We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Mawa House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mawa House
Ranked #11 of 654 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good hotel, friendly staff, nice room although thought all the rooms had outside bathrooms didn't realise there were different rooms. Overall hotel was small and well thought out etc, location was great really near the monkey forest. The only thing that they could improve on was breakfast, you have to order it night before and specify a time however I noticed most days breakfast was late one day they brought us up our tea and coffee then we were waiting 30minutes for the rest and we were in a bit of hurry for a tour, so for the rest of our stay we ended up ordering breakfast a little earlier for it to arrive on time, I think it would be better if they brought all the breakfast up together. Other than that hotel was great.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TulaTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leon s, Manager at Mawa House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear TulaTango,

Warmest greeting from Mawa House Ubud, A Balinese home by Pramana Experience

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Mawa House Ubud.

On behalf of The Management and staff and Family of Mawa House Ubud, please allow me to express My sincerest Appreciation and thanking you for staying with us as well as your valuable comment.

we are taking your comments into high consideration. I have noted your comments ( The Breakfast service) and immediately shared with all the team for their awareness, follow up and further action to avoid any occurrence in the future.

Thank You and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Leon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 363 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here 4 nights and loved my staying very much . Nice room with comfy bed,clean and its easy to go to monkey forest .I had extremely cares from all staff here that made my holiday gone very fast .I will come back and stay here again !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leon s, Manager at Mawa House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greeting from Mawa House Ubud, A Balinese home by Pramana Experience

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Mawa House Ubud.

On behalf of The Management ,staff adn family of Mawa House Ubud, please allow me to express my sincerest Thank for staying with Mawa House Ubud as well as your valueable comment,

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed every seconds of your holiday and your time spent at our simple and genuine Balinese house, we are taking your comments into high consideration. I have noted your comments and immediately shared with all the family and Mawa house team,

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at mawa House in the near future.

Thank You,

Best regards,

leon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We visited Mawa house in March 2014.
We read several reviews on Trip Advisor and we were delighted with our stay.
The room was on the ground floor overlooking the small pool, there was a large queen 4 poster bed and each evening the very discreet staff turned down the bed and put the mosquito netting over the bed and plugged in the coil.
One of the nicest things about our stay was having the breakfast delivered to our terrace at a time of our choice each morning.
We began to realise the staff we were in training from a nearby tourist school and made a few silly mistakes but they were always very friendly and helpful, for example they would forget the milk for the tea most days.
I certainly would recommend this hotel to other travellers which we did whilst in Bali.
It was off the beaten track but not too far away from Ubud town centre.
We took advantage of the hotels scooters which came with crash helmets and hired one for 4 days and visited the volcano, water temple, restaurants and the rice fields at Tegalalang.
Just one piece of advice purchase an international driving permit on line before you travel because the police love to stop you and charge a fine, we are in our 50's and were stopped twice.
We visited some great restaurants , one was within walking distance from Mawa house and did great food smoothies and lassi's, the name was Copper kettle.
One of the restaurants with the nicest setting and authentic organic food was Sari Organic set amongst rice fields on the edge of town, we went on our scooter...a little challenging but well worth it, take a taxi and arrive before sunset, if you are not on a bike there is a short walk through the rice fields.
Overall this hotel is small and friendly set in a Balinese house with the family on site, the only thing that would have been nice was a fridge in the room.
This was the nicest place we stayed in the whole of Bali and we will stay here again next time.

Room Tip: Our room was No 3 close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dovecotedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Mawa House is lovely! Rooms are clean and nice, gardens are beautiful and the staff is friendly. We prefered the location given that it is just outside of Ubud so you're away from the busy main street, and it is more 'natural' with daily lives happening around Mawa House. A 5 minute walk through the monkey forest gets you right into the middle of Ubud and while very dark at night, perfect safe with a torch.
The only thing is that the local staff are being trained by local tourism company, and I think that they could use a bit more training - specifically, if they don't know the answers to questions, they need to know to ask someone else for the correct answers.
We also organised two full day tours through Mawa House with Mr. Eric who was just great and very very reasonable. We gave Eric a list of things we wanted to see around Bali and he organised perfectly, including a coincidental encounter with a small village ceremony where we were the only tourists!

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms with the garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alynaw_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The mawa house is a wonderful, quaint, quiet, relaxing place to stay. The staff are incredibly friendly and attentive. The breakfast was fantastic. The little pool was nice and cool even in the worse heat. There are a few restaurants near but all completely empty all the time....

The house is only a short walk to monkey forest... which is an experience.

The only downside to this place is that you have to walk along a path to get to ubud city centre and it goes through monkey forest. The path is also used by scooters and it is quite narrow. Its fine during the day.. but at night it is not lit and the monkeys will try to grab a flashlight out of your hand, which without you could easily get hit by a scooter. The only way around is by taxi (it would take HOURS to walk around) which are difficult to find at night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marhar17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A really good accommodation: Marwa House has everything you need to enjoy the busy town Ubud. Nice and quiet rooms, delicious breakfast, lovely garden, pool and friendly and helpfull stuff. It's near the town, only a short walk and you are at Monkey Forest Street.

Room Tip: You need in the evening a transport from town, to Marwa because the way through the Monkey Forest is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent 4 days in Mawa House. In short:
PLUS: Rooms are new, spacious, tidy and well maintained. Really good place to relax. Staff is helpful and kind.
MINUS: Kitchen is just average, closes too fast, there are no good restaurants nearby. Location is good, but not perfect for night walks. At night way to Ubud centre is a bit scary and dark.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanAuerbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leon s, Manager at Mawa House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank You for Spending your valuable time to post your comment on trip advisor regarding your recent stay at Mawa House.

On behalf of Mawa Family , we would like to express our sincere thanks and we are all pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay ,
Mawa House Is A Balinese Home and We ( The Management) and The family of Mr.Mawa , would do our Best to be able to present the best possible for our guest, Your feedback is much Appreciated by each and every one in the house. We are looking forward to welcoming you back home at Mawa House in the near Future.
Mawa House Is a Small Home stay . And we are trying to be available for dining option, however we are not running a restaurant so, Menus are quite limited to what our kitchen staff able to create , as Some restaurants both Warung ( local Restaurant) or bigger sitting restaurants are available within walking distance.

Thank You and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future at Mawa House.


Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#50 of 197 in Ubud
546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#2 of 654 in Ubud
225 reviews
1 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Saudara Home
Saudara Home
#4 of 654 in Ubud
268 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#9 of 654 in Ubud
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santana Bali Home Stay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawa House

Address: Jl. Nyuh Bojog, Desa Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 654 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £19 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mawa House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawa House situated a minute walk from Ubud Monkey Forest. Setted behind the Balinese family house Mawa House offers an oppotunity to blend with Balinese lifestyle.Located only 10-minute drive from Ubud Art Market and It is a 1.5-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport.Nestled in Nyuh Kuning Heritage Village Mawa House features a garden with outdoor pool is the best place to enrich your balinese holiday Experience consist of 8 deluxe rooms with finest decorate bedroom with mosquito net and standard hotel facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mawa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawa House Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing