We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay Ever!”
Review of Aya's Rooms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aya's Rooms Hotel
Ranked #397 of 620 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The place is clean, air-conditioned with homemade breakfast prepared by a warm and friendly staff. It also has a beautiful pool. I stayed for 2 weeks and the staff treated me like family. They have laundry service on site that is very inexpensive, as well. It is right in the middle of everything and within walking distance of most of the popular hotspots in Ubud. The price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: Every room is a corner room. The upper floors provide more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcotterma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

I stayed here for 32 days. I became friends with the staff. Gede, Koman and Kubu are all wonderful people. The rooms are beautiful, Gede operates everything very well. The rooms are wonderful. Breakfast and laundry service, pool, I met several awesome people during my lengthy stay. Location is perfect, and is a very nice quiet spot for being so close to Hanoman. I will most certainly be back to Ayas when I return to Bali. I was in Bali for yoga teacher training and several fellow students also stayed here to rave reviews.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leewhocannotbenamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

The rooms itself are quite nice. Bed, TV, fridge - everything you need. The design is also modern and nice. Good pool too. However, the place could be a lot better with some small changes.
1. Put some mosquito screens on the ventitaltion slits in the bathroom area to keep animals out.
2. Put a door between main room and bathroom area to keep the noise level down.
3. Hire someone to do breakfast or serve it buffet style - our poor hosts seemed a bit stressed with preparing pancaked, omelettes and eggs cooked to order for everyone.

The location is perfect and if you can get it for a good price, it is a nice little place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I have been waiting for a hotel like this to open in ubud! Most of them are high priced and you don't get half of what AYA'S rooms provides for you! This hotel is clean, safe, friendly and relaxing. You couldn't ask for better staff at a hotel. Gede and Cubu make this hotel the hidden gem it really is. The hotel is up a private alley way then opens into a gorgious pool and room setting. The pool is kept clean and at a perfect temperature. The staff are very knowledgebleable about things to do around Ubud and can assist you with any need you have! They even had someone come in and give me a in room massage at a very very good price!!! If you are heading to Ubud I sugguest your first stop be AYA'S ROOM!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mimi251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We were a family of 12 and let me say that finding a suitable place that meets all 12 persons criterias is hard. I booked 6 rooms for just 1 night. Finding the place was just a slight issue. Walking through a narrow alley and finding Aya's Rooms was a big surprise. It was comfortable, spacious, air-conditioned with a nice pool and all just for a price of USD40 per room. Staffs was friendly and tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible.The pool was great after a hot sweaty walk and we made use of it many times. We even had a pool party that night (as it was my birthday) and the staff keep the pool running without any complaints. We didn't eat there, so no issue with the food. However, water pressure on the highest floor was quite bad. We did speak to them, and they say they will look into it. As for the power trip. It happened throughout the whole night. But within the minute it goes off, the staff switch it back on. So no issue with me as the air-condition comes back on as well. But its something that have to be looked into. Internet was no issue on the 1st and 2nd floor but not on the 3rd floor. As for bugs issue, I have no encounter with it. We did spot a cockroach near the swimming pool but the staff got rid of it quickly. Ubud is surrounded by foliage and forest. Bugs are expected. Although if you are afraid, picking rooms on the higher floors might help. View on the 3rd floor is amazing. On the morning, I woke up to a view of Mount Agung, shrouded in mist and smoke. So beautiful. We all enjoyed ourselves there and didn't want to leave. Location is great. Quiet but accessible. Just walking out the alley and you'll find shops and restaurants. Ubud Market is about 10-15 minutes walk away.

Room Tip: Higher rooms - less bugs issue, better view, quieter, but low water pressure. Lower rooms - better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EstherChew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

On the surface, Aya's Rooms is a shiny, new, clean place but I believe it is that on the surface only. The upside is it has a pool and air conditioning; location is also good.

I stayed here a week and had the below problems. You may judge for yourself if you believe you can live with any (one) of them during your holiday:

- First night, there was a cockroach in the room. Upon closer inspection of the room, we saw that the method of ventilation in the bathroom area is six rectangular-shaped slats in the wall leading directly outside. This means bugs and roaches can get in at any time during the day/night.
- The hotel consists of two blocks, and again on our first night the other block was fully booked. This led to too many people using the electricity and the air conditioning. The result was a continual power outage, and we had to sleep with no A/C. At least I packed my head-torch.
- Second day, I noticed a puddle of water in the bathroom, which has a tub and a wet-room shower. We moved the shower handle to the tub so we should shower without getting water everywhere. Regardless, a puddle kept re-appearing, and it seemed to be a chronic leak somewhere because I could see mold/mildew on the bottom of the door-frame.
- The pressure in the shower connection was very low. Moving it to the bath tub helped immensely, but hot water does not consistently come out. There are bursts of cold before hot returns.
- Fourth night, another cockroach. This time, it had landed on me as I tried to sleep and woke me up. Needless to say, I didn't sleep well that night and in the morning, I had at least three bug bites.
- Also on the fourth night, the internet credit ran out, so guests could not use wifi. When I inquired in the morning, I was told that the son of the owner, in Denpasar, had to buy more credit and that wifi should be back online by the end of the day.
- As someone else already pointed out, there is a lack of breakfast option. They have either egg/toast or pancake. This doesn't present a problem for me, but what does present a problem is the lack of hygiene when preparing the breakfast. It is cooked at an outdoor bar and I witnessed the following: cook dropped the whisk on the floor and rinsed it off and continued preparing the pancake mix; no soap was used to clean; ants crawling all over the counter; no clean teaspoons, so server pulled a dirty one from a pile of dishes in the sink, rinsed it off and tried to give it to me with my tea; no soap used to clean the spoon.

All in all, I would give it average value for money, because the location is good and the place functions as shelter, but I imagine there are equally bug-infested places for less money and with reliable internet at the least.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roundtheworld131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We had a very nice stay here for 4 nights. The good stuff:
- Friendly staff
- Clean, spacious rooms
- Excellent cable
- Clean swimming pool

The not-so-good:
- Very slow to no internet service (they plan to improve this soon, they say)
- Few breakfast options

We also had a great experience learning to cook Balinese, thanks to the hotel owner, Puspa. She said she intends to open Balinese cooking classes to guests very soon so watch out for that! When I return to Ubud, I will definitely stay in this hotel again. I highly recommend this to other travelers, too!

Room Tip: If you want to use the pool often, better pick a room on the ground floor since the building has no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marthakriska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
SenS Hotel & Spa + Conference Ubud Town Centre
0.6 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#104 of 199 in Ubud
257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sumantra House Ubud
Sumantra House Ubud
#41 of 620 in Ubud
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buana Home Stay
Buana Home Stay
#218 of 620 in Ubud
12 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Peacock Inn
The Peacock Inn
#102 of 620 in Ubud
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aya's Rooms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aya's Rooms Hotel

Address: Jl. Hanoman, Padang Tegal, Ubud, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #397 of 620 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £18 - £22 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Aya's Rooms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aya's Rooms Hotel Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing