We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Shamballa is truly my home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
65 reviews
Ensuite with a jungle valley view
Cocktail by the pool
Long lunch by the pool
Welcome fresh tropical flowers
The villa at dusk
Ensuite bathroom with flower bath
Welcome juice
Personal and friendly service
Complimentary daily afternoon tea by the pool
Main bathroom with flower bath
Tastefully furnished cozy lounge with views
Balinese feast cooked by villa chef
Upstairs bedroom and living with a view
Luxurious comfort
Sunrise across the valley
Hindu temple at the villa
Warm hospitality
Lounge area for relaxing and entertainments
Daily turn-down service
Secluded tropical home for a couple
Welcome to Shamballa Residence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jkoltun
New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Shamballa is truly my home”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is my third time to Bali and the third time i have stayed at either Villa Shamballa or Shamballa Residence. There is a reason why I keep staying in the same place every time I come to Bali. I stay there because it feels like home for me, not only are the villa's stunning in every way, the decor, the location, the food but it's the staff, IIluh, Dewa, Kadek, Minnie, Oolong, Wayan & Wayan. I feel like they are my family too and you will feel the same if you stay here as well. The owners of Shamballa, Wendy and Atsu have been coming to Bali for years so they truly know what they are doing when it comes to making you feel special in every way. If you want to experience the magic of Bali then you need to stay here because you will never want to leave. Suksma!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the villa and the staff
Liked least: I couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren G
1 review
“WOW WOW WOW”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Where do I start. Shamballa residence is simply amazing. Nothing is too much bother for Kadek and her team and when we left we genuinely felt like we were waving goodbye to our new bali family.

The food is out of this world good, the massages by the pool are just the best, and as soon as you walk into the villa you feel instantly relaxed.

The only thing we would recommend is maybe taking some ear plugs for if you are a light sleeper. As the upstairs bedroom is completely open to the elements you do get the typical jungle noise (birds, insects, roosters etc). But we slept with ear plugs in every night and had no bother what so ever. The bed is so comfy we actually had great sleep there.

Our only regret was not staying long enough! But we are already planning our next trip and cant wait to get back to shamballa residence :)

Thank you so much for making our last 4 days of our honeymoon so memorable.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the amazing villa & customer service from staff
Liked least: nothing - loved everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen H
2 reviews
“Beautiful Balinese hideaway, Ubud”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Villa was gorgeous, beautiful and relaxing interior and very private outdoor setting. The staff were amazing, so helpful and courteous and really added to the enjoyment of our stay. Their eat-in balinese cuisine was delicious, we enjoyed it so much that we had the same meal a couple of times! Got a cooking lesson and learnt how to make some of those delicacies. We had a lovely stay and would consider going back.
If there was anything that could be improved it would be a suggestion of a small bar fridge in the main bedroom to allow for storage of cold drinks and small items that we bought locally. There is a fridge in the main kitchen where the staff work but would prefer independence of not having to ask for small things!
One issue we were not prepared for is the sound of the occasional ceremonies around the villa at night (we were there for a week). The ceremonies are a fantastic addition of colour and sound to the experience of Bali, however there is the downside of the noise that penetrates the valley; loudspeaker chanting and drums/cymbals can go late into the night and did disturb some sleep. Would recommend taking earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
There are some fabulous local area restaurants/warungs within walking distance, would really recommend trying them out. Also some very cool genuine antique stores on main street that is just off road to villa.
Just want to say thankyou to Kadek, Mini, Wayan and Gusti for being so welcoming and value-adding to our stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jazstar77
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Just like the photos depict. Its a beautiful place that makes you feel like you're living in a tree house. All we needed was a bar fridge for our own convenience and we would have been overjoyed. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Would love to go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkJCC
Hobart
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Villa”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Spending three nights at Shamballa Residence was a very laid back and relaxing experience. The villa is just beautiful, well appointed and huge! The open plan layout and outdoor living fell both upstairs & downstairs suited us to a tee. You will be spoilt for choice in where to lounge around.

The staff are great and the food delicious, the breakfast porridge is not to be missed.

The is a little traffic noise from the road from the road that winds down the valley but this is soon forgotten is such a beautiful villa and setting. Well worth it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G
Daylesford, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This place in simply unbelievable! I think we have been ruined for life as we will now compare all holiday accommodation to this place. The sheer scale of this residence is just immense for two people and the total seclusion was just what we needed. The fact that this residence is totally open to nature was also a huge win for us.
The only thing potential guests should be aware of is the traffic noise from the valley below which is certainly not intrusive but can be heard. To put this in perspective though it is Bali you are visiting so traffic noise is part of the package really. This in no way detracted from a great nights sleep but I suppose if you are a very light sleeper then it might be something to consider.
All in All it will take a pretty special holiday rental to beat Shamballa Residence and I would highly recommend it for a romantic getaway.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George R
Miri, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not always the Tranquil Haven?”
Reviewed 18 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Do not confuse our villa with next door, which is Shambala Moon, and much smaller. There is a significant difference though, and that is sliding doors in the Moon, which allows you to isolate the bedroom from the incessant noise from the ravine road below.

Shambala Villa is different, and totally open to the outside world, which is nice, but not so nice if you want to sleep at night?
The villa is less than 50m from the ravine road, which means cars and bikes must toot there horns as they navigate the tight bends, and accelerate up the hill. This noise is all encompassing, starting at 05:00, and subsides around 02:00 the next day, which detracts from the experience of being open to the flora, fauna @ wildlife.
It is a lovely villa, and location, but the lack of restful sleep over 5 x nights means we leave less than spiritually happy, and not so tranquil inside?
The management company were helpful, and tried to ease the pain with a $300 discount, and tried to find alternative accommodation, so no fault from them. We were exhausted on arrival, purchased ear plugs and decided to stay.
In conclusion, if you are a person who can sleep anywhere this is for you, but if a light sleeper
then I suggest next door where a restful sleep maybe possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The standard of the villa.
Liked least: The incessant road noise.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing