We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and your for quite a small budget!!! Can recommend it to everybody.”
Review of Mawa House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mawa House
Ranked #10 of 616 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Best value for money accomodation on my trip. If i go to Ubud again, i will definately stay again!!! Mawa is next to mokey forest. It's only a 5-10 minute walk to the cafes and shops. Rooms are very modern and absolutely clean and looked after very well. The staff is great, always friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumsetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 355 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2014

I had booked last December via agoda and had numerous emails with the hotel reservation on choice of room. Room one ( the detached house) was confirmed.

On arrival,was informed they overbooked and that they could move me to a sister hotel ( chili house just in front which is not at all the same caliber) I refused and called manager. Somehow they now had a room (#3 opposite my desired room lol) which I stayed for one night then had to move to another one (#6 second floor with no view..backing the neighboring hotel) for the rest if my 5 night stay. Reservation system is very poor.
Staff were appolligetic about this, but I had to ask to be compesentated ( theY offered from their lunch menu a free dinner ( about 10$ value)

The ac also malfunctioned on our last 2 days. ( water dripping inside ) I had informed them and it was supposed to be fixed..
Breakfast is good ( the american one is served with one tiny sausage and one slice of bacon and about 3-4 one square inch potato piece.
The staff are on training so expect to ask for your milk... One morning they even forgot the toasts !

As I was checking out early, asked if could have breakfast ofrlier than the start time of 7am. That was like asking for the moon..( wanted for 6:15 or 6;30)
The buttler had to inquire and would get back to me latter to see if this would be possible ( turned out it was)

Overall, the room and hotel itself is very good and good value. The staff are inexperienced, and given the major issue with check in, ac problem and other mishaps, I can't give it more than 3

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leon s, Manager at Mawa House, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greeting from Mawa House Ubud, A Balinese home by Pramana Experience

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Mawa House Ubud.

On behalf of The Management and staff of Mawa House Ubud, please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences experienced during your recent stay with us.

we are taking your comments into high consideration. I have noted your comments ( The Reservation system, AC, Breakfast) and immediately shared with all the team for their awareness, follow up and further action to avoid any occurrence in the future.

Mawa House is owned by local and Managed by Pramana Experience, A Group of young Balinese hospitality management. We commit to help local owner to manage and maintain their businesses. We are employing young , mostly fresh graduated Balinese from the villages and consistently train them to become an expert hospitality worker with genuine Balinese concept.
On other hand We are at the same time doing partnership with Tourism school for the Accommodation familiarization for their students.

Mawa House is A Balinese Home, A home feeling is our main concept while maintaining the full guest privacy, The miscommunication for room request occurred and We Do Apology for the inconvenience, First room Offered was right in front of the room requested, and Has as beautiful view as room 1, However you have chosen to move to the room 6 for the privacy. We are always put the guest on top everything should issue arise,

Again thank you for sharing your experience and the review, because we think would not have been possible for us to get a success without your exceptional cooperation.

On Behalf of all staff and Mawa House family, we look forward to welcoming you back in near future

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

From the moment we entered Mawa House we were in love , with the family, the staff, the location, the beauty and absolute attention to detail that Mawa house offers . This is a small intimate place behind the family homes, it is runs to perfection. The breakfast delicious, our room everything you need for comfort.
If you want to experience a little of Bali life you have the opportunity to participate on some occasions.
The garden beautiful, the staff treat you like you are part of the family and you are special and cared about.
The only thing I did not like was having to leave! Be careful this place is special and cant be booked months in advance, so dont hesitate.

Room Tip: If you want complete privacy , perhaps you need to make a request . There are 2 rooms close by the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jannelle54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Mawa House is confortable stay. Rooms is nice and clean, especially good breakfast at right outside your room on balocony. The great value for money, you get 5 stars service from the staff. I will stay next time

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicegao27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Great value for money at Mawa House! It feels like staying in a 5 star hotel because there are so many attentions and respect for the guests. Rooms are nice, clean, with beautiful bed sheets. Bathroom is excellent too (one of the best shower I had in Bali). Nice and clean swimming pool. Very good breakfast. Friendly and efficient staff. Be careful, this hotel is small and is always full, so make sure you book ahead. Only one bad point: wifi connection was not stable when I was there.

It is located behind the Monkey Forest (so away from the busy and somewhat crowded center) and it is only a 5 min scooter drive or 15 min walk from Monkey Forest road. If you want to go to Ubud main street, allow 30 min walk because Monkey Forest road is long. But the hotel can organise un scooter ride for you.

And if you do not fancy going in Ubud center, there are good restaurants around Mawa House. I recommend just accross the road Chili cafe. And 100 m on the right, Laka Leke restaurant and its waterlilies.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank esmeralda_A187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leon s, Manager at Mawa House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Dear Esmeralda,

Warmest greeting from Mawa House Ubud, A Balinese home,

On behalf of Pramana Experience and Mawa Family, please allow me to express my sincerest Thanks for your Valuable time to post your comment on trip advisor regarding your recent stay at Mawa House.

we were taking your comments into high consideration. I have noted your comments ( The Unstable Wi Fi) and immediately review the connection for follow up and further action to avoid any occurrence in the future. And we had fixed the problem.

Again thank you for sharing your experience and the review, because we think would not have been possible for us to get a success without your exceptional cooperation.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights at Mawa and enjoyed not only beautifully landscaped surroundings and a romantic room, but the kindness of the people who work there. Putu spent time talking with us and answering our many questions about Balinese Hinduism and the ceremonies.

The location was ideal for us as it was a 10 minute walk to Ubud on the edge of Monkey Forest. Bring a flashlight for walking home from dinner. Mawa is located in a quiet neighborhood behind a family compound. It was a magical experience for us!

The breakfast was delicious, especially the Nasi Goreng.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Absolutely lovely hotel!! Everything about it gets 5 stars from me- especially the attention from the staff! Great rooms, super clean, spacious bathrooms, excellent breakfast served right outside your room on the patio/balcony, enjoyed the pool as well at the end of the day- just wonderful!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank worldtraveller201101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
519 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#35 of 199 in Ubud
565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#17 of 199 in Ubud
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 199 in Ubud
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#2 of 616 in Ubud
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawa House

Address: Jl. Nyuh Bojog, Desa Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 616 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £26 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mawa House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawa House situated a minute walk from Ubud Monkey Forest. Setted behind the Balinese family house Mawa House offers an oppotunity to blend with Balinese lifestyle.Located only 10-minute drive from Ubud Art Market and It is a 1.5-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport.Nestled in Nyuh Kuning Heritage Village Mawa House features a garden with outdoor pool is the best place to enrich your balinese holiday Experience consist of 8 deluxe rooms with finest decorate bedroom with mosquito net and standard hotel facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mawa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawa House Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing