We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Onje Resort and Villas
Ranked #69 of 571 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simply beautiful”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I wish I could give more than 5 star rating. This place definitely surpassed all our expectations, beautiful Villas, super clean and very tastefully decorated, amazing swimming pool over looking vast rice paddies, it is serene and simply beautiful. Traveled with my wife and a 4 year old child all the way from New York, and was a bit skeptical at the beginning by Onje's distance from Ubud city center, but that turned out to be a no issue, their hourly shuttle service (which by the way is more like a private personal car, not a large bus with lots of other people in it) was pretty much at our service at any time. They would even come and pick us up from anywhere in the city if we called ahead and gave address for small charge to our room, this was fantastic since there are no established transportation services (registered taxis) in Ubud, so you'll typically have to pick (what we call in New York) a gypsy cab from any street corner (guys holding a taxi sign and hustle the tourists), and negotiate the price with them. The staff at Onje were beyond nice and accommodating, it was so pleasant to wake up every morning and be greeted by everyone from the gardeners, cleaning / restaurant staff to the reception, and our fantastic driver / tour coordinator (Nopa) was exceptional, he would go out of his way to help in any shape or form, from arranging great day trips full of adventures and pleasant encounters (local foods, arts, etc.) to make arrangements for our upcoming trips (air tickets to different cities, etc.), and made our trip a very memorable one. We feel like we have new family in Ubud, and hope to come back to it soon again. The food at Onje by the way was amazing, not a buffet breakfast, but a small menu with amazing stuff in it, and they would make changes to it as we requested, Indonesian noodle with an over easy egg on top was my favorite, amazing fresh fruits and juices were part of the daily ordeal. Breakfast wasn't the only good meal there, dinner / room service was also very exceptional, the chef (Sam) was also very sweet, he gave us some recipes of his Balinese favorites.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any of the villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amir226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    51
    16
    2
    4
See reviews for
49
62
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

You certainly get what you pay for at onje... perfection! Absolutely loved our stay here from the personalised greeting, lovely healthy breakfast, swimming in the infinity pool overlooking the rice fields, wonderful massages, attentive staff, free shuttle into town... Nothing was too much to ask for and the whole place is practically new with quality furnishings. Would recommend eating dinner in ubud town, much cheaper and more choice, tuk tuk back to onje was around 50-70,000. Overall we highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank enquirers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

enough said. this was absolutely perfect. The staff, the villas, the view. AMAZING! a little out of the way, but exactly what we wanted. nothing was too much to ask for, stayed for 3 nights and then moved to seminyak. wish we'd stayed the entire time!!!

Room Tip: pool villa hands down!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marina_santos2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This is a really nice resort! Located only 10 min out of central Ubud in one of the local villages where you can take a stroll, enjoy a beautiful scenery and meet some friendly locals.
Our villa was clean and roomy, with big bathroom and our own courtyard. There is a good breakfast choice and staff goes out of their way to make you feel comfy. Hotel provides free shuttle to Ubud whenever you need it, even though sometimes I would gladly avoid hustle and bustle of the Ubud centre and rather sunbathe next to the nice pool, overlooking rice fields.
However, credit goes to the friendly staff, they really made our stay wonderful and we would happily come back to Onje Villas.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maja011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We came across Onje almost by accident after a booking at another hotel in Ubud proved unsatisfactory. What a wonderful hotel. It is almost brand new, delightfully located about 15 minutes outside the town, set in rice paddies. We spent 4 nights there in a villa with private pool. The staff could not have been kinder or more efficient. They dealt with every request with smiles and speed. The property is small but immaculate, lovely grounds, and beautiful lighting made the evenings magical. The villa was generously sized, comfortable and immaculately clean. We eat in the hotel on two evenings, dinner was brought to our room. The menu is relatively small but choice was good and the food was delicious and beautifully presented. The hotel runs a daytime shuttle into the town but taxis there and back in the evening were easy to arrange and not expensive. We could not fault it and our stay was just wonderful.... we would happily go back if we have the chance to visit Bali again

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mcgs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This resort is brand new,get in quick before the flock find out about it! We had an enjoyable stay the first time and then retuned a few days later after the resort in central Ubud was too rowdy. The resort is only about 10 minutes out of central Ubud and yet in a rural location,where we were able to experience some of the local village culture .Some of the scenery in the surrounding rice fields is truly spectacular .As the sun went down we took the resorts brand new bicycles for a 40 minute ride through a couple of villages and through some of the more scenic paddy fields To be found in and around the Ubud area.The rooms are well appointed with lovely views to the surrounding rice fields.The beds are extremely comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. We had breakfast in our room which was a treat and were able to experience some excellent restaurants and art galleries within the central ubud area compliments to the free resort shuttle service ,thanks for making our stay so enjoyable .

Room Tip: We chose the upstairs rooms which had nice views over the countryside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 731Trav10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.7 mi away
Inang Ubud Villa
Inang Ubud Villa
#3 of 571 in Ubud
160 reviews
4.2 mi away
Villa Arya Ubud
Villa Arya Ubud
#77 of 571 in Ubud
128 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ubud Dedari Villas
Ubud Dedari Villas
#37 of 571 in Ubud
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Mandala Desa
Mandala Desa
#16 of 571 in Ubud
281 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Puri Darma Agung
Villa Puri Darma Agung
#87 of 571 in Ubud
82 reviews
5.5 mi away
Anulekha Resort  and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onje Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onje Resort and Villas

Property: Onje Resort and Villas
Address: Br. Umahanyar, Pejeng Kaja, Ubud 80552, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 571 Speciality Lodging in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Onje Resort and Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Onje Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onje Resort And Villas Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing