We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My favourite Villa in Bali!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Harvest Moon

Your Bali holiday begins here
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Your Bali holiday begins here
Private swimming pool and outdoor bale which transforms in to a cozy third bed at night.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Your Bali holiday begins here
Private swimming pool and outdoor bale which transforms in to a cozy third bed at night.
Modern kitchen with garden views and the communal pool.
Deep bathtub surrounded by the fishpond and fountains.
Frangipani flower bath.
Soap holder - detail.
Balcony lounge in the upstairs bedroom.
Harvest Moon as viewed from the communal pool.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ubud, Gianyar, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
LeanneMos...
Panama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“My favourite Villa in Bali!”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I love this place!! I have stayed a couple times now in Desa Bulan in Russ's villas and I cannot begin to describe how beautiful the villa, decor and location are.
If you are planning a relaxed trip to Ubud and want a gorgeous home to enjoy while you are there then look no further than Harvest Moon. Top pick in Bali!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Thanks so much for your kinds words Leanne and we really look forward to seeing you again. You'll be pleased to know that the new feature chair we put upstairs fits in beautifully and I love the new cushions too. Take care and we'll see you again.

Best

Russ
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nims K
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Magical!”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Harvest Moon Villa in Ubud is one gem in a cluster of beautiful villas within one enclosure in Ubud. We were very lucky to get 4 nights there considering the high season. The villa is situated about an hour's drive out of Ubud town. The staff and security that look after this cluster of villas is extremely friendly and very kind. The villa itself is stunning! Extremely tastefully decorated and in keeping with Ubud's holistic vibe. The outdoor shower and toilets are thoroughly high class and the bathtub is to die for! My favourite part was sleeping outside under the stars listening to the chorus of nature's finest. Magical feeling waking up in a bed outside on the verandah. Beautiful peaceful, extremely interesting villa. Loved it! The communal swimming pool was also fun.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sleeping in the open air bedroom
Liked least: very slow wifi, but then who needs wifi in Ubud?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Wonderful to have you stay and I'm so glad you also enjoyed the friendly hospitality of our staff and security.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stylish interior design and architecture, tranquility, friendly staff
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
Thankyou so much and so glad you enjoyed your romantic, tranquil and luxurious holiday! It's such a great place to honeymoon and you're not the first to enjoy such an experience! You're so welcome back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful, spacious, clean home right beside the fields.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Great to have you and the team Imran - couldn't wish for better guests :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christine...
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Oasis in the Rice Padis of Ubud”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I have been to Ubud about a dozen times over the past 15 years, and my travel companions have been even more over the past 35 years. We've watched it become very busy, the traffic heavy, the town has lost it's quiet spots. So we looked outside of Ubud and found this fabulous haven south of town in Lodtunduh. We rented Summer Moon Villa, which isn't this exact one but has 3 bedrooms and 3 baths, a private pool and is right on the rice padi. Very clean, the friendly and happy staff made us very tasty breakfasts every morning and the security cards were super nice and walked us to our villa when we came home after dark. We had a kitchen that we could use any time, which was great. They have teamed up with masseuses (highly recommend!) and a local chef who can come to your villa to give you a cooking class (wish we had done this). A highlight was hearing the village preparing for a ngaben (a cremation ceremony) - the singing and beleganjur music carried so well over the rice fields so we could hear the ceremony in the distance. Very nice, peaceful and beautiful villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the peaceful location in the village, you can experience the real Bali while being not too far from Ubud.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2016
So glad you found this quiet oasis as you're right - Ubud has become a little busier over the years. Luckily we still have a beautiful ocean of peace net to the rice fields. And the staff and the masseuses are fantastic! So glad you enjoyed :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Wow - thankyou so much for your kind words - and glad you slept in the al-fresco bedroom as well - it's such a treat huh!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beccic123
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Stay.”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Harvest Moon for our honeymoon after a crazy weekend in Hong Kong. Little Nyoman picked us up from the Airport and dropped us off, he was great :) (also highly recommended you go out with him for the day around the island!) We ordered food that evening which was great and cheap and delivered for a very reasonable rate.

Its easy enough to head out to get a driver from site manager Nik or the night guards and it costs about £5 return with a tip. Really beautiful villa with fantastic views. I say the next sentence tentatively and this is the reason for the 4 stars instead of 5, but the view over the rice fields is incredible but we discovered upon our arrival a large area in front of the villa with 3ft of rubble on which was a bit unsightly but to make it worse they are planning to build there :( so a heads up before you go to ask them what stage they are in with the building.

The bed was so comfy and the AC in the bottom room was a blessing (there is no AC in the top bedroom which has an open plan feeling with a vaulted roof that lets air in from outside) Bathrooms were amazing with an outside waterfall shower and outside bath. The daybed outside was so good for evening cocktails and star gazing, and the pool in the apartment was soooo good and private.

Lots of lizards and Frogs in the bedroom which we loved but maybe not for the faint hearted! Staff come for breakfast between 8-10am which was sometimes a bit early for us but they make good food, shortly after this they come for clean up, and then turn down about 5pm which i must admit was a bit overwhelming at times but you can't fault the service.

The kitchen was so well stocked and big fridge freezer to stock with food (and a cheeky beer) Ubud is a quiet place and winds down at 11 so many evenings were spent back at the villa.

If we ever came back to Ubud i would definitely consider here again but maybe in one of the other villas with a different view. I would recommend tentatively, just due to the bits mentioned above with the views as i know how good the views were and how much a new villa in front will intrude on this.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool, the sun terrace and the views towards the mountain.
Liked least: The soon to be building site.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
So glad you had a great time! The staff on site are absolutely fantastic - especially Nik the manager and Nyoman our fabulous driver (who has over 23 years of experience I just found out - he knows Everything).

The staff also make an amazing breakfast with fresh coffee and juice.

You'll be glad to know we've put up a small feature wall created by our Dutch designer (she used to work in the high end of the fashion industry so you know it's amazing!). So the whole villa retains its refreshing feel and there are still unobstructed views across the rice fields to the chain of volcanoes in the north-west.

Glad you found the cheeky beer in the fridge too :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing