We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!”
Review of Mawa House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mawa House
Ranked #10 of 640 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My Husband and I stayed at Mawa House for 4 nights in May 2014 and will definitely be staying here on a return visit to Ubud.
Mawa House is very quiet and well maintained and has all the charm of authentic Bali with the comfort of mod cons. It is a small hotel with 8 rooms giving it a personal and friendly feel along with the caring, smiling and lovely staff.
The pool is like a little tropical lagoon nestled in between the rooms and so nice for that quick dip to cool off throughout the day.
A short cut through to Monkey Forest Road down the end of the road makes it a good position to central Ubud.
Thank you to Mawa House and all your wonderful staff.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room with our own day bed on the verandah..perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mangojoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 362 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My girlfriend and I were greeted on arrival and shown to our room through the beautiful surroundings. As we were being told about the room and surrounding area we were brought a welcome drink by the very friendly & helpful staff. The room itself and the pool/facilities were fantastic.

Overall we were very pleased with our stay here, and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Ubud.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We were immediately greeted upon arrival and explained to that our room would not be ready until the next day and that we would be staying at a sister property across the street. Our luggage was taken to our room as we were led down the path. The room was wonderful. The next morning we crossed the street and were immediately greeted and taken to a table for breakfast. We explored Ubud for the day and upon our return, our luggage had been moved to our now ready room. The stay across the street was not inconvenient in any way for us. The location of Mawa House was excellent for us, an excellent relaxation base from which to explore. The walk through the path by the Monkey Forest is narrow and has many motorbikes traveling on the path, but is safe to walk, even with the monkeys. The room we had was wonderful with a large balcony. They take your breakfast order the night before and what time you would like your breakfast delivered. Even on nights we were out late, they greeted us on our return for our breakfast order. We were never disturbed by any staff during our visit. If you want complete privacy, the staff will be very accommodating. We spent most of our days away from the room since there is so much to do in Bali. There are some restaurants on the same street that have excellent food and places for massage nearby. Breakfast choices included American with choice of scrambled eggs, omelet, or poached egg with a slice of bacon and a sausage, tomatoes and potatoes with choice of fruit platter or fruit juice, coffee or tea, and toast with butter and jelly, or an indonesian breakfast with fried rice or fried noodles, or a continental breakfast with banana or pineapple pancakes. There is a light lunch menu if you order in advance, but we were never there for lunch time. There are free activities at 2 daily, but we did not get to experience any of those. Every time we returned to Mawa House, we were greeted by family going about daily activities, and any staff we may pass. Everyone was friendly, always with a smile. There is no television in the room (it is not needed because there is so much to do), no refrigerator (not really necessary), no coffeemaker (coffee is served with breakfast). If anyone is surprised that these amenities are not available, then they should research more because they are not listed on the website as being available. We were aware of this before we booked, and thus were not disappointed. The only negative part was the water pressure in our shower. There were 3 rooms in our building and if someone turned on hot water, our water pressure and hot water would decrease, but this is not a dealbreaker for the excellent atmosphere and location. My suggestion to anyone staying at Mawa House is to walk to the center of Ubud instead of taking a taxi. Otherwise, you miss out on everything in between. For seeing other parts of Bali, hire a driver for a day or arrange a day tour through Mawa House.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cedward31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

It is a very nice, quiet and beautifull place. The staff is very friendly, helpfull and speak english very well. It is near Monkey Forest and by pushbike (which we rented there) you are within 10 min.in the centre of Ubud. In the street of Mawa House (right in front of the soccer-/footballfield) is Warung Podjok. It is a little restaurant where you can eat delicious and cheap. We had a very quiet room (deluxe) at Mawa House. Every morning they serve breakfast at you room. Every evening they come ti ask you what you want fir breakfast (choice out of 3 menus). So, we would certainly come back here again. We loved it!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank saska56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We started our Bali trip in Mawa House based on reviews from Trip Advisor....we were so glad we did. I can not find a single fault with this lovely property. The staff were so friendly and attentive without being over the top. They were great with our kids, aged 9 and 11...and, as this was their first trip to Bali (I have been to Bali/Ubud many times in the last 30 years), helped to give them a very positive introduction to Balinese life and culture.
The location is ideal if you want to stay somewhere quiet, with a short walk to the 'big smoke' of Monkey Forest Rd.
The two rooms we took were very well appointed (rooms 6 and 8), much roomier than I expected and we shared the upstairs private balcony. A great choice of rooms if you are travelling with another couple or kids.
I/we will definitely stay at Mawa House when next in Ubud.

Room Tip: Rooms 6 and 8 share a large upstairs private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank LysaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Good hotel, friendly staff, nice room although thought all the rooms had outside bathrooms didn't realise there were different rooms. Overall hotel was small and well thought out etc, location was great really near the monkey forest. The only thing that they could improve on was breakfast, you have to order it night before and specify a time however I noticed most days breakfast was late one day they brought us up our tea and coffee then we were waiting 30minutes for the rest and we were in a bit of hurry for a tour, so for the rest of our stay we ended up ordering breakfast a little earlier for it to arrive on time, I think it would be better if they brought all the breakfast up together. Other than that hotel was great.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TulaTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leon s, Manager at Mawa House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear TulaTango,

Warmest greeting from Mawa House Ubud, A Balinese home by Pramana Experience

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Mawa House Ubud.

On behalf of The Management and staff and Family of Mawa House Ubud, please allow me to express My sincerest Appreciation and thanking you for staying with us as well as your valuable comment.

we are taking your comments into high consideration. I have noted your comments ( The Breakfast service) and immediately shared with all the team for their awareness, follow up and further action to avoid any occurrence in the future.

Thank You and looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

Leon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Stayed here 4 nights and loved my staying very much . Nice room with comfy bed,clean and its easy to go to monkey forest .I had extremely cares from all staff here that made my holiday gone very fast .I will come back and stay here again !

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leon s, Manager at Mawa House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Warmest greeting from Mawa House Ubud, A Balinese home by Pramana Experience

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post your comments on Trip Advisor regarding your recent visit to Mawa House Ubud.

On behalf of The Management ,staff adn family of Mawa House Ubud, please allow me to express my sincerest Thank for staying with Mawa House Ubud as well as your valueable comment,

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed every seconds of your holiday and your time spent at our simple and genuine Balinese house, we are taking your comments into high consideration. I have noted your comments and immediately shared with all the family and Mawa house team,

We are looking forward to welcoming you back at mawa House in the near future.

Thank You,

Best regards,

leon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#50 of 199 in Ubud
539 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 199 in Ubud
358 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#2 of 640 in Ubud
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Sama's Cottages and Villas
7.5 mi away
Saudara Home
Saudara Home
#3 of 640 in Ubud
266 reviews
1.3 mi away
Suparsa's Home Stay
Suparsa's Home Stay
#9 of 640 in Ubud
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawa House

Address: Jl. Nyuh Bojog, Desa Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 640 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £24 - £39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mawa House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawa House situated a minute walk from Ubud Monkey Forest. Setted behind the Balinese family house Mawa House offers an oppotunity to blend with Balinese lifestyle.Located only 10-minute drive from Ubud Art Market and It is a 1.5-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport.Nestled in Nyuh Kuning Heritage Village Mawa House features a garden with outdoor pool is the best place to enrich your balinese holiday Experience consist of 8 deluxe rooms with finest decorate bedroom with mosquito net and standard hotel facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mawa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawa House Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing