We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place to stay”
Review of Puri Gangga Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Puri Gangga Resort
Ranked #37 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our group stayed for 3 nights at the hotel. Hotel is quite far from UBUD itself but the hotel organises a good shuttle service to Ubud which is really needed.
Room are clean - beautiful - and quite big. The only negative point is the noice of the cocks in the morning. They wake you up from 05.00 am and they do not stop till 08.00 am. Frienly staff

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puri G, General Manager at Puri Gangga Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2016

Dear P L, Om Swastiastu and warmest greeting from Puri Gangga Resort. We would like to thank you for your comments in trip advisor. We glad to know that overall you enjoyed your staying with us. We are located in the middle of a rural Balinese village, where we have sound of nature and we committed to improve our products and services to welcoming you return in our Home in A Living Culture in future
Thank you
Dewa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (586)
There are newer reviews for Puri Gangga Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

403 - 409 of 586 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 6 nights. It lived up to expectations in many ways, such as the surrounds were beautiful and the pool lovely - looks just like the pictures state. We spent many afternoons at the pool and it was like paradise when we did this. The breakfasts, as people say, were amazing, yummy and varied and presented to a very high level: we often ate breakfast and didn't need anything till the free afternoon tea. The restaurant is in beautiful surrounds, overlooking trees and the temple. We ate there for dinner a few nights and the food was of a good standard, better than expected in a resort where you could not get dinner from elsewhere. The staff were always obliging, although at times some staff didn't understand requests - but as English is their second language, one can understand this. All these elements mean that the resort is a five star level.

The spa is a good way to relax and although expensive for Bali, it is not expensive in terms of Australian prices. We used the services twice and had a very relaxing time. Yoga classes by Puspa were also enjoyed very much and we had a morning walk which gave us a chance to see the countryside and the village.

It is true that the resort is some distance from Ubud, 30-45 minutes not the 20 minutes stated on the website. We used the shuttle bus service three days and it was very good except for once when it was about 45 minutes late.

One key area of concern for us was the noise though. I think some of the reviews who state the stay was excellent were not in a room that backed onto the farmlands/rice paddies. As it is a working village, the sounds of the animals at night and from 5.30am in the morning was excruciatingly loud. We had anticipated this, and brought earplugs, but still the roosters' noise penetrated our sleep early in the morning. Some might say this is a minor thing or we should expect it, but when you go to relax, it is something that needs to be considered. This is something that means we can't give five stars overall for the resort.

There were a few minor things like our safe didn't work, there was water on the floor in the bathroom when we arrived, the curtains were off their rails, there were stains on the curtains, there were stains on the serviettes or tablecloths at times - these little attention to detail elements also contribute to the overall 4 star rating. They seem like minor issues if there was one element, but when they add up it suggests that there are a few things to be ironed out at the resort.

Also, I would expect the toiletries to be of a higher quality and they were not - this is not something I put in my feedback to the hotel (as nearly everything I have written above was in the written feedback to the hotel), but should be considered for a 4 and a half star resort.

Overall, if I could stay again I would get a poolside villa as it would guarantee quiet - and you will have an excellent stay as it is a lovely resort. It is very good value for what you pay.

Room Tip: Get a poolside villa to avoid insect, frog and rooster noise at night/morning
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Sudarta, Manager at Puri Gangga Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Nicole S,

Warmest greetings from Puri Gangga Resort "A Home In A Living Culture"

Thank you for your stay at our lovely resort
For the Rooster and other animal in surrounding village that is true because we are in villages and that our natural live in villages "A Home in A Living Culture"

We will fix the minor things in the room as soon as possible

Once again thank you for your compliment to our resort and we hope will see you again next time in Puri Gangga Resort

Best Regards from Ubud,

I Wayan Sudarta
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this small scale resort for a few nights to visit the Ubud area. Its actually a bit further out from Ubud then we initially realized, but we enjoyed it so much we didn't really want to leave the resort at all. We're sorry we only spent 2 nights here.
The Good:
• Small scale resort.
• Beautiful lush tropical environment.
• Peaceful and tranquil atmosphere.
• Very nice rooms with a big bed and mosquito nets.
• Very friendly and helpful staff.
• Very good restaurant. Not really cheap by Indonesian standards, but great quality food. ++
• Breakfast is not a buffet, but prepared to your choice from continental, american or indonesian cuisine.
• Free shuttle service to and from Ubud 5 times daily (about 30min. drive one way).
Not so Good:
• If you really pressed I'd have to say the distance from Ubud, but only for those people who want to stay close to (hectic) Ubud.
• The pillows were to thick for my taste. Gave me a sore neck.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank -_LiveYourLifeNow_-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Sudarta, Manager at Puri Gangga Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Wijchen,

Warmest greetings from Puri Gangga Resort "A Home In A Living Culture"

Thank you very much for choose our resort during your holiday in Ubud

We are very looking forward to welcoming you again to our resort

Best Regards,

I Wayan Sudarta
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My friend and I stayed at Puri Gangga for 8 nights and we just loved it. The staff couldn't have been sweeter or more accommodating, the food was great and if you want to get away from it all and relax then I would highly recommend staying here. The only thing that I will say is find out when they're harvesting as the resort has farmland on one side and if you're over that side of the resort it can get really smoky (we actually asked to move which the staff were extremely obliging about).

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This resort is perfect for people who seek for quietness and just resting enjoying the time in secluded area of Ubud. Puri Gangga is 40 minutes north of Ubud, on the way to the resort you will see beautiful paddy field of Tegalalang. Room is huge with huge bathroom. Breakfast is similar to any small resort in Ubud with ala carte menu. All the people at the resort is very friendly and fast to response. If you don't mind with the remote location, then Puri Gangga is perfect and good value also.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ucartech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at Puri Gangga for our first 4 days of our honeymoon. This is a lovely resort about 25 mins out of Ubud, meaning the setting is really peaceful and relaxing, amongst the rainforest of Bali. We were dubious about the distance when we booked but it wasn't a problem, as the hotel offer a free shuttle service.

The hotel itself was lovely, we stayed in a suite on the first floor which was perfect; awesome view over the trees from the balcony, decent sized room with nice decor, and beautiful bathroom. Hotel had decorated the room for our honeymoon and gave us a honeymoon cake on arrival :)

Facilities at the resort were spot on for a relaxing break, really nice infinity pool with good loungers, and the spa setting was beautiful - we had a massage which was the best of the trip.

Food was also fantastic, breakfast was amazing, great choice. We only ate once for dinner, when the staff arranged a candlelit dinner by the pool for my husbands 30th. We had the Bebek Betutu Rijsttafel (slow roast duck with lovely sides), and it was the best meal of our 3 week trip. The staff also arranged for a birthday cake for my husband, which was a surprise to me too!

Overall I would say this is a fantastic resort for a relaxing break - great location, lovely rooms, fantastic facilities and above all, excellent service and staff who made our honeymoon very special. Just wish we'd had chance to stay for longer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hboj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D_Sudarta, Manager at Puri Gangga Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Hboj,

Warmest greetings from Puri Gangga Resort"A Home In A Living Culture"

Thank you for spent your honeymoon at our resort
We are very looking forward to welcoming you to our lovely resort

Best Regards from Ubud,
I Wayan Sudarta
Operation Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in a private pool villa of this quiet and peaceful resort which is located around 30 minutes away from Ubud. The staff are super friendly and attentive, foods in restaurant are also very nice, and highly recommend for honeymooners or couples to try their pool side candle light dinner. Special thanks to staff Wira who arranged a surprise birthday cake for me during dinner and the fantastic service since the moment I arrived.
The villa is gorgeous with private pool overlooking the rice fields, bathroom is clean and spacious.
Gunung Kawi Temple and rice paddies are within walking distance, and the shuttle service to central Ubud takes around 25-30 minutes (depends on traffic).
It is sad that we only spent two nights in this beautiful resort. I hope the staff and management can maintain this high quality and service.
Once again, thanks a lot for this memorable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisTrev_See
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
9.3 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
767 reviews
7.9 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
7.8 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 199 in Ubud
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
5.4 mi away
Junjungan Ubud Hotel and Spa
6.1 mi away
Kupu Kupu Barong Villas and Tree Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Gangga Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Gangga Resort

Address: Desa Sebatu, Tegalalang Jln. Raya Sebatu, Ubud 80561, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Ubud
#31 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#31 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £52 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Puri Gangga Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Puri Gangga Resort is a charming luxury boutique resort in Ubud, a home in living cultures where you can experience the richness of Balinese cultures live naturally in the village of Sebatu. Puri Gangga Resort is located minutes 30 drives from the hustle and bustle of Ubud, a home of art and culture and only 35 minutes drives from Kintamani Lake Batur, a world Geo Park site. Puri Gangga Resort is surrounded by the extensive of beautiful rice terrace view of Ceking Tegalalang Ubud, an ancient historically Hindu's temple called Gunung Kawi where specific ceremonies host regularly and people do purification, and exactly located at the uniqueness of traditional Balinese village called Sebatu Ubud. Puri Gangga Resort offers 20 charming luxury rooms with four categories : 8 Deluxe Rooms, 8 Suite Rooms, 2 Garden Villas and 2 Pool Villas. The Resort has Restaurant, Spa, Swimming Pool and Yoga Centre. Staying at Puri Gangga Resort means you are sustaining the cultural and natural environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Puri Gangga Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Gangga Resort Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing