We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”
Review of Mawa House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mawa House
Ranked #10 of 603 Ubud B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Excellent, cheap, kind people, familiar, not far from Ubud. We both loved this place and we reommend it. They bring breakfast to bed. The swimming pool is great and quiet. 10 minutes walking far from UBUD center.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Benjamin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (349)
There are newer reviews for Mawa House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

126 - 132 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

I spent three night at Mawa House. I got a warm welcome and felt in love with this place! It's a bit further from the market but that's why provides a quiet and very relax environment. I would love to recommend it to who visits Ubud.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vickyeast_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Excellent service, lovely pool area, delicious breakfast, perfect location in Ubud, close to shopping dining and monkey forest. Quiet, peaceful stay with beautiful plant and flower gardens. Will defiantly stay at the Mawa House again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kachandler85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had an amazing stay at Mawahouse which is very close to the monkey forest, and many close restaurants. it's about 20 minutes walk from the market.

The stuff are amazing, very friendly. The breakfast is really delicious.

Although there was a misunderstanding in one of the trips I took, but they (specially Eric) were very helpful and they drove me to the location I requested (which was not part of the package in the tour). All they care is making the tourist happy and satisfied. I'm more than happy and satisfied.

Room Tip: Choose the room next to the pool on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VaskenD83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I stayed at Mawa House with my boyfriend in June 2014. It is an absolutely lovely hotel and is very reasonably priced. It is clean and the staff were so pleasant and helpful. The hotel is situated a stones throw from the Monkey Forrest in Ubud and only a short walk from the town centre, no more than ten minutes if walking at a medium pace. This involves cutting through a narrow path which is also used by mopeds, but there is enough room and the bikers drive carefully so there is nothing to worry about. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting to Ubud. Suksma!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NHTRON02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

absolutely amazing place to stay!! very clean, quiet, nice little walk to the city centre. highly recommended. hidden paradise, super friendly people. I spent 2 weeks here and i really wanna go back. love it. thank you for your hospitality maw a house.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen_sidorkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This place is great. It is clean and new, and the staff could not be nicer or more accommodating. We really enjoyed it and would recommend it to friends. I would note, though, that it is a decent walk away from the center of Ubud, though, and that walk can be tense. The most direct way to town is on a narrow path that takes you around the edge of the monkey forest. Though it is a walking path, it is frequently used by motor bikes. During the day it isn't much of a problem, but at night it is pitch black. You can never tell if the motorbikes see you until they are right on top of you. Also, Mawa House is not as well known as some of the other guest houses with cabs and touring companies, so sometimes arranging to be picked up was difficult.
With all of that said, we had a great time there. My girlfriend and I stayed here in late May, a little after high season. The rooms were great. Everything looked new and was kept very clean. The courtyard pool was as charming to look at as it was refreshing in the afternoon. The staff was incredibly friendly. They gave us great advice and booked us for a cooking class that we really enjoyed. Breakfast was included, and it was delicious. We sampled the nasi goreng and mie goreng, and they were fabulous as well. Our courtyard porch was charming.
Mawa hous is on the quiet side. There isn't a lot to do in the premises after dark. That suited us fine, but if you are looking for a rowdier holiday, I might look at a place closer in to Ubud.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MeAndTheMajor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.5 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#57 of 199 in Ubud
614 reviews
1.1 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#31 of 199 in Ubud
551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Ketut's Place
Ketut's Place
#53 of 199 in Ubud
511 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#17 of 199 in Ubud
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jati Cottages
Jati Cottages
#3 of 603 in Ubud
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawa House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawa House

Address: Jl. Nyuh Bojog, Desa Nyuh Kuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 603 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £27 - £44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mawa House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawa House situated a minute walk from Ubud Monkey Forest. Setted behind the Balinese family house Mawa House offers an oppotunity to blend with Balinese lifestyle.Located only 10-minute drive from Ubud Art Market and It is a 1.5-hour drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport.Nestled in Nyuh Kuning Heritage Village Mawa House features a garden with outdoor pool is the best place to enrich your balinese holiday Experience consist of 8 deluxe rooms with finest decorate bedroom with mosquito net and standard hotel facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mawa House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mawa House Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing