We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Even better than the pictures!”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to lovely Merta House - in the real Bali.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to lovely Merta House - in the real Bali.
Living area into kitchen. High ceilings, cool and comfortable Comfortable lounge area. Cable TV and DVD.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
58 reviews
Welcome to lovely Merta House - in the real Bali.
Living area into kitchen. High ceilings, cool and comfortable
Comfortable lounge area. Cable TV and DVD.
Lounge Room
The gazebo is a lovely place for a coffee or drink
Meals and kitchen area
Beautiful comfortable giant bed, with waterwall and TV/DVD
The bed has lights and waterwall switches on it so you dont have to get out of bed
Watch a movie or listen to the waterwall trickling down the rocks. So relaxing.
Bathroom
Come and experience life in a traditional Balinese village.
Join in with ceremonies and activities, or just relax and read a book or watch a movie
Clean and comfortable, an experience you will never forget
Dining area
Relax on the porch and listen to the birds
Come and relax at Merta House in the jungle/mountain area. Experience life in a Bali village
Jasan Village
Home temple at Merta
terrace situation in the night,,,
Kitchen area
area situation in evening
Private pool and garden
Large private pool for your enjoyment
dressing table
Huge comfortable bed
hot and cold water in wash basin,hair dryer, and another amenities in bathroom
Bathroom amenities available always
kitchen and amenities
Pool
Fancy a swim in the pool?
our sign board in front of property
Large living area
Night time on the porch
So pretty
Come and take a break at Merta House
Pleanty of parking area and traditional kitchen for your use
The naturally lit bathroom is fully enclosed
Night time
Your breakfast is ready!
Beautiful Jasan Village
There is beauty all around, many places for walking, jungle trekking, rice fields. All beautiful
So close to nature
Come on in, welcome!
Merta House - your home in the jungle
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Lisa C
1 review
“Even better than the pictures!”
Reviewed 12 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Merta house, meaning blessing was just that! The house was even more beautiful than the pictures. A very private and peaceful location. The staff were readily available with the ring of a bell or a friendly checkup. Sometimes they knew we were hungry for lunch before we had realized ourselves. Very attentive without being overbearing. The property is very clean and manicured, there was always a wonderful incense aroma wafting in the air day and night.
We liked the central location away from the busy city life. Just a quick 20 minute drive to Ubud.
Made was a dream, booking all our tours and scheduling our spa treatments. We got a very personal experience allowing us to truly enjoy Bali in a very relaxed way that may not have happened if we had booked through a Hotel. Made has a very good sense of humor and we loved his stories about local culture. He never got tired of our questions, and there were many.
The only thing we would recommend would be to list the transfer prices (for car rides) along with the cost of tours or activities in the activity book. We were a bit surprised at the end when we got the bill. We would never expect any services for free, but if would be nice to know the cost, if any before getting charged. Made was very understanding and was kind enough to work a deal for us. We were very appreciative!
Overall a wonderful stay, with lots of activities or you could choose to spend the day relaxing by the pool. Either way, the staff will make you feel welcome and at home.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The daily breakfast was amazing.
Liked least: Nothing, everything was perfect!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Wow thanks so much. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay - Maybe someday you would like to come back. We would love to see you again. Many Thanks - Merta House
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsa A
1 review
“Wonderful !”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful stay in Merta House. We really enjoyed the house but even more our hosts who were fully available for us, welcoming and made everything "easy" as it's Made's answer to each of your request ! :)
The house is cleaned daily, you can choose your breakfast hour every morning and they can bring your diner if you are too lazy to get out !
Made takes all in charge, he sends someone to take us at the airport and even organized us a tour on the way to our next destination.
We highly recommand Merta House and thank you again for everything !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2015
Wow - Thank you so much - we are very happy you enjoyed your holiday 0 and hope to see you again some day. Many Thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James S
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Amazing property...”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Just a beautiful place to stay. Staff were fantastic. So peaceful and out of the hustle and bustle of city life. The owner was very helpful and understanding. I was very sick during my stay here as I had dengue fever. I would definitely stay here again and would happily recommend to family and friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
hello, many thanks for your reviews,,we hope can see you again next time,,
best regards
Made and nic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichardjA...
2 reviews
“A fantastic introduction to Bali, with a true family/village feel an a great personal touch.”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This stay exceeded all our expectations as Made and his whole family made us feel so welcome. The villa is so private and the location, in Jasan village, was really authentic. We were a bit concerned that it might be a bit isolated, but Made and his family were always on hand to take us places. We requested that they take us to eat at real Warungs, not touristy restaurants, and they did just that! These were some of our best eating experiences! Our two girls got to join the local girls for a Balinese dance lesson - a very memorable experience for them and Wayan (Cak Boom) accompanied us on a wonderful walk through the rice paddies to see his family's paddy and visit the blessing temple. We were invited into Made's home temple to witness a special family ceremony to celebrate his daughter passing 42 days... So many highlights. It's impossible to write them all. Suffice to say that nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel so welcome that we didn't want to leave (in fact there were tears when it came time to go)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2015
thank you so much for your reviews,,we hope can see you again next time,,many thanks
best regards
made And nic
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaibhav24...
Greater Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Amazing, beautiful, peaceful..”
Reviewed 7 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed at Merta house with my wife and son (22 month old). Since it was our first time in Bali i was abit watchful towards everything. But after spending just minutes at Metra and its Manager Made, we felt completely at home (they even put up a pool fence up to help us relax). The accommodation is comfortable, warm and homely. Everything you'll need is already though out for you. A warm surprise was Made's taxi/guide service, he was immensely helpful, honest and friendly (like family). Merta house most certainly helped in making Bali a wonderful experience. now our question isn't if we'll stay at Metra again, but when.. Hopefully sooner than later.

Pros: Nice open living space, clean large enough pool, with manicured garden, taxi service with a friendly guide, lovely atmosphere around the house.

Cons: none at all..

Advise: explore the guide/taxi service Merta offers, also the gorgeous partner SPA massage service.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm friend atmosphere
Liked least: That we had to leave
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2015
Wow - Thank you so much!
We are very happy your first holiday was great, and hope to see you again one day.
Thank you for staying at Merta House - it was lovely to meet you.
Many Thanks - Nic and Made
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gavin M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Real Bali Experience”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Merta House and it's surrounding community is a truly liberating experience. The accomodation, service and location was exceptional.
I will be back to visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2015
Wow - Thanks so much for your great review.
We really appreciate it - and look forward to seeing you again one day.
Maybe we will go fishing in the ocean next time?
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Merta.
Matur suksama - Nic and Made
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katokat73
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!! Once again 😄👍👍”
Reviewed 7 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My second stay at merta house in the beautiful Jasan village. This time Made took us to Kintamani lake at MT Batur at the base of the volcano... OMG the best experience Ever!! You just absolutely must go to and experience relaxing in the hot springs overlooking the gorgeous lake at the base of the volcano the scenery is breathtaking.. My friend did traditional fishing in the lake with the boys which was a very fun cultural experience for him too.:. Amazing staff who go out of their way to give you a great experience . Then we had a jungle walk through made's cousins property which again the scenery was stunning and we got to try all locally grown fruits etc picked straight from the tree in the jungle.. Coconuts cacao mangosteens mangoes it was so awesome.. Cannot wait to come back here it is the best place in Bali to visit.. Thanks again made

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely review.
We really appreciate it and loved having you again.
We look forward to seeing you next time, and hope you are well and happy.
Love - Nic and Made
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing