We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Embraced by Nature”
Review of Pertiwi Bisma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pertiwi Bisma
Ranked #111 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
quezon city, philippines
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Embraced by Nature”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This lovely hotel is tucked around the rice field of Ubud. It is hidden from the busy main street. Their pictures and other entries in the website is an accurate representation of what the hotel is. I love their two infinity pools, both having a breathtaking view of the forest. Swimming in their pool is like being embraced by nature. Room amenities are basic, especially their thoughtfulness to provide umbrellas in each room for guests to use during the rainy season (January). Breakfast was okay, fresh and filling, with three sets to choose from. The staff were helpful, except at night where you rarely see any. Free shuttle services to the main street are easily available. Rooms are spacious, modern & clean. The hotel only had 20 rooms during our visit but there are additional villa type accommodations facing the forest which are under construction which looks so serene and peaceful. It will be opening soon & I hope that we will be able to return & experience staying in them. It is quite a walk from the main street (around 20min walk to the monkey forest or Ubud Market) to this hotel, but if you want to be close to nature, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penoybalut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    152
    67
    11
    20
See reviews for
44
198
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for a week in a villa overlooking the valley. The accommodation was lovely, all mod cons provided & we had been upgraded from a suite to a villa - very spacious. The place is on a hill overlooking the river - a fabulous view. You can't really see the water because it's steep & covered over with vegetation, but you can hear the water & birds, just beautiful. There are 2 very nice pools, a restaurant (basic, but good) & friendly, attentive staff. It's just far enough out of town to be quiet & feel secluded, but close enough to walk in for lunch or dinner (15 min. stroll). Breakfast is provided & was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zydeco57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

- The staff are all very friendly and helpful, at all times of the day
- The room is clean, have air condition, clean towels and everything else you need
- There are extra towels for the pool
- There are two pools, at one of them you will get both exercise and a nice view down too the river

The only thing I didn't like was the breakfast - So I just had cereal and that was okay. ;)

Have a pleasant stay! :)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel is complicated because at first I didn't like it. We had arrived from a luxury Villa, and it seemed like a major step down. There are three Pertiwi Bisma's and it took our driver and us 20 mins to discover which one was ours. It is at the end of Jhulan Bisma and at first it seemed like ages from everywhere. There are rice paddy fields on either side which is quite charming.

We rented two rooms and had two friends in each room. It was a little too small in all honesty. We had two single beds but only divided by a narrow strip of wood and I felt like we had no space from each other. The rooms were very clean, and the cleaner came regularly every day. The bathroom was quite average, the bath kept clogging up with water after a shower.

The staff were lovely though. There were especially some who always looked out for us, lending us Scooter helmets and whatever else we needed. On the third day we discovered a pool down the bottom of the resort. There is pool 1, and then Villas, and then pool 2 right down the hill, and we saw what made the hotel special. it felt like paradise. This alone was what made the hotel amazing for me.

Every morning was a buffet breakfast which was pretty average, although I enjoyed the little green crepes and unlimited Balinese coffee. The food in general was pretty average at the hotel, and considering its Ubud which has some of the best restaurants ever, we only ate there if we were too tired to move. The hotel mainly seemed to have couples of all different nationalities. We were four girls traveling together and one night we sat chatting (not drinking just chatting) outside the one room and we hushed by two different rooms. It was only ten pm. So probably not the best if you enjoy night socializing!

The location was kind of average. It is hard to find a scooter taxi or a taxi from the hotel, you have to call one, and the hotel will only call taxis not scooter taxis. It is a solid 15 minute walk, which is doable, except my friend had badly injured her toe, and as a result I had to carry her everytime to and from hotel on my scooter. On our last day we were meant to check out at midday but they arranged for an extra $20aud to let us stay until we had to leave for our flights at 10pm which was super sweet. In terms of lovely staff, who were adorable and super accomodating the hotel definitely gets points.

I think it depends what you like for staying here. If you are a couple who wants a peaceful base in Ubud and knows how to ride a scooter this place is awesome, if you are a group of friends, and not all of you can ride scooters there are probably some better options for the price!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chittidasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We are staying at the pertiwi bisma1 for 5 nights, we have been here 4 days and found the resort beautiful, the staff are just lovely and eager to please,it would pay to hire a scooter from reception for only 6000 rupiah a day as it is a little bit of a walk, the scooter also gives the freedom to get out and about to explore beautiful ubud.
The only negative I have is the breakfast , most days it is pretty cold and the selection is not as good as other resorts,highlights are DEFINATLY the views and the staff.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Indochic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

We spent the first 4 days in kuta, and for the last two nights, we were looking for a more quiet and relaxing atmosphere. And we got it! We were even upgraded to a one bedroom villa. :) Room is great though a little dark and ac is not cold enough. There is no bathtub. We are young couple in mid twenties so walking down to the villa is not a problem for us. But for others, it can be a problem. Walking back to hotel from the ubud center is quite scary, small street with no lights. There is a short cut (about 10 mins walk) going to monkey forest but it is not a proper street, more of a trek. Breakfast is ok. Just ok. And there is no front desk after 10pm, so we have to wait until the morning to charge our phones as we don't have adaptors. If walking is not a problem for you, then this hotel is perfect! A good hideaway from the busy streets yet a 15 min walk from the center.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The place is first of all little away from Monkey Forest Road and Ubud Market area. The walk is good 15 minutes, both routes. Though the Pertiwi resort route seems safer (with respect to snakes), the terrain is up and down and tires you.

The breakfast was not so great. The staff at the restaurant didn't look trained. We had to ask them each thing. Two days, we have to wait for a table for breakfast. They have ample space to add more tables, yet they prefer to make their guests wait. Looked like an extension of their more luxurious Pertiwi resort and this seemed given less importance.

The entrance to our room was not so impressive. The balcony entrance is better. We used that more often. The water stopped during morning hours on two days. There was also water clogging in the tub which was disgusting. It looked like someone just built the hotel with no thought process of running it well. Thankfully the rooms were clean. The shuttle to market area was convenient. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful.

Make sure to carry a torch if you plan to walk after dark. Where there is paddy, there will be water, where there is water, there will be frogs, where there are frogs, there will be snakes!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank starryclouds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#108 of 196 in Ubud
191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Okawati Hotel
Okawati Hotel
#118 of 196 in Ubud
330 reviews
0.9 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
348 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 196 in Ubud
617 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kiskenda Cottages
Kiskenda Cottages
#129 of 196 in Ubud
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pertiwi Bisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pertiwi Bisma

Property: Pertiwi Bisma
Address: Jl. Bisma, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Pertiwi Bisma 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an elegant retreat from the urban rush at the Pertiwi Bisma 1. The exquisite hotel features well-appointed rooms with a full range of modern amenities overlooking either the ricecfield, campuhan or the swimming pool. Guests can relax comfortably in a tranquil environment with the city's entertainment hub at your doorstep. Strategically located at exotic of Bisma St Ubud - Bali, the ambience is bringing you to the real of Bali with cultural atmosphere. 5 Minutes Walking distance to Ubud Most iconic Monkey Forest and Museum Puri Lukisan. 10 Minutes Walk to Ubud Market and Ubud Palace. 15 Minutes Walk to the famous Antonio Blanco Museum and legendary Campuhan bridge. Pertiwi Bisma 1 - Ubud, a perfect retreat for those who appreciate informality and total privacy but want to be close to Ubud's tourist's interests and cultural centre. Presenting 20 units of Super Deluxe Rooms and 11 units of One Bedroom Villa Valley reflecting its Balinese style combined with modern touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Pertiwi Bisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pertiwi Bisma Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing