We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Amazing Stay”
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #52 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most Amazing Stay”
Reviewed 9 May 2011

If you are visiting Bali you need to stay at Alam Jiwa in Ubud. Our room was more than I could have asked for with it's private deck overlooking the rice fields, indoor/outdoor bathroom w/ orchids on the walls, our own little river, amazing gardens, etc...

The staff are also incredibly nice. Truly a slice of paradise.

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank jtopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    80
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
161
247
24
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2011

My fiance and I stayed here for 4 nights and it was probably the best place we've ever stayed. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. We woke up to the sunrise over the rice fields each morning and enjoyed breakfast on our patio. The food was phenomenal. The pool was very nice and they provided beach towels. Internet use was free as was breakfast and afternoon tea AND a shuttle into town. The shuttle was like our own private car that would take us wherever we wanted to go in town and would pick us up. The service really does deserve 10 stars. We also used their spa which is just down the street and it was fantastic as well. We would definitely recommend Alam Jiwa to anyone from couples to families to groups of friends travelling together. They have a selection of villas that are different sizes. They have also undergone some renovations and are continuing room renovations this year to update their facilities. We got to see an updated room and they are lovely. For example, our room did not yet have a standup shower but this will be changed by November 2011. We stayed in Ganesha room.

Rooms were already being booked for December so book early! They do get cancellations because people will block rooms in advance and then cancel last minute so you can go on a waiting list.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taiwantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Stay here in April 2011. The villas are clean and traditional and service from staff was flawless. They are not intrusive but always available to help quickly.

Stayed in the Galatik room which was clean, great balcony and spacious bedroom and bathroom.

Hotel is about 15 minute walk through the Monkey Forest to Ubud centre (Which is busy and noisy in my opinion). Make the most of the in room breakfast and pool side peace before using the free shuttle to town at night for a meal.

Will definitely book again!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2011

After looking at the Alam Jiwa website I was determined to stay here and was lucky to get the last room for the first week of April. We stated in Ganesha with a breathtakig view over the rice-fields. The room was even better than the wonderful photos on the website as it was spacious with a beautiful open-air bathroom. Lying in the bath with a view of the trees and kingfishers overhead was truly tropical. We had an extra bed in the room for my older son and the main bed was big enough for us and our toddler.
Possibly the best experiences were the breakfast served on our large terrace each morning and the complimentary afternoon tea and cake by the pool. My kids were thrilled by this!
There were so many highlights...a short stroll down the lane to the village was charming with locals playing football on the green, other visitng the temple; then the walk to Laka Leke restaurant or being served dinner from one of the local restaurants to our room; early morning walks in the rice fields...and falling in!
Our room had no air-con which was fine mostly due to the fans and cooler season but at night with the doors closed it was a little warm due to very thick mosquito nets. We would probably aim for a room with air-con next time.
Overall we loved Alam Jiwa and for a mere 95 dollars a night it was excellent value, compared to the higher prices we paid for far less by the beach. The staff are helpful and friendly and left us with a very positive impression of Balinese culture.

Room Tip: Look on the website and book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elisabeth67_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2011

Alam Jiwa was amazing and beautiful. The people were so nice, friendly and ever so helpful in everything. Never a frown, they smile all the time :)

We were given fresh juice and cake at the reception upon arrival. There was a fruit basket in the room - mangosteen, rambutan, mango.

We stayed at Ganesa room, which was huge, comfy and clean. The view was breath taking - surrounded by paddy fields and greeneries. There was a day bed on the veranda, just outside our main door. We loved sitting there and just hanging out. Every morning, we requested for our breakfast to be served there at our preferred time. The staff would knock on our door gently while announcing 'good morning, breakfast is ready' :) Breakfast was always a feast. Our favourite was definitely the banana pancakes! You could also have cereal, toast, waffle, fried rice, fresh fruits etc. On the day we missed breakfast because we had to wake up super early to go on a cycling tour - the staff were so concerned that we would be hungry during our trip, so they made us packed breakfast of bread, boiled eggs and fruits!

Our room also has an outdoor bathroom so I had flower baths many times. It was just amazing. Flower petals are provided daily :)

There is a shuttle van provided by Alam Jiwa for free if you want to go to Ubud town. They are also happy to pick you up after - you just have to call them or arrange for a pick-up time. Otherwise, you can walk. It's not far at all, maybe 10 minutes walk from the town to Alam Jiwa. There is free internet at the reception if you would like to check your emails or do a quick search.

We really love our stay at Alam Jiwa. We were so comfy and relaxed, wished we could stay longer. It was really sad to leave, but we know that we will be back. Ubud is definitely our favourite place in Bali ~ the place, the people, the food and the culture!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chifufunie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Family of 5 stayed at this wonderful treasure in Ubud.

We had the deluxe Manis Casuary room which had a breathtaking view of a rice field from our large balcony and a stream running below us.At night we could see another rice field from our bathroom window and occasionally we would see a firefly light up in the darkness.

We also had the Gelatik room as well which was a/c and had a balcony but not a view like that from the Casuary room.

In the morning we would see a female staff member putting the blessings at each doorway and another staff placing fresh flowers around the area.
We would order breakfast from a menu the morning before and it was delivered with a smile to your balcony.The menu included a fresh juice,fruit with yogurt and honey,a main dish which choices included pancakes,jaffles,eggs with a meat,or some balinese dishes including nasi goreng and also a black rice pudding which sounds weird but tastes great.
There is also a breadbasket and coffee or tea.
When you first get to the villa you get a welcome drink as well as a fruitbasket in your room which included bananas and snakefruit as well as apples and an orange and lychee.
There is also afternoon tea or coffee with cake which you can enjoy at the small lounge or it can be delivered to your room.
The rooms are adequately and comfortably furnished.One thing we were glad we did was request a room with A/C as it made things more comfortable.Some of the rooms do not have a/c.
we were also glad to get a room with a view--it is worth the extra money.
The pool is small but adequate and our kids enjoyed a refreshing swim one afternoon.

The place also has a handy van to take you into town and back until 10pm at night.

The whole atmosphere and wonderful staff was just perfect.Alam Jiwah is a 5 star establishment but much more affordable.It actually deserves 6 stars!
It was by far the best place we stayed on our trip to Bali,Malaysia,and Korea.

Our children especially our 11 year old still talks about how she misses Alam Jiwah!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desslock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

Alam Jiwa and the entire Alam Group - Alam Indah, Alam Shanti, Alam Gili, Kebun Indah - this is the ONLY place to stay in Bali. Gorgeous rooms with fresh flower petals on your pillows, magnificently decorated with authentic Balinese textiles and furniture, gardens you can not even imagine, impeccable service, excellent food, and fantastic value. The Alam family epitomizes the Bali spirit and makes you feel like family. I have now stayed in all of their hotels and eaten in their restaurants and I can say that if you are going to Bali or Gili Island, there is no other place to stay. I have trouble leaving and dream only of returning again and again, do not miss an opportunity to stay in one of these hotels and book early because everyone wants to return,

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lskmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
3.9 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#49 of 196 in Ubud
373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#24 of 196 in Ubud
749 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#26 of 196 in Ubud
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 196 in Ubud
1,035 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#41 of 196 in Ubud
350 reviews
9.2 mi away
Suarapura Resort & Spa
Suarapura Resort & Spa
#56 of 196 in Ubud
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#46 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing