We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it both times we stayed!”
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #51 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved it both times we stayed!”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at Alam Jiwa for three nights early on during our travels through Indonesia. We loved it so much that we booked an additional four nights at the end of our trip.

The slightly out-of-town location suited us perfectly-- just a 15-minute walk through the village and Monkey Forest to get to downtown Ubud. And we loved jumping in the pool after those walks to and from town.

During our two stays, we stayed in three different rooms-- Angsa, Merpati and Jatayu. All were lovely, with gorgeous outdoor bathrooms and patios. Merpati's view over the rice fields is spectacular, and Jatayu's separate garden and large front-patio create a cozy, private atmosphere.

The staff, led by Manager Komang, was another highlight of our stay at Alam Jiwa. Everyone, from those who delivered breakfast to our room, to the drivers who shuttled us to town and on sightseeing trips, were friendly, polite, and helpful.

Highly recommend Alam Jiwa and can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGNToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    78
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
157
245
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverina
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Had a wonderful five night stay in August 2013. All the staff were very attentive and made our holiday a most memorable occasion. Enjoyed the tranquillity of the setting amid the rice paddies away from the hustle of Ubud. Dined in regularly with meals delivered from Laka Leke - absolutely delicious! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedroverRiverina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A staff were very welcoming and attentive. They were very helpful and such friendly, wonderful people. Beautiful, peaceful surroundings. All staff went out if their way to make our stay memorable. I would certainly go back. As my first Indonesian experience, it was fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A fantastic 3 night stay in this peaceful zen-like oasis looking over beautiful rice fields bordered by forest. Everything about the stay was wonderful: the friendly/courteous/efficient staff, the large comfortable rooms and balconies, the orchid-covered walls in the shower area, the private balcony breakfasts, the easy access to the hustle & bustle of Ubud (if desired) by walking or by the free on-demand shuttle (request 30 minutes ahead of time), etc. etc. etc. Difficult to imagine a better place to stay when visiting Ubud, and especially difficult to imagine a better value.

Room Tip: Garuda room on 1st floor very spacious and beautiful flowering orchids in the shower area. Merpati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

We've stayed at one of the Alam hotels before so when we had a night in Ubud we chose Alam Jiwa. Probably the furthest of them out of town they offer a taxi service into town and to restaurants so it was nice to have the rice paddy view without the noise if town.
The rooms are lovely, not fancy but they do have a big bathroom and from the shower you watch the ducks feeding in the rice paddy. The day bed on the verandah is another nice spot to enjoy the view.
The pool is a perfect spot to relax and only a few steps from our room.
Afternoon was brought to the room as was a very good breakfast with delicious muesli and fruit.
We will continue to stay at the Alam hotels not just for the well priced and relaxing rooms but also for the lovely friendly staff who are always there to answer a question or give a smile.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cally87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berne
Level Contributor
323 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed in Alam Jiwa in September for 6 nights, and loved it. In more than 25 years of travelling, I have been to many beautiful places (some of them much more luxurious than Alam Jiwa), and AJ is definitely one of THE most amazing places I have ever been too. The gardens, the views, the sounds, the flowers, the wonderful breakfast, the lovely staff, the overall atmosphere, the peaceful but still "not far from the centre" location (and if you dont want to walk to Ubud / or back from it, the hotel offers a free shuttle), the beautiful furnishing (I especially like the bamboo mats in the room and on the balcony), the open-air shower, everything is just perfect.

The only "problem" with it, as its small (which is one of the big pluses of AJ) and very popular, with plenty of repeaters, its "always" full and it might be difficult to get a room. Definitely book ahead. If Alam Jiwa is full, you might want to look at Alam Shanti (I saw the garden and main area there, and it also looks beautiful) or Alam Inda, two other properties belonging to the same owners and also in Nyu Khuning.

Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank nathalieyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in the Gelatik room for two nights. I really enjoyed the breakfasts on the veranda, which overlooked the rice paddies. The swimming pool looked really welcoming. The bathroom was huge! I had a bath and the rose petals were a nice touch. Went for a walk in the rice paddies in the morning. Used their shuttle service. The front desk staff were helpful in arranging bookings for restaurants. Overall the ambiance was very relaxing. When I was feeling sick after dinner, the staff bought me ginger tea with lemon and honey.

Something to be mindful of when booking this place is that you will have bugs and the occasional lizards in your room because of the 'open air' environment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rozza_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.3 mi away
Alam Indah
Alam Indah
#66 of 198 in Ubud
407 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 198 in Ubud
715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#40 of 198 in Ubud
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#53 of 198 in Ubud
624 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gajah Biru Bungalows
Gajah Biru Bungalows
#29 of 198 in Ubud
513 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alam Shanti
Alam Shanti
#71 of 198 in Ubud
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#45 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing