We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great villa with excellent service”
other travellers have booked this property
12m pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
12m pool
bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
22 reviews
12m pool
bathroom
master bedroom
salon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
FamilyTra...
Okinawa Prefecture, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great villa with excellent service”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We just returned from a fantastic vacation at Pondok Catu. The villa was perfect for our family of 4. It was about a 25 minute walk into Central Ubud, which was manageable even with young children. The villa is down a small road, that requires some walking, but it really isn't very bad at all. Kadek assisted with carrying our luggage upon arrival and departure. There are only motorbikes and foot traffic on the road, so it's nice and quiet.
There is a resort immediately across the street with a great little restaurant that we really enjoyed. We even discovered that they were willing to deliver to the villa!
Kadek was awesome! Great breakfasts every morning, and he was willing to adjust to the kids requests, as needed. He also drove us around on 2 separate occasions. Again, he was great with the kids, joking with them, helping them climb the rice terraces, carrying them up huge flights of stairs at a waterfall, etc. He listened to their jokes, watched them do crazy jumps in the pool, and helped them out when needed. He was a great resource as to what prices w should accept to pay if we used a taxi, where to eat, and also arranged for transport back to the airport when it was time to leave. My kids were sad to say goodbye to him and wish we had obtained his address so they can write him a letter!
Overall, it was a great place to stay and we would definitely stay again, and recommend the villa to friends/family.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katharina...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in the Villa Pondok Catu for 10 days in July and we absolutely loved it. We came with our 3 children ( 6,11, and 14 years ). Although the villa is only for 4 persons, Peter was very willing to accept our family of 5. The information received beforehand was very good.
Our pickup from the airport went very smooth . Our driver Made is exellent. We booked him coulpe of times during our stay for day trips and he is a safe driver and very friendly person. We highly recommend him.
The welcome in "our" villa was very warm. We were greeted by Kadek, the house manager. He is simply amazing. He came everyday in the morning and made us breakfast. He also did the daily cleaning, knows good restaurants and you can ask him to book a massage for you.
The house is just as the prescription: lovely, wonderful, beautiful. We didnt miss anything. Beds are comfortable, the downstairs bathroom is just relaxing with the outdoor shower. Our two girls loved the fast and stable internet connection and our son the pool. The water was very cold but he didnt care. The garden is a stunning tropical jungle.
The location of the house is good. It it a small little pathway in Panestanan , a 15 min. walk from downtown Ubud. Rice paddys are close, also some restaurants and a place were you can get your laundry done. We only had one rooster in the neighborhood which is very good for Bali.
The restaurant next door ( dream cafe) has good food ,although they are sometimes a little bit slow with the service. They are expanding their restaurant and it could be a little bit more noisy in the future.
We had 10 wonderful pieceful days in Pondok Catu and can really recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sha86sha
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed 13 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We stayed at Pondok Catu for just under a week and we could have stayed much longer. The rooms are clean, and comfortable. The pool temperature is just right. The whole Villa has a relaxing feel to it. Lulu the villa cat is so friendly. Kadek is wonderful and was so helpful with anything that we needed. The location is not far from central Ubud, a few minutes drive. We cannot wait to come back here and stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Gardens and pool
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anelesaw
Penrith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Private, luxurious and comfortable villa amidst beautiful location”
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We loved the villa and location. Access was fine for us, a short walk through the back streets and a paddy field. Location was great, we're a little adventurous and loved walking the local area and into Ubud. The standard of accommodation was first class and completely private. Kitchen facilities were very good. The house boy, Kadek, was very helpful and kind. The house cat was an added extra - we're not so fond normally but Lulu was extra entertainment! There is a local laundry which we were grateful for. I highly recommend this stay and would certainly go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam K
Palo Alto, California, United States
1 review
“Perfect Bali escape”
Reviewed 15 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My girlfriend and I loved this place. Ubud, Bali is a great little town to explore and this house was perfect for us. It was great having a pool to cool off in, a kitchen to prepare some meals, and an outdoor shower to soak in.

Located just outside, a 15 minute walk to, downtown Ubud.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded property
Liked least: The bed was a bit stiff for my tastes
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincent H
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Relaxing secret hide away”
Reviewed 14 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We stayed at Pondok Catu for one week from 6 - 13 May. It is a secret little hide away in Penestanan just outside Ubud. Where Ubud has become very touristic with major traffic congestion, Penestanan still has the feel of a village.

Pondok Catu makes you feel at home. It's an ideal place to come home to after exploring Ubud and the region around it. The peaceful garden and good sized swimming pool makes you feel relaxed as soon as you enter the property.

The facilties and amenities are good and satisfactory. We recommend to hire a motorbike to travel to Ubud. In the neighbourhood of the villa there are plenty of local warungs and Alchemy is an ideal place for healthy juices and salads.

Unfortunately there are many villas being build around Pondok Catu and Penestanan in general. We hope that the touristic development similar to Ubud will still take many years from now.

We sincerely enjoyed our stay at Pondok Catu and would certainly recommend it if you are looking for a comfortable place to come home to after being out and about...!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like being at home
Liked least: The 200 meter access road from the main road to get to the villa
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamish12B
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What amazing value for money!”
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

After looking at over-priced villas & costly hotels I found this gem on Air bnb.
It's 100m down a pretty lane in the rice paddies just outside Ubud.
The housekeepers carried our suitcases all the way to the room.
Beautiful walks all round, a great cafe opposite, bakery nearby for croissants & cake in the morning, a supermarket 3 minutes away - the location is just great.
The villa is owned by a gentleman named Peter who was really helpful in arranging everything, as were the housekeeping boys.
The pool is huge, with a gazebo you can swim under if the sun is too hot; all this in a lush, green tropical garden surrounded with giant heliconia & palms.
2 separate living areas meant privacy for both parties when needed.
The bedrooms were large & comfortable, the bathrooms clean & the downstairs open bathroom really lovely. Loads of dvd's to watch, wifi & many basic supplies already in the kitchen.
We really enjoyed our stay. Definitely didn't want to leave. And will certainly be staying there again.
Many thanks to the owners & staff.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing