We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place we called home.”
Review of Alam Jiwa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alam Jiwa
Ranked #52 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A place we called home.”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

For 6 days in late April, early May 9 of us made Alam Jiwa our home base in Ubud. Because of its close proximity to Monkey Forest Road we regularly wandered into town to indulge in Ubud’s abundant joys individually, in small groups or collectively. Whilst we enjoyed the hustle and bustle of the town all of us looked forward to returning to the tranquility of Alam Jiwa’s setting and to the care and attention shown to us by the outstanding staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APFB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    78
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
154
244
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
272 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I go to Bali many, many times, and this is the worst hotel/B&B I stayed at.

When we arrived at 1am, we were shown to our room, but not given the proper check in procedure. No wifi password, briefing on where the free water is, etc. Then we found out the air con is not working. People came and checked but to no avail.

When I expressed frustration on it, the manager shrugged and told me this is Bali, if I am not happy with it I could stay in another hotel. When I asked why the shower is trickling, and very weak, they provided the excuse that it's on the second floor. Come on, I've stayed in other B&Bs in Bali with strong shower on the second floor. Is it their excuse assuming travelers are ignorant of Bali's development. And oh, they put that excuse on the weak wi-fi too!

And " you can leave now (at 1am even!) and stay in another hotel" is the worst thing a service-oriented staff could say. Thumbs down.

It was only when I said, don't use your third-world-Bali as an excuse, I've been here countless times, and this is the first time it has happened, then he was apologetic.

They asked someone to fix the next day, it got cooler a bit, but still very warm.

Too bad, the room is nice and so is the view.

I used to stay in another place in Ubud and I regret not staying at my other place.

They graciously apologized after, and gave us 10% discount, but service recovery was late.

Needless to say, I will never go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bankergirl1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My friend who visited Bali more than 10 times recommend me to stay in this resort because she is always stayed in this place if she travels to Bali, and now I understand why.
The resort is not far from the center (15-20' to walk). A beautiful rice filed view, quiet and amazing place. The time we spent there to look at the rice field just so peaceful like on paradise!!!
The room is clean and nice design. The staff is superb friendly. We will back here for sure. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

What a gorgeous place this is. Located in the village of Nyuhkuning, away from the crowds in Ubud (but only a short walk through the monkey forest away) we felt really at home here with our 2 small children. The location is perfect, and a short walk down the road are several places to eat. We liked the Laka Leke restaurant which was about 5 mins walk away, food was great and the kids loved the dancing which happened most nights (ended up eating there a few times in our short stay!)

We had the Jatayu Room which was beautiful (and enormous!). A separate bed for each of the kids, mosquito nets and it's own amazing terrace and garden. Perfect for our family. It doesn't have the rice paddy views of some of the other rooms, but makes up for it in so many other ways. We'd choose this room again.

Great pool to flop into after a day exploring, our son finally learned to swim here (hurrah!) so it will always hold really fond memories.

The staff at Alam Jiwa are some of the loveliest we've met on our travels. Amazing friendly service meaning you can just relax and enjoy this really special place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed in the Cendrawasih suite and Wow!!! It was like a palace. Traditional Balinese at its best. Indoor/outdoor style accommodation complete with outdoor shower. Hospitable staff who made you feel welcome and couldn't do enough for you. Easy walk through the monkey forest to the centre of Ubud. Delicious breakfast and afternoon teas served to your villa.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

If you want to avoid the hectic central-Ubud scene, but still be within walking distance, then Alam Jiwa is a great choice.

We stayed in the Merpati room, which I'd highly recommend as it's on the top floor looking through the tree tops to the rice paddies/ducks, distant volcano, and river just below. (Though there probably isn't a bad room location - it's a small hotel in a wonderful location). You are in the countryside, so there are some ants that may join you if you leave out crumbs, but that's pretty much the only inconvenience I noticed... And that's classic Bali, so enjoy them :)

The staff could not be nicer /more helpful. Breakfasts were excellent.

We would definitely stay there again if we're ever back in the area.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guam
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We have stayed at the Alam group hotels several times and keep returning, because they are such beautifully authentic Balinese. The rooms are large, the outside bathrooms so great, and the grounds so beautiful. Unless you have been to this type of hotel, it is hard to describe. The rooms are like small bungalows, with hand carved Balinese furniture. The staff could not be nicer and very helpful. The people of Bali are generally so friendly and they make visitors feel so welcome. The view over the rice field from our porch, with a sofa and a day bed was so beautiful that we spent a lot of time there. The hotel has a small pool, which was a very relaxing place to hang out. The breakfast that is provided with your room is great and afternoon tea is also available. There is a great, new little Balinese restaurant across the road form the hotel and the famous Lake Leke restaurant is in walking distance. One can walk to Ubud through the monkey forest ( a bit of a walk) or the hotel van will take you and pick you up when you call. We booked over Nyepi, the new year's day of silence, when the entire island, even the international airport is shut down. It means staying on the hotel grounds and ordering food ahead, but we enjoyed the day very much. The evening before was great, as there were parades in every neighborhood of spectacular constructions of evil characters that were marched along the streets with music and then burned at the end of their runs. A tip for a great driver: we have always used Mr. Eka (eketrip@ymail.com). The hotel will contact him for you or you can email. He picks us up at the airport and has taken us all over the island on different trips. His prices are very reasonable and he speaks good English.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great, but remember that you are staying in a Balinese bungalow, not a 5 star ceme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.2 mi away
Swasti Eco Cottages
Swasti Eco Cottages
#53 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saren Indah Hotel
Saren Indah Hotel
#54 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Anumana Ubud Hotel
Anumana Ubud Hotel
#51 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alam Shanti
Alam Shanti
#75 of 199 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
2.1 mi away
Natura Resort and Spa
Natura Resort and Spa
#102 of 199 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam Jiwa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam Jiwa

Property: Alam Jiwa
Address: Nyuhkuning, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ubud
#14 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#46 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Alam Jiwa 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alam Jiwa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alam Jiwa Ubud, Bali
Alam Jiwa Hotel Ubud

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing