We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New, clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Citrus Tree Villas - Kunyit
Ranked #147 of 602 Ubud B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Older home-stay's close by smelled old and musty...what a relief to find Kunyit House. Just built last year it has high ceilings, fresh paint, new fixtures and no musty smell. Kadek and his family were a joy to stay with. We walked with his performing father to a traditional Balinese kadhek dance and fire dance just around the corner. There's good wifi and a simple but tasty breakfast. Centrally located, only a 4 minute walk gets you to the palace or the crazy market. Just along Gootama St (Jalan) is an assortment of restaurants and boutique shops but the rooms are tucked at the back of the property for a good night sleep.. We ended up coming back through Ubud and stayed again. Enjoyed the little porch in front of the rooms.

Room Tip: All 3 are great
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barefootmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monica m, Manager at Citrus Tree Villas - Kunyit, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to meeting you again.

Kind regards

Citrus Tree Villas Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
There are newer reviews for Citrus Tree Villas - Kunyit
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had a wonderfull stay here! At Kunyit House you will meet he most friendly warm Balinese family you can imagine... Kadek, the owner gives you great advice on what to do and where to go in Ubud, and he and his wife prepare dilicious Balinese breakfasts that are different every day.

With a central location in Ubud you are close to great food and drinks and lovely sites.

We stayed here two times on one holiday, cause we just wanted to be back at Kunyit House.

The rooms are spottless, and the atmosphere of staying amid a family is very interesting. Great value for money and just a gem!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanzelpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed at Kunyit house for 3 nights for my 6th visit to Ubud. The room is superbly located with in the centre of Ubud next to some great restuarants, bars and spas but hidden away enough to be very peaceful at night.

Monkey Forest seems to be the big selling point and is a bout a 15-20 min walk but you'll probably only go here once and after that you'll want to avoid monkeys for a while.

The room was clean, spacious, very new and modern with an excellent shower (powerful and hot/cold)

Breakfast was fantastic, always came with a nice side of fresh fruit.

Kadek and family were always lovely and hepful. When i'm back in Ubud i'll stay here again.

Room Tip: It's best to rock up and rent directly from the family than pre-book through websites. If it is...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at the Kunyit house for 3 nights. Everything was great, right in the centre of Ubud with many restaurants around. The room is basic but clean and tidy. The tenant Kadek and his lovely family are very helpful. Kadek showed us around for one day. Definitely very good value for money, very authentic and lovely people. The breakfast is served directly on your terrace with fresh fruits and balinese bread. We loved it and recommend this home stay to everyone!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We went to Ubud for a couple of days to enjoy the Balinese culture and we were not disappointed. Our Stay at Kunyit House was very pleasant , it was like living with the family who by the way are lovely and friendly. The kids were a joy and we had some nice photos with them. Kadek and his lovely wife have built three rooms which are very basic but comfortable , clean and tidy. and a ensuite to each one. Situated right in the area where all the family members are living in true Balinese style we felt very welcome as most of the family came past at some stage and said hello.Each room has a veranda out the front where we enjoyed a very nice breakfast prepared for us at what time we wanted by Kadek. I think the toast was done over a open fire and the taste was different, delicious, Plenty of fruit , tea or coffee made it a good start to the day. Sleep quality there was excellent. Very close to the Market , Palace and shops and plenty of restaurants. We really enjoyed staying there, not luxury by any means but a great place to stop if you want to get the feel of living local which is always a nice experience. Fantastic value and we wish them well in their venture .

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank jaguar2874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016
Thank gvdijk2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.1 mi away
Teja Guest House & Gallery
0.2 mi away
Sumantra House Ubud
Sumantra House Ubud
#43 of 602 in Ubud
42 reviews
0.1 mi away
Titiwangsa Homestay
Titiwangsa Homestay
#139 of 602 in Ubud
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Anila Shanti Guest House
Anila Shanti Guest House
#322 of 602 in Ubud
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dono Guest House
Dono Guest House
#301 of 602 in Ubud
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goutama Homestay
Goutama Homestay
#144 of 602 in Ubud
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citrus Tree Villas - Kunyit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citrus Tree Villas - Kunyit

Address: Jalan Gootama No. 20, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 602 B&Bs / Inns in Ubud
Price Range: £10 - £16 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique stone walkway leads to three basic rooms with tiled porches located in the traditional compound and garden of Pak Kadek and his family. A 5-minute stroll from Ubud Palace and Ubud Art Market, Kunyit (turmeric in Indonesia) Home Stay features rooms with free Wi-Fi access and private terraces. Sightseeing arrangements can be made on site. Guests who drive can enjoy free parking privileges. The lush Monkey Forest is a 20-minute walk away, while Ngurah Rai International Airport is reachable by a 90-minute car ride from Kunyit House. Airport transfers, bicycle and car rental can be arranged by staff at a charge. Indonesian cuisine is served at the nearest restaurant, a 2-minute walk from the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Citrus Tree Villas - Kunyit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citrus Tree Villas - Kunyit Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing