We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another World”
Review of Mawa House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mawa House
Ranked #10 of 592 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another World”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We visited Mawa house in March 2014.
We read several reviews on Trip Advisor and we were delighted with our stay.
The room was on the ground floor overlooking the small pool, there was a large queen 4 poster bed and each evening the very discreet staff turned down the bed and put the mosquito netting over the bed and plugged in the coil.
One of the nicest things about our stay was having the breakfast delivered to our terrace at a time of our choice each morning.
We began to realise the staff we were in training from a nearby tourist school and made a few silly mistakes but they were always very friendly and helpful, for example they would forget the milk for the tea most days.
I certainly would recommend this hotel to other travellers which we did whilst in Bali.
It was off the beaten track but not too far away from Ubud town centre.
We took advantage of the hotels scooters which came with crash helmets and hired one for 4 days and visited the volcano, water temple, restaurants and the rice fields at Tegalalang.
Just one piece of advice purchase an international driving permit on line before you travel because the police love to stop you and charge a fine, we are in our 50's and were stopped twice.
We visited some great restaurants , one was within walking distance from Mawa house and did great food smoothies and lassi's, the name was Copper kettle.
One of the restaurants with the nicest setting and authentic organic food was Sari Organic set amongst rice fields on the edge of town, we went on our scooter...a little challenging but well worth it, take a taxi and arrive before sunset, if you are not on a bike there is a short walk through the rice fields.
Overall this hotel is small and friendly set in a Balinese house with the family on site, the only thing that would have been nice was a fridge in the room.
This was the nicest place we stayed in the whole of Bali and we will stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Our room was No 3 close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dovecotedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    56
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
46
208
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Mawa House is lovely! Rooms are clean and nice, gardens are beautiful and the staff is friendly. We prefered the location given that it is just outside of Ubud so you're away from the busy main street, and it is more 'natural' with daily lives happening around Mawa House. A 5 minute walk through the monkey forest gets you right into the middle of Ubud and while very dark at night, perfect safe with a torch.
The only thing is that the local staff are being trained by local tourism company, and I think that they could use a bit more training - specifically, if they don't know the answers to questions, they need to know to ask someone else for the correct answers.
We also organised two full day tours through Mawa House with Mr. Eric who was just great and very very reasonable. We gave Eric a list of things we wanted to see around Bali and he organised perfectly, including a coincidental encounter with a small village ceremony where we were the only tourists!

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms with the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alynaw_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The mawa house is a wonderful, quaint, quiet, relaxing place to stay. The staff are incredibly friendly and attentive. The breakfast was fantastic. The little pool was nice and cool even in the worse heat. There are a few restaurants near but all completely empty all the time....

The house is only a short walk to monkey forest... which is an experience.

The only downside to this place is that you have to walk along a path to get to ubud city centre and it goes through monkey forest. The path is also used by scooters and it is quite narrow. Its fine during the day.. but at night it is not lit and the monkeys will try to grab a flashlight out of your hand, which without you could easily get hit by a scooter. The only way around is by taxi (it would take HOURS to walk around) which are difficult to find at night.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marhar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A really good accommodation: Marwa House has everything you need to enjoy the busy town Ubud. Nice and quiet rooms, delicious breakfast, lovely garden, pool and friendly and helpfull stuff. It's near the town, only a short walk and you are at Monkey Forest Street.

Room Tip: You need in the evening a transport from town, to Marwa because the way through the Monkey Forest is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent 4 days in Mawa House. In short:
PLUS: Rooms are new, spacious, tidy and well maintained. Really good place to relax. Staff is helpful and kind.
MINUS: Kitchen is just average, closes too fast, there are no good restaurants nearby. Location is good, but not perfect for night walks. At night way to Ubud centre is a bit scary and dark.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanAuerbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leon s, Manager at Mawa House, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for Spending your valuable time to post your comment on trip advisor regarding your recent stay at Mawa House.

On behalf of Mawa Family , we would like to express our sincere thanks and we are all pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay ,
Mawa House Is A Balinese Home and We ( The Management) and The family of Mr.Mawa , would do our Best to be able to present the best possible for our guest, Your feedback is much Appreciated by each and every one in the house. We are looking forward to welcoming you back home at Mawa House in the near Future.
Mawa House Is a Small Home stay . And we are trying to be available for dining option, however we are not running a restaurant so, Menus are quite limited to what our kitchen staff able to create , as Some restaurants both Warung ( local Restaurant) or bigger sitting restaurants are available within walking distance.

Thank You and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future at Mawa House.


Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I chose Mawa House as my 9 day base for attending the Bali Spirit festival and from my first steps into the guesthouse grounds was enchanted. Mawa House is impeccably clean the staff are very helpful. I enjoyed my traditional breakfasts, the daily interaction with the family, the privilege of being included in a family ceremony. As I settled in I realised that all my needs for a relaxing holiday could be met locally with lovely spas, restaurants and artisans within short walking distance. There is even an ashram offering yoga just a short walk away. However, Ubud centre, with all its wonderful offerings, is but a short 15 minute walk through the Monkey Forrest. I would love to come back. Thank you Mawa House for helping to make my stay so pleasant.

Room Tip: If you want a charming, clean place to stay, in a quiet location yet close to central Ubud, this is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basia1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Located in a calm area, but close to the center of Ubud, this nice little hotel offers clean and nicely decorated rooms with veranda, spacious bathroom, a small pool in a beautiful garden. Breakfast was ok, maybe a bit small.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annatjie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 196 in Ubud
599 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 196 in Ubud
538 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#54 of 196 in Ubud
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.0 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
0.7 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#2 of 592 in Ubud
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawa House

Property: Mawa House
Address: Jl. Nyuh Bojog, Desa Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 592 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mawa House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawa House situated a minute walk from Ubud Monkey Forest. Setted behind the Balinese family house Mawa House offers an oppotunity to blend with Balinese lifestyle.Located only 10-minute drive from Ubud Art Market and It is a 1.5-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport.Nestled in Nyuh Kuning Heritage Village Mawa House features a garden with outdoor pool is the best place to enrich your balinese holiday Experience consist of 8 deluxe rooms with finest decorate bedroom with mosquito net and standard hotel facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mawa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawa House Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing