We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best presented food in Bali”

Restaurant Locavore
Ranked #10 of 810 Restaurants in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$33 - US$41
Cuisines: European, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Our non smoking restaurant serves modern, contemporary European cuisine using local, seasonal ingredients. Our chefs share a passion for crafting contemporary European cuisine from quality local ingredients. This concept is already popular in the west and, although it is still new to Indonesia where most chefs rely on expensive imported ingredients, we are proud to be amongst the first to introduce high-end and locally sourced cuisine to Indonesian kitchens. A great deal has been achieved in Locavore' first year which we hope to build on in order to continue satisfying our guests and to continue the strides made in spreading this concept throughout the country. We started working together in Jakarta over five years ago and gradually came to see that it just didn't make sense to cook with imported ingredients when we were surrounded by Indonesia's bounty. We think of ourselves as the catalysts between local producers and discriminating diners. Our ingredient-driven menu celebrates the farmers, fisherman and artisans we've met along our journey. By developing lasting relationships with local producers, we ensure you the freshest of chemical-free seasonal produce and ethically fed meat animals. And by supporting local farmers and artisans, Locavore is an authentic member of its community. A reservation is strongly recommended, typically you should be able to secure a table 2-3 weeks ahead. Reservations can be made via our website and our Facebook Page. Upon making a reservation via one of our two convenient online booking options you will receive a confirmation email to your inbox which will include a booking reference. 24 hours prior to your booking date you will receive an additional email asking you to reconfirm your booking along with instructions on how to do that. We realise many of our guests are busy enjoying their wonderful holidays in Bali or simply don't have all day e-mail access but we do kindly request your attention on the booking emails. We are very thankful for the interest everyone has shown in Locavore but without a confirmed booking we will regrettably have to release the table to other guests. Locavore is a small and cozy restaurant operated by a team of highly dedicated food enthusiasts whose primary goal is to ensure our guests savor their experience at Locavore while dining on artistically prepared, fresh and highly enjoyable dishes. Part of that process is to source 95% of our products locally and not to keep large stocks but rather to source as much of our products fresh on a daily basis. This, together with the fact that all of our dishes are prepared a la minute with only fresh produce, certainly leads to more strain on our team but absolutely allows us to achieve our stated goal of providing our guests with locally produced, fresh and delicious dishes. We are and aim to continue being a fine dining establishment that focuses equal parts on the cuisine and on the experience. To ensure that experience consists of the highest quality, Locavore focuses on a series of set tasting menus; 5-courses or 7 courses in either Locavore or Herbivore style. We are more than happy to modify our set tasting menus for those with dietary preferences, as long as those preferences are mentioned to us during your booking process, since we cater to our guests needs and especially since our chefs certainly love to be challenged to meet new heights. Some may call those preferences a 'dietary restriction' but we simply view your preferences as part of our obligation to ensure you enjoy the experience at our restaurant. Although a meal at Locavore may last several hours, the reason for that is not lack of care or attention but rather the exact opposite ... every dish is prepared with meticulous attention so as to ensure that every one of our guests will walk away from Locavore remembering the cuisine they experienced with us. Come to Locavore not for a rushed meal based on an endless menu but for a meticulously planned culinary journey prepared by our team that will leave you satisfied, fulfilled and eager for your next visit. While we understand that this philosophy may not be applicable for everyone, as food enthusiasts we welcome everyone and anyone to join us at Locavore to take part in this culinary approach which we believe in, standby and advocate for within the sphere of fine dining. As a final note, generally we can advise guests that our menus can take the following service time: - 5 course : 1.5 to 2 hours - 7 course : 2 to 2.5 hours
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Wow, this is a real find and every bit deserving of being TripAdvisors no.1 restaurant in both Ubud and Bali! Beautifully presented, professionally prepared food, way up there with the best we've ever tasted in Bali. We started with the strawberry and rhubarb seasonal infusions, accompanied by complimentary amuse bouche of tempura spinach leaves, crispy mini-breads and fish mayo, which were a very tasty way to start lunch. Starters were octopus terrine with pomelo & chorizo, bisque crustaces with seafood sausage and chicken liver mousse with rhubard and melon. The octopus and bisque were absolutely divine whilst the chicken liver mousse was good, but sadly far too small to taste, lost amongst the fruit. We had Barramundi a mariniere, Catch of the Day (snapper in crustacean sauce) and chicken 2 ways (confit & the best chicken sausage we have ever tasted!) for main courses, all of which were absolutely gorgeous. We just about managed Looking for Passion and Chocolate deserts, which followed through nicely, exquisitely presented and very tasty. If there was one other slight issue, the ginger tea simply didn't work, far too mild in taste and missing any sort of ginger kick that we hoped for, but a minor point and certainly not sufficient to deter us from coming back again soon. Booking is essential as Locavore only seats around 30 and is regularly fully booked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,667 - 1,671 of 2,271 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have been to Ubud several times over the past few years and were very excited to learn about Locavore Restaurant as we are complete "foodies." We had no reservation and try to walk in for dinner early but I was told that the restaurant is booked for the full week. I saw a couple of tables opened and asked if we can take one before the party arrives as we are fast and will be out in 30-40 minutes. I was told these tables were reserved for only one reservation per night, no option...another words no turning tables. So I made a reservation for the following week for dinner. When I arrived (my husband was at the store next door with our daughter) I found out that there was another couple sitting at our table with the same last name. What are the odds in Bali? Ooops! The confusion started. Luckily the reservation had my email and I had the confirmation on my phone to prove it. The other couple was asked to leave but they were not pleased and were not giving up. The lady demanded to be accommodated for the mix up but the restaurant refused as they had no open tables. I kindly offered they could share the table with us if they wished as alternative option, but I would have to check with my husband who was on the way. The host was appreciative, you would think I would get a drink for this, right, well read the end of my review. My husband did not mind sharing the table, the couple liked the idea and asked for separate checks. All started well, we all began with drinks which were really good but loaded with ice, so few sips and done. We all had five course tasting menus. Light courses were very good, interesting combination of flavors, small portions, beautiful presentation, but the problem started when we had to wait 40 plus minutes between courses. At first we were like OK, where is the food. Then a bite arrives and you have to wait 45 to 60 minutes for the second bite. Although we sat with strangers (all of us were from US) and we found interesting things to talk about, we found it really ridiculous to wait this long in between courses. The place had maybe total of 10 tables, and 5 chefs doing their business in the open kitchen that we saw. Service was "out to lunch" - lights are on but no one is home. In the US manager would be by making a drink offer on the house for such inconvenience, but no one bother providing us with customer service. The couple ordered more drinks instead, then we all started tapping on the table, and looking around. Finally three hours into our dinner with three bites taken we told the waitress to bring the last 2 courses together ASAP (which one of them was desert) because we did not want to wait any longer and have to leave. It just was not worth it. Last course we had was meat (three of us chose the chicken sous vide chicken, my husband and daughter had pork). The sous vide chicken was an experiment that failed. It was just awful, inedible! Tasted like rubber eraser, looked pale and unappealing, we all had one bite and left it all. The pork was good. The bill came...was not split. We asked them to split it, they took our cards and split the bill in half. We rushed as my driver was waiting outside. When I got to my hotel I started calculating the bill and found out that we were billed for the other couple drinks. They had six we had two. I guess, no good deed goes unpunished. This place needs to work on a lot of other issues and components before reaching excellent status. We were all very disappointed in our dining experience and the other couple who is staying for two more months in Bali said they wouldn't be returning to Locavore.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank savvygirlLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon L, Owner at Restaurant Locavore, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

dear guest,

thanks for sharing your experience with us and I'm sorry to hear that you were not satisfied. I think if I was in your shoes and experienced this range of unfortunate events it would have spoiled my experience overall as well.

For dinner service we are usually fully booked. We don't turn tables. It's unfortunate that another couple walked in, and said they had booked, and in fact had not, but saw their name (the same as yours!) in our booking list.
It was indeed very kind of you that you shared your table, and not very mindful of us and the people who you were sharing the table with to allow the bill to be split...
As a gesture of good faith I would like to offer you and your husband a free 7 course dinner incl drinks, when you are in Bali next time, and we will do our very best to make up with you. Just reach out by e-mail to us.

We feel we should respond a bit more in-depth on the long waiting times in Locavore:

Locavore is a small and cozy restaurant operated by a team of highly dedicated food enthusiasts whose primary goal is to ensure our guests savour their experience at Locavore while dining on artistically prepared, fresh and highly enjoyable dishes. Part of that process is to source 95% of our products locally and not to keep large stocks but rather to source as much of our products fresh on a daily basis. This, together with the fact that all of our dishes are prepared a la minute with only fresh produce, certainly leads to more strain on our team but absolutely allows us to achieve our stated goal of providing our guests with locally produced, fresh and delicious dishes.

We are and aim to continue being a fine dining establishment that focuses equal parts on the cuisine and on the experience. Our staff will always aim to be clear with our guests that if the guests are in a rush no more than 3 courses should be ordered due to the time and care involved in the preparation of each dish. We certainly do not want to mislead our guests and that is why we want everyone to know that the time it takes for a proper experience at Locavore can absolutely be several hours but the reason for that is not lack of care or attention but rather the exact opposite … every dish is prepared with meticulous attention so as to ensure that every one of our guests will walk away from Locavore remembering the cuisine they experienced with us.

While we understand that this philosophy may not be applicable for everyone, as food enthusiasts we welcome everyone and anyone to join us at Locavore to take part in this culinary approach which we believe in, standby and advocate for within the sphere of fine dining.

As a final note, generally we can advise guests that our menus can take the following service time:

- 3 course : 1 to 1.5 hours
- 5 course : 1.5 to 2 hours
- 7 course : 2 to 2.5 hours
- 9 course : 2.5 to 3 hours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We were warmly greeted and attended to by very professional and trained staff. From start to finish everything was excellent. While the food was out of my normal comfort zone the chef and kitchen consistently delivered visually appealing and delicious courses that were all explained by the server - a very nice touch. Have faith and go with what the chef recommends - you will not be disappointed as a travelling foodie. The chocolate dessert was exceptional!!! Also, the virgin mojito deserves a special nod as delicious refreshing drink. Top marks all around.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We read about this restaurant on TripAdvisor and consequently we made a reservation (otherwise you won't be able to get a place, since it's almost always full). It's a very nice accommodation, excellent and friendly welcome. They have a great cocktail-menu with super cocktails (the one with gin and sparkling wine was superb). The meals have a high standard, very good (local) ingredients in western-type meals. The price is higher than 'normal' restaurants you would go to in Indonesia, but it is definitely worth it! I would definitely go back when I'm in Ubud.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Galloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I ate here for dinner, and it was superb. You can choose how many courses you would like, 3, 5, 7 or 9. We chose the five course, which included the octopus, chicken liver, mackerel, the main which was chicken or pork and then dessert which was chocolate or fruit.

Service is quick, and very friendly and the food is wonderful. Would definitely recommend, it is a bit more expensive though. For the two five course menus, and two large bottles of water and another two non alcoholic drinks it cost us around $100 AUD.

Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area!

1  Thank Casey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Restaurant Locavore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing