We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+++ accomodation for when traveling alone”

The Unique Homestay
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Unique Homestay
Ranked #239 of 629 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 October 2013 via mobile

I just visited Ubud for two days to meet up with friends. I stayed in the Unique Homestay. They were staying at Johns Pension; both located in the heart of the city. Both homestays are very good, the difference being that you pay per room in the former, and per person in the latter, thus excellent for when you're backpacking or traveling alone. Personal is great, very helpful and provide you with everything you need, plus breakfast was amazing! Banana pancakes topped with vanilla and chocolate sprinkles, it felt just like my home in holland!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
Thank Mvzb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The first night we had a room at the front of the house, which was extremely noisy. This is because of the location, it is situated in the center of Ubud along a really busy road. This is an advantage, everything is close, but is was too noisy for us. We thought about leaving but I asked if there was another room available and the was one at the back of the house. This was excellent! Both rooms were very good, large, good hot shower and very clean. The staff is very nice, helpfull and kind and so is the owner. The location is very good, close to restaurants and shops. Breakfast was excellent, fruits, coffee and banana pancakes and ommelets. We enjoyed ourselves her. Although I have to be honest, next time I would try a homestay in the ricepaddies for a little more rest! For the price we paid it was rally good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vosdiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

The Unique Homestay was a very good choice in Ubud. It's centrally located and owned by a lovely familiy. Wayan, the homestay owner is extremely helpful and also takes his guests on day trips (for a very reasonable price). We did two days with him and he told us great things and stories about the area, Bali and Indonesia. Thank you for a very nice stay, Wayan!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleBear1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

I planned to stay at the unique home stay for 1 night whilst I look for other accommodation but after spending a night there i decided to ask about long term prices. I spent a month there and would have stayed longer had my circumstances not changed. Wyan (the man who runs the place) was always helpful and made me feel really at home. He always made an effort to involve me in the local culture and even taught me some indonesian.
The rooms were always clean and tidy and the showers never failed to produce hot water.
The location is perfect just a 5 minute walk from monkey forest road, their is a restaurant next door that does excellent food and their is a message parlour out the front that I recommend.
If you struggle to find the place look for a sign for mentari spa (its opposite a circle k)
After a month here I feel like I'm apart of the family and will certainly be returning the next time I visit bali.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Necitha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

You couldn't be any closer to town. Set in behind shops the homestay is a quiet little haven away from the busy Main Road of Ubud - Jalan Raya. It is clean, neat, Balinese and includes breakfast.

There are plenty of dining options within 100 steps and the markets are about 300 metres down the road.

A little gem.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelleinparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: ที่ตั้งดีงาม
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kanja42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Vivian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Bali at Sayan
2.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
1.3 mi away
Maya Ubud Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mandapa, A Ritz-Carlton Reserve
3.3 mi away
Furama Villas & Spa Ubud
1.4 mi away
Villa Beji Indah
Villa Beji Indah
#1 of 4 in Mas
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Unique Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Unique Homestay

Address: Jalan Raya Ubud No 8x, Ubud 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 629 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £11 - £17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your The Unique Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Unique Homestay Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing