We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very nice stay - Will come back!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rumah Tyang

Front look at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front look at night
Front look Evening pool view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Front look at night
Front look
Evening pool view
swing right to the pool
The Gazebo
Pool at night
Lazy Chair
Mini bar Table
Minibar Table
Dining Table
Dining Table
TV Room
Living Room
living room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Table
Dining Table
Kitchen
Twin Bed Room, 2 single bed, each with trundle
Twin Bed Room, 2 single bed, each with trundle
Twin Bed Room Toilet
Double Bed Room, bed size 180 X 200 cm
Double Bed Room, bed size 180 X 200 cm
Double Bed Room, bed size 180 X 200 cm
Master Bed Toilet
Master Bed Room, Bed size 200cm X 200cm
Master Bed Room, Bed size 200cm X 200cm
Bed time...
Bath ub and shower
Baby Cots - available
Bath Room
One Bed Room Villa - email for request
One Bed Room Villa, only USD 150 per night, including breakfast, airport pick up and daily transport
One Bed Room Villa, with share swimming pool.
One Bed Room Villa, USD 150 per night...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Traditional) first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
455maya
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice stay - Will come back!”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We rented one of the small villas. It's located 10-15 minutes walking distance from Ubud Center, quite place - far from the hustle and bustle of busy streets of Ubud but not too far from the center. Just perfect. The villa is air-conditioned. It's clean and spacious. I love the ambiance of this villa. It's clean and so is the bathroom. Staff are friendly and helpful. I had a lovely stay. Unlike many hotel in Ubud, Rumah Tyang is not creepy. I had a nice stay. I will come back! In the morning, I could hear ducks talking to each other but they stopped after some time. But overall, this place is highly recommended!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
Thanks so much Maya, we highly appreciate your input... hope we will see you again...

Regards,
Juliana
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reasoners
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappoiting and misleading”
Reviewed 18 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Let's start with what we liked about this place. The small 1-bedroom villa and the pool were very nice and clean.

However, there were so many things that just turned us off.

For breakfast we purposely requested, no bread, no pancakes and a bigger selection of fruit instead, as we really wanted to enjoy the tropical fruits that Bali has to offer. Juliana responded and told us that it will be arranged. The next morning we had to ask twice for fruit and only after we mentioned Juliana's name, one of the boys went out to get another slice of melon.
As coffee lovers, it was also a little bit underwhelming to have Nescafe powder coffee in the morning, especially since Bali is known for its good coffee. The artificial fruit juice was a bit puzzling as well, as there are so many options to make fresh juice.

Another issue is that some of the information on booking.com is very misleading.
We spent a lot of time researching and comparing places and it was therefore very disappointing to find that some things just aren't well specified.
-booking.com said that there will be a bathtub and we were excited about that - we didn't have one. (it is only for the main villa)
-They mention free airport shuttle on booking.com - In the email prior to our arrival, we were told that it will cost us 100'000. We ended up paying the driver 130'000 (each way) for gas without a receipt or any other type of measurement of how much gas we actually used. When we asked why, we never received an answer!
-On booking.com it is mentioned that you can request lunch, dinner and even a private chef. Upon our arrival (in the evening) we asked for that option and were told to go and get food in town. Very disappointing after a really long journey!
-When we wanted to make use of the "free driver" (you only pay for gas) to take us to the 8km away Tegalalang Rice Terrace, he wanted to charge us 350K!!!
At that point we had enough and wrote an email to Juliana. Unfortunately we soon realized that the lack of English isn't only an issue with the staff on site.

So, if you are interested in this place for its "offers" you might be better off trying another option.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2017
Dear Mrs. Damaris Reasoner,
Thanks so much to your input, and every input is very precious for our improvement.

The corrective action been placed, and we have learned the lesson.

Please come again, and see the improvement, I believe you will enjoy for the next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wennie_az...
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beyond expectation! Value for money!”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in October 2015

After a long search for a nice villa with private pool in Ubud that fitted our budget, we were so happy to find Rumah Tyang! We then booked the One Bedroom Villa. Looking at the pictures on internet I was a bit worried that the property would be kinda shabby, but when I arrived I was so thrilled that the villa was so clean with beautiful traditional aesthetic! The pool was just perfect, with an addition of a cute floaty! I think it's a shared pool, but lucky when we stayed there the other villa was empty, so we can have the pool for ourselves.

The staffs were all friendly and polite. The villa also provides driver for pick-up from airport or other point and for our use during the stay, they also provide local cell phone for us to call the driver.

I was kinda disappointed with the breakfast, it definitely can be improved. The variety and portion was too little in my opinion. But the villa has a kitchen and fridge which is convenient to stock up food or cook something when you're hungry at night.

The villa also completed with all amenities, but the the quality of the bath/shampoo can be improved as well. I also think that the bathroom is a bit too dark for my liking.
Great location, quite close to Ubud center, around 15 minutes walking distance.

Overall I think this villa is suitable for almost every kind of group. Couple, family, or friends, they also have other bigger villa for large groups.

Note:
- You can hear the roosters at dawn.
- Beware of mosquitoes

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private pool
Liked least: Breakfast, bathroom (dark)
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul L
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Feels like staying in a Indonesia village”
Reviewed 14 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

What a beautiful place. We stayed at the 1 bedroom house. It's a lovely wooden traditional Javanese house. With a large veranda in front. A swimming pool and a outside kitchen witch you share with your neighbors. Facilities are great: wifi, flatscreen, complete kitchen, including a large watertank for cold and hot water. It's quiet lovely to chill, read, have a drink and swim. Even when it rains its so relax to sit on your veranda and stare at the rain. After a day it really felt like home to us. Breakfast is taken care of by the staff and it's always toast eggs, tomato and coffee, juice. After a few days that's boring. I hope they give more options in the future. The staff will only clean when you leave your house but they'll aks you first.

The centre of Ubud is only 15-20 minutes walk to the Palace. Our advice rent a bike or scooter.

We really loved our stay at Rumah Tyang. Friendly staff. We will definitely come back here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Het huisje met de veranda
Liked least: Weinig eetmogelijkheden in de buurt
Travelling group: Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
klbn
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Please stay Here!”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After replying to all my queries via email we safely arrived in Ubud (we were picked up from Sanur) at Rumah Tyang. Unfortunately, one of the bedrooms required a fix it job so we were presented with not only the main villa but also the second, smaller one for us to use. This meant that we had 2 swimming pools, 3 bedrooms (all with ensuite), two kitchens and loads of space! Wow! The villa is behind the family compound and Warung Tyang so you really feel that you aren't in a large generic resort yet you are still close to all that Ubud has to offer (10-15 min walk to Ubud Markets). We had (included) breakfast cooked for us each morning in the main villa (4 adults and 4 children) and each day the villas were cleaned. There is unlimited filtered COLD water and plenty of fridge space for other drinks etc. Nyoman (he and his wife run the Warung) helped us out one day with transport to the Bali Treetop Adventure Park and we thank him for this. An absolutely beautiful place and when we return to Bali we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwis24
Havelock North, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Seting”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

What you see is what you get - stayed in one bedroom villa beautifully set in small compound with one other villa and share pool. Bit unsure how breakfast worked as probably first non resort type stay so pleasantly surprised when served on our wonderful deck area. Staff were awesome and helpful but near invisible unless you needed. 10mins walk to Monkey Forest Road and great restaurants so great location. Other villa was occupied by couple with one child but seriously wouldn't have known they were there, yes you hear roosters in the morning but hey if that is the worst thing of the stay the stay is pretty magic!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Traditional build and stunning setting
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip M
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice, however”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arranged with Rumah Tyang to be picked up from our hotel in Seminyak and transferred to Ubud, but they did not show up. So, we took a taxi, which they agreed to pay for. Had trouble finding the place, as there is no sign, however it is at the rear of their other business: Warung Tyang.
We stayed in a 1-bedroom villa; you share the compound with garden and very nice pool with another identical villa. This is not so well-described on their website which talks only of the family villa. Nevertheless, it is very nice, and as the other villa was unoccupied, we had privacy and comfort throughout our stay. The structure looks quite new, the electrical wiring looks compliant, the appliances all worked, the WiFi was very good.
Breakfast was cooked for us in the kitchen within the compound, but we asked to have Indonesian food on 2 mornings, having tired of the usual western-style eggs and whatever. The surprise was they charged an additional 70,000IR each day for this. Also got charged 100,000 for petrol after a short ride out to the Bird Park.... So much for the "free" car and driver.
But these are minor quibbles, and should we return to Ubud, we'd probably stay here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing