managed well our reservation and for any overbooking we would always advise the guest for new accommodation.

We will manage well to serve accurate reservation in the future.

We much looking forward to have another chance to serve you more better with us.

Regards
Tanah Semujan Ubud

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

The guesthouse has (I think) about 4 rooms, so it's a very quiet atmosphere. It's run by a Balinese family who do make a lovely breakfast every day (omelette, toast or pancake with fruits) and who are always there when you need something (the parents have limited English, but they are still very helpful).

The rooms are spacious and clean. The furniture is a bit basic, but totally fine for that price. WiFi works quite well (a bit slow sometimes, but that's normal in Bali).

There is no safe in the room, but we were not worried about our valuables, as the family does everything (including room service) by themselves. There is a big, shared fridge outside, with drinks that the family provides for (almost) supermarket prices. You can also put your own food and drinks in there.

Bisma road is a bit off the main roads, but there are quite a lot of restaurants, bars and Spas. Within 5-10 minutes walk, you are in the centre.

If there had been some mosquito protection, the place would just have been perfect. But it has still deserved 5 stars.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 34CarinaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Me and my husband stayed here for a night and we really regret that we only stayed for a night. At first we thought that the place is quite far but when we walked around imagine around 11pm and it's still safe. The location is really great to explore Ubud and a day is not just enough for this part of Bali. The family who managed it is so helpful. When we checked-in, no question asks, he automatically gave us the wifi password, hot water and orient us how to lock the door and about the place. I would really recommend this place, so nice and quiet. Really a value for your money...and the wifi is really fast.

Room Tip: our room on the 2nd floor has no A/C but the hot/cold shower is really working. rooms on the 1st le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maggie May R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I stayed here for two nights and felt extremely welcome. Rooms are simple but spacious and clean. The family that runs it are very friendly and helpful. Location towards the end of Jl. Bisma is a little out of the busy centre, but still on walking distance. This also means that it's very quiet, being away from the busy main road. I read reviews about the wifi not having good connection, but through my stay it worked perfectly, so it may be different per room. Also one night there was no hot water, but that's Asia. Nothing to stress about and the next morning it was solved. I would definitely recommend this place as the quality/price ratio is very good.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Thailandl0ver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I stayed at Tanah Semujan for 3 days with my family. Huge, well-furnished rooms, good wi-fi, and above all the owner's Wayan's hospitality really impressed all of us. He told us a lot about the local traditions and beliefs, and even invited us to a typical Balinese dance-depiction of the Ramayana performed by his family - an amazing experience to say the least. And he makes really nice breakfast too! Location and price-wise also, I doubt the others would come close to Tanah Semujan. Would definitely stay here again if I visit Ubud again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anjali21_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I chose Tanah Semujan based on the good price and positive reviews on cleanliness. It has exceeded my expectations in many ways. The service was exceptional, our room was very clean, the balcony was an added bonus as we had breakfast everyday there. Breakfast options were simple but we enjoyed it every day we were there (5 days). Get the banana toast! The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is because of the shower situation. The shower is built at about 4 ft on the wall so it was inconvenient to keep crouching while showering. Also, the water temperature was inconsistent, switching between hot and cold often. But I think that is a minor point if you're staying for a short period.

Other points to note: This hotel is about 15 min from the main roads so if you do not intend to walk much, this may be a problem for you. I thought this was perfect since we love to walk and explore the areas off the main roads. At night, it could be quite dark traveling back so you would need a torch or flashlight. On JL Bisma, there are tons of restaurants so that was an added bonus as well. As this is a budget option, there is no "view." All the rooms face a front yard garden and the buildings around the hotel. This was not a big deal for us as we don't care for views.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kingster703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Jiwa's House
Jiwa's House
#21 of 638 in Ubud
129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gerhana Sari 2 Bungalows
0.2 mi away
Gayatri Bungalows
Gayatri Bungalows
#11 of 638 in Ubud
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Ujung Ubud Guest House
Ujung Ubud Guest House
#29 of 638 in Ubud
100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Padma Ubud Retreat
Padma Ubud Retreat
#61 of 638 in Ubud
120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanah Semujan Ubud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanah Semujan Ubud

Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 638 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £13 - £28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanah Semujan Ubud 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tanah Semujan Ubud reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanah Semujan Ubud Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing