We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Pertiwi Resort & Spa
Ranked #135 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Pros:
This is good value for the amount I paid for a weekend holiday stay. Rooms are clean and spacious, and very suitable for family staty. The hotel is located at the heart of Ubud (Jalan Monkey Forest), which is convenient for people who likes to walk around.

Cons:
They could certainly improve on the security there. The rooms have no metal latch, except for an old wooden door latch which looks quite flimsy. There are no security guards at the main entrance at night, although there is a hotel staff seated at the reception counter. Combined with the flimsy wooden latch, I would put my something heavy against the door for "extra" protection.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoonLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (701)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 364 of 701 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

Where to start? The sloppy reception? The "I-dont-give a damn" service? The dirty rooms? The fact that I had to supply them with a rooming list of my group 3 times? The toliet that leaked and smelt like sewerage? No- I will start and end by saying that I booked 10 rooms for a group and most were dark, dingy and smelly and as this was the end of our trip, it meant we didnt end on a high that's for sure. AVOID!

Room Tip: Dont stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank imaginelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2011

OK, I admit it, initially I was going to write a worse review, actually cancelled one, but Pertiwi has redeemed itself today: on return the room was spotless.This was the cause of my gripes with them because for the first two nights of our 4 night stay, housekeeping was incredibly sloppy: the room was scarcely cleaned, sheets just straightened and the floor and the bathroom left dirty. This only changed after vehement protests from our side, which seemed to have worked.
We had a 'deluxe room', which is quite dated, no problem as such, if they come and clean properly. The wooden ceilings shower some debris onto the room, and without cleaning, its a bit of a nightmare. The rooms themselves are very spacious, on beautifully landscaped, vast grounds and it is very peaceful and quiet. The location of the hotel is great, right in the centre of Ubud.
The breakfast is really poor as well, not surprising, because it is only 6.00 USD for patrons who are not Pertiwi guests. They should do better than that, even if they have to charge a bit more. Would we be back?: maybe for the location, but for the same money, better places are on offer.
PS: Please Pertiwi management, do not respond with one of your silly cut and paste letters, that you have used on other reviews, this just reflects that you don't take the concerns of your patrons seriously

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank amadeusm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed in the hotel with my fiance for our anniversary last May.
The hotel was located very close to Ubud attractions, monkey forest and restaurants. It has a beautiful landscape and very peaceful at night. Great place for relaxing.
The only minor is that we got the old rooms on the back building, we notice that this property is renovating some of their rooms in the front part of the hotel and renewing it looks. Hopefully they will continue with the whole rooms.
Breakfast was okay and staffs are nice. Nothing is outstanding but not to be complain about.

Room Tip: As I mention on my review, the front part of the hotel are renovated, better ask for the rooms in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fishy_Fay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My wife and I stayed in Pertiwi resort during our Ubud trip in December 2010. We stayed in a spacious villa. Place was safe and next to multiple eateries. It was easy getting transport but always bargain!

It also served as a good starting point for our trips to rafting and overnight hiking at one of the volcanoes. Don't miss the Babi Guling and Naughty Nuri's ribs.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DrJohnWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at the Pertiwi for 1 night and it was worth every penny. The villa was beautiful although there is an opening in the bathroom which worried one of our party who was particularly sensitive to mosquito bites. But all in all it was lovely. We had room service which was very good and the breakfast area for the villa was just lovely. We had our own small private pool and, although in the centre of Ubud it was very quiet at night. We would certainly return there. Alol the staff were very child friendly and they negotiated a price for us which was great. Beautiful setting and a little electric 'car' to take you to your villa.

Room Tip: Negotiate. They came down $40 dollars from the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cicigregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2011

Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

we prebooked for 4 nights at this resort .the room we booked was listed as deluxe .In actuality it was a very standar room .Adequate with the facilities available but unclean in parts , especially the bathroom .On two occasions i complained about the room and asked to see the manager .He did not respond to my request .I spoke to an assistant about seeking an upgrade and he got quite agitated while explaining that we had already been upgraded at no cost when the resort had given us an eighty dollar extra superior room .
this was not correct and i walked away in frustration.
however the worst feature of this place was the breakfast . we had prepaid for a full american breakfast .what was available was dreadful. the small amount of bacon was totally cold and impossible to chew . there were no eggs or other meat type dishes at all and no toast most days .any other hot dishes werecold ,soggy and inedible.We are not demanding people but expect better than this when we pay up our hard earned cash for a trip .
we suggest you avoid this resort . there are many other little places to stay at in ubud at half the price that are much superior . arrive at ubud and check things out before you book .

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jackmorrisNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budhiwijaya, General Manager at Pertiwi Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Valued Guests,

Warmest greetings from Pertiwi Resort & Spa, Ubud - Experience Tranquility of Mother Earth !

First of all, kindly allow us to respond by given a lots of thank you to have an experience with us and your comments and recommendations to our hotel always become a great encouragement for us to move ahead in order to improve our services to all our guests.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments and delighted to welcoming you back at Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud.

Its talk about relax, rejuvenate and retreat ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma 2
Pertiwi Bisma 2
#102 of 199 in Ubud
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pertiwi Bisma
Pertiwi Bisma
#106 of 199 in Ubud
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Yulia Village Inn
Yulia Village Inn
#100 of 199 in Ubud
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Evitel Resort Ubud
The Evitel Resort Ubud
#109 of 199 in Ubud
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
Champlung Sari Hotel
Champlung Sari Hotel
#96 of 199 in Ubud
771 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ubud Bungalow
Ubud Bungalow
#59 of 199 in Ubud
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pertiwi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pertiwi Resort & Spa

Address: Monkey Forest St., Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#107 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £27 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pertiwi Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pertiwi mean Mother Earth, is an exotic name well known in the heartland of Ubud, a perfect retreat for those who appreciate informality and total privacy but want to be close to Ubud's tourist's interests and cultural centre. Considering the central but quiet location, the space and facilities are set in compound greenery tropical landscape with two swimming pools and proximity to either Monkey forest and Ubud's King Palace, just a door step to find many tourist activities, shops are right on the main road in front of the resort a few minute walk to the museums and rice field, represents outstanding value offer not just an accommodation but unforgettable experience to recharge your energy. New Renovated Villas, with its simplistic design covered by alang-alang roof, long glass window and bamboo hand-woven ceiling are reflecting its Balinese stylish combined with modern touch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Splitty, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Pertiwi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pertiwi Resort And Spa
Pertiwi Resort Ubud
Pertiwi Hotel Ubud
Pertiwi Resort & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing