We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Balinese hide-away”
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #52 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A beautiful Balinese hide-away”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

What a super place! I loved this hotel! It matched every picture I have ever conjured of Ubud in my mind's eye over the years. I stayed in the Hanoman room with my daughter, a twin share with two double beds. The room was large and cool with a beautiful balcony over looking the tiered rice paddies. We had an open-air shower and a bathroom that had to be seen to be believed.

The staff couldn't have been friendlier or more welcoming. They looked after us very well. They provide a free shuttle between the hotel and the main town of Ubud. Their link with Cafe Wayan on Monkey Forest Road was extremely handy after cocktails at nearby bars, we simply crossed the road and a car was called straight away.

Breakfasts were delicious, the pancakes especially! We had ours on the balcony over-looking the rice paddies...bliss!

We will definitely return there again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank HeyMcJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    77
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
153
244
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Greast location with views across padi fields. Beautiful gardens and rooms, however cleanliness could be better. Staff very friendly and helpful, especially Nick. Good breakfast and free unlimited filtered water.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gondwana72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

This has to be the most peaceful and inspiring place I have ever stayed. Nestled behind the hectic Abud town, this hotel is the most beautiful place I have ever stayed in. Completely booked out, yet you wouldn't know anyone else was here. Completely private with awesome staff. The rooms are huge with a really cool bathroom. Check out the website to see what I mean. Highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Barefootmasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Alam Jiwa is a surprise, nestled in quiet area walking distance from the hustle and bustle of Ubud. Fabulous rooms overlooking the rice fields - luscious gardens, friendly staff, beautiful rooms. A beautiful breakfast can be taken by the pool or on your balcony. Alma Jiwa is the best of both worlds, a place to relax in a serene, private hideaway and then a short walk through the Monkey Forest delivers you to the busy Ubud restaurant strip for an aromatic dinner and a little retail therapy.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Alam Jiwa is an oasis in what has become a maddeningly busy urban Ubud scene. The grounds are nothing short of spectacular. We stayed at the Casuary suite, which had its own large deck. The staff fell over themselves with anything we wanted. A very nice breakfast could be taken near the reception area or you could have it brought to your deck. The afternoon tea consisted of tea and a piece of cake, but was a nice touch. When we arrived we had issues with the air conditioning not cooling down the room soon enough, but they quickly brought in an engineer who had a supply of freon that remedied the problem. We were fortunate enough to be there when the owner of the property (and the others in the “group”) was having a ceremony to ask for continued prosperity and health. We were the only outsiders there and it felt special to be there. The room itself was beautifully appointed. The bathroom was spacious and all marble. Like others in Bali, it is exposed to the outdoors (but private) which means it is not air conditioned. This wasn’t a problem.
For some it may be a downside that you are not in the thick of Ubud, but they have a shuttle service that makes it easy to get in and out of “downtown” Ubud, which is about 15 minutes if traffic is thick. Twice we asked and they were nice enough to drop us at a restaurant, pick us up from the restaurant and take us to a dance performance, and pick us up from the dance performance when it was over. We never had to wait more than a couple of minutes. Very impressive and a nice touch. As I said, everyone there was very welcoming.

Room Tip: We loved the Casuary suite.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lars-Marin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

We recently stayed at Alam Jiwa and had a great time. It's quiet and the staff is very helpful. It's a bit further out of Ubud but a shuttle bus will be provided at any time and you can easy walk to Ubud as well but watch out for the monkey's.

If you prefer to stay in the hussle & bussle of Ubud this hotel will probably not be your first choice but if you want to read a good book, enjoy the sound of birds & frogs and recharge your battery I would say go.

We can't wait to go back. Loved the place.

Room Tip: There's no TV available and WIFI connection can be limited
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ozzyperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Arriving here was lovely, the greeting and welcome were wonderful, given a welcome drink and taken straight to our room . . well rooms! We stayed in Kenari room which had wonderful views over the rice fields. The bedroom was really big with the biggest outdoor shower we have ever experienced . . in fact the whole bathroom was magnificent and HUGE! The outdoor sitting area is lovely with chairs table and day bed where you can have breakfast, lunch and dinner delivered to . . all food we had here was very very tasty! Staff are lovely and friendly nothing is too much trouble, and so helpful with organising trips into town booking tables at restaurants etc,
Praise for everything here cannot be high enough and also fantastic value for money!

Room Tip: Kenari we loved
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naughtydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#53 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#54 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#51 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alam Shanti
Alam Shanti
#78 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
2.1 mi away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#101 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#46 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing