We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exceptional”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
93 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Ubud, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 93 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chinese (Simplified) first
Danish first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
rippermai...
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We were fortunate enough to stay at Villa Kelusa for 14 nights in October. The pictures on the website do not convey how magical the place really is - 25mins outside of Ubud, and truly in a class of it's own. The views are spectacular, the team incredibly attentive and the atmosphere just what we were after for a very special family holiday.

Wow! What an amazing time we all had:

- 2 adults, 2 kids (5 and 2 years old)
- 2 weeks in paradise
- 2 special birthdays and an anniversary
- the best villa experience ever

Thanks to Wayan and the whole team for making our stay such a memorable one - from the moment we arrived at the villa, we felt welcome and at home in our little slice of paradise.

Arriving in darkness and waking to what has to be on of the best views on Bali, surrounded by rice fields, jungle and distant volcanoes is quite spectacular in itself, but the exceptional service is what made our stay unforgettable:

Ayu, Putu and Made cooked up a storm in the kitchen (don't miss the ayam taliwang and dadar gulung, plus the breakfast pancakes!), including a very special surprise celebratory feast and did an amazing job ensuring everything was just perfect. Made took us on a picturesque walk through the surrounding rice paddies and kept the villa gardens immaculate. Nyoman kept us all safe at night, and was very patient with our boys, who were slightly obsessed with his torch!). Puu the dog, plus Ginger and Karma the cats, were constant companions.

Wayan was absolutely amazing and our holiday would not have been the same without him. He was the perfect host - available when needed, but also great behind the scenes ensuring everything went smoothly (including an amazing combined birthday/anniversary dinner and luxurious flower petal bath in the giant tub in our room). We cannot thank him enough for going the extra mile to ensure our stay was perfect.

We were also fortunate to have an amazing babysitter (Narie) come for a few hours each day so my husband and I could either head out for dinner in Ubud or go out in the afternoon for massages, yoga, etc. organised by Wayan, she was fabulous with our boys.

We hope to return to Villa Kelusa one day. In the words of our 5 year old (who cried for close to an hour on the way to the airport after we left our new friends), it was the "best holiday ever". I couldn't say I thought better myself.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2016
Dear Megan,
Thank you very much for choosing Villa Kelusa and Thank you very much for staying with us. That has been our responsibility to make sure that your stay is flawless and unforgettable so you will not forget about us.

best regards
Villa Kelusa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrissyCa...
1 review
“Ms.”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Very nice villar with amazing view. Everything was perfect the services provided by the crew were great.

We enjoyed our stay a lot at the villar.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
Dear Our Guests,

Thank you for writing this review for us, we thank you also for choosing the villa as your accommodation during your vacation in Ubud - Bali. We will definitely keep doing our best to make our guests feel satisfied and leave the villa with unforgettable experiences.

Thank You
Best Regards
Villa Kelusa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“There's a reason why this place has 5 stars”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Because it's amazing!

Wayan and the staff were so accommodating to every need we had. I've stayed at Villa Kelusa on 3 separate occasions and every time they have hit a home run! Wayan has helped us with so many things even outside of staying at the villa and we love him!

The chef is fantastic and I left Bali sad that I had come back to garbage food in the USA. She can do all vegan and gluten free and still leave your taste buds watering.

All of the taxi drivers they have are awesome. But I have to point out one in particular. Made Lanus is a saint and the nicest, coolest guy in Bali. He knows where everything is, is always polite, funny, and will never miss a second when picking/dropping you off.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Dear Our Guests,

Thank you very much for the time to write this review, we always do our best to make our guests feel comfortable, happy and relaxed during their stay at the villa. We are happy if you feel happy and enjoy your stay at our villa.

Thank You
Best Regards
Wayan and Villa Kelusa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DayNa D
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Truly a magical place!”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Kelusa is truly one of the most magical and unique private villas near Ubud. My husband and I and our 2 children (8 & 9 yrs old) stayed for 5 weeks and fell in love with the villa, the surrounding village and the staff.

From the day we arrived, we had a very warm welcoming from the staff and they continued to take amazing care of us throughout our stay. The house manager, Wayan, who speaks incredible English was immensely accommodating in helping us book everything from private yoga classes, to massages to even helping us extend our visas in Denpasar. From educating us about the culture and the people of Bali to finding unique excursions for us to experience, the trip to Bali wouldn’t have been the same without his involvement and generosity. Sang Ayu, our cook, has the most beautiful smile and is an incredible cook. We requested gluten and dairy free and our kids fell in love with her gluten/dairy-free banana pancakes. My favorite was her vegetable curry.

The architecture is contemporary, clean but warm, lush and inviting. With an amazing view of the jungle and rice fields, Villa Kelusa truly feels like a sanctuary. The 2 pools are breath-taking and the living spaces provide ample space to find serenity among the 4 different complexes. Most importantly, the beds were cozy and very clean.

The perfect choice for a relaxing stay in the Ubud area. Villa Kelusa is a truly a gem!

Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Dear Our Guests,

Thank you very much for choosing our villa for the accommodation during your trip to Ubud Bali. We always do our best to make your stay and trip to Ubud the most unforgettable and memorable one. Thank you very much.

Best Regards
Wayan and Villa Kelusa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcin S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I had a pleasure of staying at this place twice this year and there is a reason for that... By far it is the best overall villa that I have ever experienced. The location is far enough from the rush of Ubud but close enough for night escaped. The location is absolutely peaceful and serene. And the staff is the very best! Everyone is extremely nice and accomedating! The house menager speaks perfect English and is ready to fulfill all kinds of requests. The food is amazing too with many vegetarian and vegan options! I highly recommend it!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
Dear Marcin,

Thank you, we feel happy to serve you the best and we are grateful to you for choosing this villa as your accommodation during your vacation in Ubud Bali.

Thank you
Best Regards
Villa Kelusa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill Q
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Special”
Reviewed 3 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Everything about Villa Kelusa makes it special. The location north of Ubud is otherworldly. The views of rice terraces and the jungle are surreal. Both homes are spectacular, artfully designed and beautifully fitted out. The property is big enough for large groups, but is designed to feel exclusive and intimate for smaller groups too.

Being located in the village of Kelusa added so much to our stay. We got to see first hand what village life is like in Bali. Kadek and Made took us to see their family compounds. This was made all the more special because Kelusa was preparing for a cremation ceremony in July. The willingness of the people in the village to share their homes and their traditions really touched us.

On another day, Wayan, the house manager took us to the local daily market and followed that up with a nice trek through the rice fields accompanied by Made.

Both of these trips from the villa were high points of our trip to Bali.

The staff is amazing. I can't imagine being looked after any better. They made our brief entry into Balinese life very special.

Suksma!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2016
Dear Our Guests,

Thank you for spending your time to write this review, we are very happy if you enjoy your stay at Villa Kelusa. Thank you also for staying with us and choosing Villa Kelusa. We hope to see you again.

best regards
Villa Kelusa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TvWParis
Tokyo, Japan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a very nice stay at Villa Kelusa. Beautiful surroundings, excellent food and very good service from Wayan, the on-site manager. Highly recommendable!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Dear Our Guests,

The best services and facilities are those that we offer to you ensuring you will have the most unforgettable stay at the villa. All of us (the staff and the team) will do the best to keep it that way. Besides, we are also very grateful to you for spending the time to write this review and also for choosing this villa as your accommodation during your visit to Bali.

thank you
best regards
Villa Kelusa Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing