We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with lovely staff”
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #52 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2013

I wend there with my wife and 1 year old son. This place was the best part of my trip to bali. Outdoor bath with rice field view, Breakfast at room, Afternoon tea, and sounds of nature made my 6 days in Alam Jiwa a dream trip. You will find the best Massage services in a walking distance with a very reasinable price, a very nice restaurant with dance from 8:00 PM , Hand crafts and all are for this complex :Alam Indah. You don't need to pay for above services and can charge all to your room and pay last day. All in all this is the besthotel you will choose.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Esmalfathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (545)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 545 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel rooms overlooking Paddy fields. Very luxurious feel with nice extra touches like the free afternoon tea and cake by the pool. But check how long you can stay as the hotel doesn't warn you that its nearly full or fully booked in time. We thought we could stay a few days more but on 2nd morning were told that there were no rooms available for that night. Only extremely expensive room ( double the price)available at sister hotel up the road. Location was great for admiring the tropical countryside and very close to monkey forest but after a few days easier access to ubud might be wanted and the shuttle into Ubud might become a hassle. Still a great hotel and would definitely want to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Annamarlac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

It is truly hard to describe how wonderful this place is. Set amongst the rice paddies of Ubud and run by some of the friendliest most accommodating staff I've ever encountered.

The manager, Komang, is gracious, friendly and extremely helpful and he runs a hotel that is about as close to the perfect Ubud accommodation one can imagine. Believe the other rave reviews.

Stay here - book as far in advance as you can since demand far exceeds supply I would expect.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs for better views, but it's not a requirement.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We just spent three nights at the Alam Jiwa having been recommended the hotel (and even the room) by friends and it was a really great experience. The view from our room (the Merpati room) was spectacular. Rice fields being worked and a wonderful view of Mt Agur, the 3000m volcano on Bali which we saw at sunrise and photographed. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and brought a delicious breakfast to our room every morning which we ate while watching the view. Trips to town the hotel car easily arranged and a quick mobile call from wherever you are to the hotel fetched a return car quickly. Ok it is isn't cheap (we paid $125 a night) but it was a really memorable experience. No restaurant (although the Wayan bakery which supplied the breakfast food is owned by the same family and meals can be ordered in from another restaurant in the same group) and no fitness centre although a delightful (if small) swimming pool.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cockroftd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Even though, at first we though that this hotel was far from everything (town center) but actually, it was about 15 to 20 minutes walk from the Forest Money. The service was great but the hotel itself needed refurbishment. Breakfast was very nice and afternoon tea was ok. I guess if we compare this hotel to the hotel we stayed previously (Kajane) it came second best. But overall, RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukan28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

I really don't think I should say just how amazing and special this little place is, because it's becoming so well known I may not get a booking next time!!! :)
Seriously though, this beautiful place is a gem and for myself and my family it's our second trip. We first went for my mums 70th birthday and then we just went again for dad's 80th birthday (with 17 family members)
To us, Alam Jiwa is like coming home. All the staff are wonderful and look after us as though we are family as well. Komang goes out of his way with the kids, with never ending card tricks to keep them amused, and Nic and the other guys were amazing - we even had a special soccer game with them and the family.
The Villa itself is beautiful, private and luxrurious without losing it's Balinese traditional feel. You will want for nothing here and the breakfast will keep you going until dinner!
Overlooking the rice padis and with a lovely pool to sunbake at, you are close enough to Ubud yet away from it all.
Can't wait to go bak!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yonika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I'm sitting here on our patio surrounded by sublime nature. Many bird calls, little creatures and even a monkey swung by. This is a place that every Balinese would be so proud of, the villa we are in is breathtaking, not for it being a flash hotel but for something even BETTER than that.
; it's firmly embedded in beauty , marble everywhere, solidly built and opens on to the surroundings so elegant yet natural. Really sad to have to leave! What is most special about here is waking up to the view of Mt Agung - and Kintamadi ! Cannot believe how majestic this is and how wonderful it is to feel close to the gods of Bali. Really, it is that good. My 6th trip to Bali and my husband's first, we came straight here from the airport with the idea to get a first experience if the real Bali first up, and alam Jiwa just was beyond our expectations. We move to their sister alam shanti today, I'll let you know how that is too . From what I hear, it is just as amazing !

Room Tip: We are staying in Angsa, it is magnificent! Just across from us is Hannuman which I believe has the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneydiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#77 of 199 in Ubud
419 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#35 of 199 in Ubud
573 reviews
3.9 mi away
Alam Puisi Villa
Alam Puisi Villa
#47 of 199 in Ubud
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Samara
The Samara
#36 of 199 in Ubud
420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sapodilla Ubud
Sapodilla Ubud
#16 of 199 in Ubud
350 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#28 of 199 in Ubud
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#46 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £71 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing