We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and mystical”

Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$80.00*
and up
Private Tour: Full-Day Ubud Tour with a Visit to a Traditional Balinese Healer
Ranked #4 of 127 things to do in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: In this unusual place of worship, mischievous simians throng among sacred temples and lush greenery.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Peaceful and mystical”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I don't like monkeys, but love this monkey forest. It has a very mystical quality. Go in the afternoon when the monkeys are less hungry and you can just walk past them to explore. It's quite small and doesn't take long. There is a lovely temple by the river down the stairs. Well worth a look. It's also worth paying the 20,000rp entrance fee just to use it as a quick cut through from Ubud to Nyuh Kuning village.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21,293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,134
    8,302
    3,004
    518
    335
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fun!”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I've been to the Monkey Forest three times now, and it's always fun. There are macaques all over, which are very entertaining, and there are two different Hindu temples within the temple to visit. It costs about $2 US to get in, and it's a nice respite from all the shopping. I would definitely recommend not bringing any food or water bottles or anything other than the essentials into the forest. Also, make sure you go to the bathroom ahead of time - the bathrooms there are horrible. The monkeys can be quite aggressive - be aware!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank thesarahrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coffs harbour, australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Our visit to the Monkeys home”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have had many stays in a hotel very close to the monkey forest, so have visited many times. I always enjoy my time in the forest, but get a bit worried by the behaviour of the tourists visiting. This is, first and foremost, the home of around 600 monkeys, and as humans, we are the guests, unfortunately, many people expect the monkey to "conform" and behave in a certain way.

If you behave as recommended, do not buy food, do not have any items which can be easily stolen by the monkeys, and are prepared to look and learn, you will not doubt enjoy your experience in the monkey forest, and will get some amazing photos of these delightful animals.


We easily spent a day and a half there and enjoyed every minute.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cbimages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Mischievous Monkey's”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

The Sacred Monkey Forest in the town of Ubud, Bali.

We hired a car for the day and included the sanctuary on our list of 'must sees' during the day.

You can walk from the town centre of Ubud to the Sanctuary, coffee and gift shops are available.

There are two entrances into the Sanctuary, ticket costs 20,000 Indonesian Rupiah equal to US$2
Opening times Everyday 08.30 to 18.00

There are warning signs before you enter to tell you that the Monkeys are free to move around, they may approach you, especially if you have food. Remove hats, sun glasses and anything else which might interest an inquisitive monkey.

Its quite daunting when you walk into the sanctuary as it looks like you have stumbled upon a mystycal, ancient ruins of a temple, similar to 'jungle book'.

As you discover the ruins, monkeys roam freely among you, playing, eating and grooming each other. There are feeding stations throughout which you can purchase bananas to feed to the monkeys.

Its important to note that the monkeys may snatch items from you and you are discouraged to try and retrieve any taken items. I saw monkeys take packets of tissues and bottles of drink out of the side pockets of the ruck sacks.

Well worth a visit

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I visited the sacred monkey forest with my wife earlier this week. We had a great ime; the park is beautiful, the monkeys are fun but should be met with caution. My advice would be to avoid buying food for the monkeys at the entrance, it sounds like this can be a problem for some people.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteWils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary also viewed

 

Been to Sacred Monkey Forest Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing