We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian in Bali ? Yeah baby”

Restaurant Uma Cucina
Ranked #24 of 772 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$44
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Uma Cucina is an Italian-inspired restaurant and lounge bar at Uma by COMO, Ubud. Informal and convivial, with outdoor terraces and a large communal dining table at the heart of the space, Uma Cucina reflects the homely 'kitchen' spirit behind its name ('cucina' means kitchen in Italian).Menus are strong on fresh, locally-sourced produce and the flavours of Italy. Seasonal vegetables, seafood and slow-cooked meats are rendered in colourful, easygoing options, perfect for sharing with friends. House specialities include handmade pastas, cheeses and sausages, woodfired pizzas and breads, as well as classic Italian gelatos and granitas.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Italian in Bali ? Yeah baby”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I wouldn't ordinarily choose to eat Italian food in Bali however on our recent trip to Ubud we decided to try Uma's new restaurant Cucina Uma. We've stayed at the hotel twice before so had high expectations, we weren't disappointed. The restaurant is beautiful and has a real wow factor. The service was outstanding, attentive but not intrusive. The food was delicious,so good that we returned for pizza and a glass of wine for lunch on our last day. The staff recognised us spoiling us with complimentary dessert.
In my opinion Uma can do no wrong.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mandy132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    114
    21
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Uma smooth dining”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Well designed, appointed upscale Italian restaurant on the main road into Ubud.

From the moment we arrive the staff were attentive and congenial. Well honed service with attention to detail and heightening the customers experience.
Luckily we received an outer verandah seating that combined a lounge and a somewhat hard chair for one diner (me).
Wonderful mood lighting and decor. Bali styling at a high standard.

Food - table bread with olive oil and balsamic
Trio salad - 3 types of lettuce tossed in Anchovy oil - delish
Linguine Crab - called Spaghetini
Pappardelle Rabbit Ragu
Wine
To compliment the mains the Hob Nob, French Pinot Noir. Superb.
The food and wine were all great with a small comment regarding the Pappardelle, a little more pasta would have made this meal divine. Apart from this all meals were fresh, delicious and light.
More cred to Uma as they produce all their food on site.
A dessert of Chocolate Nemesis was ordered, savoured as an additional pleasure of dining here should be.

Downside - Government tax adds considerably to the bill.

Highly recommend this restaurant for a dining experience. Uma opened in 2013.

Further to this visit.
We dined here again a week later as our farewell dinner in Ubud. The staff remembered our names and gave us the same table. I would add that if you return the appreciation for what's offered at Uma is greater.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoelDPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly delicious food!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We went to Uma Cucina for lunch on the recommendation of a friend and were delighted by the wonderful food and service we experienced! The arancini and burrata starters were very tasty and beautifully presented! We had the Bucatini pasta dish (beef ragu) which was seriously delicious. Uma Cucina has a lovely relaxed atmosphere and the service was impeccable, one of the best meals I have had in Bali!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MondoBeyondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Place, Good F & B”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Impressed by F & B Service staff they seems really happy with their job, serve passionately even they're know that we are not staying in UMA and only coming for dinner.
Chef will spend some time to have a look the crowd, thanks.
Food is tasty, beverages are fine.
Overall satisfied with the service.
Definitely will come back.

Helpful?
Thank 19Kay88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian food made with skill and care”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We just had lunch at the Uma Cucina and found both the service and food to be excellent.

The pasta was home made cooked perfectly to al dente and my husband ordered a pizza which he devoured pretty quickly!

It was also a bonus for us that we were staying at the Uma hotel so only a short walk to get our hands on this delicious food.

Price is high even for Bali, but you get very high quality making the dining experience well worth it.

If you get the express menu available between 12:00-15:00, you can get a choice of pizza, pasta or salad plus a dessert (cucumber and watermelon granita) for 99,000 rupiah which is roughly about £5. Not bad!

Helpful?
1 Thank emimurata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Restaurant Uma Cucina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing