We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“this holiday at Merta House was really one to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to lovely Merta House - in the real Bali.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to lovely Merta House - in the real Bali.
Living area into kitchen. High ceilings, cool and comfortable Comfortable lounge area. Cable TV and DVD.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Welcome to lovely Merta House - in the real Bali.
Living area into kitchen. High ceilings, cool and comfortable
Comfortable lounge area. Cable TV and DVD.
Lounge Room
The gazebo is a lovely place for a coffee or drink
Meals and kitchen area
Beautiful comfortable giant bed, with waterwall and TV/DVD
The bed has lights and waterwall switches on it so you dont have to get out of bed
Watch a movie or listen to the waterwall trickling down the rocks. So relaxing.
Bathroom
Come and experience life in a traditional Balinese village.
Join in with ceremonies and activities, or just relax and read a book or watch a movie
Clean and comfortable, an experience you will never forget
Dining area
Relax on the porch and listen to the birds
Come and relax at Merta House in the jungle/mountain area. Experience life in a Bali village
Jasan Village
Home temple at Merta
terrace situation in the night,,,
Kitchen area
area situation in evening
Private pool and garden
Large private pool for your enjoyment
dressing table
Huge comfortable bed
hot and cold water in wash basin,hair dryer, and another amenities in bathroom
Bathroom amenities available always
kitchen and amenities
Pool
Fancy a swim in the pool?
our sign board in front of property
Large living area
Night time on the porch
So pretty
Come and take a break at Merta House
Pleanty of parking area and traditional kitchen for your use
The naturally lit bathroom is fully enclosed
Night time
Your breakfast is ready!
Beautiful Jasan Village
There is beauty all around, many places for walking, jungle trekking, rice fields. All beautiful
So close to nature
Come on in, welcome!
Merta House - your home in the jungle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Marie V
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“this holiday at Merta House was really one to remember”
Reviewed 28 October 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

My daughter and I stayed three days at Merta House with two young children of 8 and 3. We were welcomed by Made, the house manager ,and Made Mawny, the smiling driver at our hotel in Ubud, and driven to Merta House in Jasan. Right from the start, Made made us feel at home ! The house is superb, perfectly clean and the swimming pool and garden are lovely. Made took us around the village and the two girls were happy to discover the animals and plants. Breakfast was cooked for us every morrning with a choice of food: brilliant !! and always with the nice smile of Made. Made also organised day tours for us and Made Mawny, now the family driver ,became the girls best friend! We were invited in Made's house to meet the family and then to Made Mawny's family. We were really at home and felt very warmly welcome. We even took part in the temple ceremony as members of Made and Made Mawny' family. A moment to remember. We still talk about our stay at Merta House. Made Mawny drove us around the whole island on several daytrips, and we even asked him to be our driver when we were later staying in Candi Dasa. He was a safe, helpful, very nice and patient driver. With Made's advices on planning our daily trips, we had the most wonderful stay. Cherry on the cake, so to speak: we celebrated my birthday at Merta House and I was offered the nice surprise of a Balinese dinner prepared in the house for me, and a most charming birthday cake (European chocolate!) plus the wishes of staff and friends of Merta House!! unforgettable. We left with our hearts full of the warmth of our family in Jasan. We even learnt how to say : "we are from jasan village" in Balinese. Really a place to stay !!!! Made and Made Mawny are worth the trip. We will not forget their kindness. They stay in our hearts, really !! the best moments of our Bali trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the house and the friendship of Made, the manager and of Made Mawny, the driver
Liked least: nothing apart from the fact that we should have stayed longer !!!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2014
We will remember you to. Please come and see us again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterlooz...
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hideaway”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This beautiful villa was the perfect retreat for us. About half and hours drive from Ubud we could relax into village life but could still head into the main town to restaurants and shops. Made, the villa manager, was excellent. Super friendly and helpful and always on hand to help us if we needed anything. We could order food with him and have it brought to the villa from the restaurant and breakfast was served every morning in the villa. There are tours and activities available trough Merta House and we were really made to feel welcome in the village. Made organised traditional dancing at the villa for our last night which was exceptional and the highlight of our trip. I cannot recommend this highly enough! We had our own transport but transport was available on days that we didnt want to drive. We had a fantastic time and would love to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Thanks so much for your review. We would really love for you to come back and stay again anytime. Matur siksama.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parrysand
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Rural Hospitality”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Merta House is an oasis of calm after the madness of Seminyak. We spent two days here and were welcomed as family by the joyful Made. A walk through the terraced rice paddies and a swim in the pool and we felt more at home than anywhere we have ever stayed in Bali. The villa is fantastic, with fast wi-fi, tvs and a beautiful pool we struggled to get the kids out of for the 15 minute drive to Ubud. With food delivered from the excellent Kampung Cafe if you fancy staying poolside, helps make this a really magic spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and service
Liked least: Pool a little cold for me.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
We are so very happy you enjoyed your stay. Merta House is a special place, and it is great your family enjoyed it so much there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mozart310...
Bali, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional and rustic village in one of Bali's hidden gem”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

About 30 mins from the pictureques Kintamani lookout and tucked away from the main road, you will find Merta House Bali. This IS the place to rejuvenate and recharge from the hustle and bustle of Kuta and Seminyak. The property is well appointed with all the modern amenities including WIFI so connecting with the world is easy. The staff are super friendly and the property manager, Made will ensure you are comfortable, relaxed and well fed. The garden area has a pond, a gazebo and a pool. It is interesting to know that pool fences are also available if you have children staying with you. Merta House Bali offers a portable yet sturdy pool fence system to keep children safe. That's socially responsible and commendable.
We had an awesome time rediscovering ourselves and time seemed to have stood still. We were certainly rejuvenated and refreshed after waking up from an amazing comfortable bed to a hearty local breakfast.
We will definitely will be back again to explore more of what Merta House Bali offers.
Thank you to the wonderful staff at Merta House Bali for a restful weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff made the stay most relaxing and enjoyable.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
It is great to hear you were so happy to stay at Merta House. We welcome you back anytime. Thank you for your lovely words. It is much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OZsailing...
Earth
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Bali At Its BEST!!”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We LOVED Merta House and the wonderful staff who made our stay so pleasant. Have been twice now and each time is a real treat.. Lots of things to do. So much traditional Balinese culture and landscape to experience. The villa is wonderfully appointed, comfortable and relaxing and the area in and around Jasan is some of the most beautiful parts of Bali. Can't wait to visit again on our next trip.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa is gorgeous, but the local people and surrounding area are amazing..
Liked least: Stay was too short
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
If Merta House brings happiness, then we are happy. See you again when you are in Bali.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“beautiful.”
Reviewed 1 April 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at merta house, wish we could have stayed longer... the villa is beautiful, with private pool.fantastic place to just relax or enjoy the many activities on offer, or experince the true traditional village lifestyle. My husband got to go fishing and hunting with some of the locals from the village, he absolutely loved it, The staff. and people in the village are so welcoming and friendly. This is one of our favorite places to stay in bali we will definitely be back. Thankyou made and wayan for making our stay so special. We have made some beautiful friends here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything about it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
Matur suksama!!! We would love to see you again and maybe you can stay longer next time..............we would love this too!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NessyNood...
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique Bali Village Stay. Highly recommended”
Reviewed 24 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Merta House is a brilliant place to stay. Brand new, so much care has been taken in the details of the house which contains all mod-con amenities. Staff are very welcoming and friendly and made our stay so pleasurable. Many things to do and see around the village. I had a 6 year old child and she was always busy with friends from the village to play with, pet chickens and animals to see. Immerse yourself in true Bali lifestyle as little or as much as you like.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Village lifestyle, beautiful house and location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2013
We are so glad you like Merta House, we worked hard to build, and it is nice to hear that others like it. We welcome you back anytime to relax and enjoy life in a Balinese jungle village!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing