We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Ranked #26 of 192 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We first stayed at Kayumanis in Ubud when it first opened in 2003. It has nearly doubled in size now, with many new villas. The older ones (we stayed in the 3-bedroom) are showing their age. In Bali's climate, I guess it is hard to keep up with mold, ants and electrical problems. After a day of running the aircon, and notifying the staff, the wet smell and the ants went away and although the kitchen was dark, most of the lights were working.

The new swimming pool is beautiful but not used by many. No one seemed to walk down to sit at the cafe near by. That's probably because the private swimming pools are so nice and so easy to enjoy, just steps from the room.

The spa was fantastic. Our package included complimentary treatments and we topped up with extras at a very reasonable cost.

Breakfasts were excellent, although service was a bit slow. More food and choice than we needed. The staff is friendly and attempts to be helpful, a bit handicapped by lack of English. They organized an excellent driver with a comfortable car to show us around. He was very cooperative, did not insist we visit particular places, and suggested a good, reasonabley priced lunch on the beach for us. Transportation into Ubud is free.

We knew Kayumanis so that is why we chose it. There may be better venues but this is in a good location, close to Ubud. Unfortunately, the traffic in Bali is now as bad as Jakarta. It took us over two hours to get from Ubud to the airport. That's progress, I guess, but it puts a damper on much sight-seeing. You could do worse than relaxing behind the walls of your private villa at Kayumanis.

Room Tip: Request one of the newer villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    525
    68
    27
    9
    3
See reviews for
47
439
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

Great Resort for couples looking to just unwind and relax. The resort offers free shuttle to UBUD downtown area which is 10-15 minutes by car. So when you feel like getting out to see the city you have no hassles and at the same time you can return to this quiet location.
However, the washroom is completely outdoors, so if you are somebody who gets creeped out by bugs and insects or you are not comfortable taking an outdoor shower, this is certainly not the place for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shixi_narula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

After two days, I left Nikko and stayed at this Kayumanis resort. The service was amazing. They carried my bags all the way to my villa and trust me that was a bit of a walk for them. The villa was excellent. It was very clean, and the bathroom was spacious. In fact, it was as big as the bedroom. The outdoor area included a radio, table, and nice day bed. It was pretty ideal for taking naps especially when the rain came.

The food in this villa was excellent. The congee and sandwiches for lunch were well prepared and tasted great. But, the problem is the food is a bit too much. I'd say a two person breakfast is enough to feed four people.

The draw back for this villa is that it might not be for everyone. There are a insects since you are pretty up there. I even saw a cockroach but it's not to say this villa was not clean. It was a jungle cockroach from the surroundings not from lack of cleaning. At night, there are also a lot of frogs which come out. You can hear them for the whole night and if you go for a night swim, you might even be sharing the pool with one.

If any of this makes you squeamish then it's best for you not to come, but other that this place, in terms of the villa, food, service, and the complimentary 90 minute spa deserves to be a 5 star resort.

Room Tip: Get a villa near the restaurant. Most people stay in the villa, but once in awhile it's nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DDL980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

We visited Kayumani's Ubud for our honeymoon and enjoyed each and every single minute. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The private villas are outstanding and it would be hard to find this level of hospitality and service anywhere else in the world. You will experience ultimate peace here. The chef made us a separate vegetarian menu and made sure that our dietary needs were taken care of. We had a lovely breakfast by our villa pool in the mornings. The hotel provided a complimentary 30 min massage which was great to get over jetlag. we highly recommend visiting the spa and getting additional massages. We would recommend Kayumani's property to our friends and family without any hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hyperknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Press the reset button of your life and enter the villa. Awaits a grand view of a green forest connected to your double bedroom villa. In order to delete the old memories of the passed year, I was specifically looking for a verde connexion . Though booked for single bedroom villa and having complained for no view in it, I was upgraded to the double bedroom villa for my one week sojourn.

The greens stretches to infinity and the leaves talk to the rays of sun and keep them engaged till the tiring sun sets itself. Squirrels and birds greet you with morning alarm. Eyes open to tons of shades of green and blue pool.
Villa has two separate bedrooms with a balcony, one living room and kitchenette. Plunge pool and an attached forest with a stream of river rushing below it. Well, great enough , though architecturally, the single bedroom villas have been better designed.
If you shut yourself in the villa , then clothing becomes optional and for a naturalist, it is a divine escape.

The resort provides a complimentary car service to the town as per your choosing. So, you are not bound by shuttle timings etc.

Breakfast : Being a veggie, chef made special biryani and other gourmet dishes . The view from the restaurant is awesome. The chef also made wonderful dishes for the afternoon tea.

Infact, with the heavy breakfast and a mid day afternoon tea, most of the time, you don't need the lunch.

The mini bar is complimentary and is well stocked with beer and colas. Endless supplies of water bottles, which you don't need to sign for as in other resorts.

The first drive in can be a little disappointing as the resort location is via small lanes and by lanes, till you enter the resort. The lobby is not a lounge and does not show the regalia of usual big resorts. However, the lobby has little significance in the whole experience.

Butlers are attentive and service is prompt.

If you are out there for a week or so, makes sense to be a little creative and cook your own dinner , as the kitchenette is well stocked with all standard utensils and olive oil etc. I drove the first day to the super market and bought general vegetables and some spices and the kitchen was commissioned.
Though, dining in Ubud is quite cheap with multitude of restaurants . Try specially the Thai Siam sally.

The single bedroom villas do not have the forest attached , but are still very good for their composite seclusion .

Overall, it is worth the value and fully recommended. Other then the room, I has nothing else on my bill . Which makes it kind of all inclusive stay.

Room Tip: Take the double bedroom villa, if you value the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seawaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We spent 5 nights over Christmas in the 3 bedroom Villa at Kayamanis and we were all impressed with the whole experience. Our villa was composed of 3 separate buildings and a pool all enclosed by a stone fence, so it was very private and exclusive but with views across the valley from every room. It is very clean and quiet (no kids under 16), the food in the restaurant was good, and the spa offers massages and many services in very scenic surroundings. There is also free transport to/from Ubud. The main pool is a long distance down the hill and was not used much as everyone has their own pools.This was our 5th trip to Ubud and I would certainly recommend this place without hesitation.

Room Tip: There is only one 3 br villa and 2x2br villas. The rest are 1br. All seem to have their own pools an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewFarmPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

Went there with my wife for our 3 rd anniversary.

Awesome place.

Great hospitality. They do it sincerely and The Balinese take pride of the island and the things they do.

Breakfast is good. You can have it at the dining area or sent to your room. Choices including american, continental, ayung and indonesian breakfast. They can cater for halal meat too which suits us well.

You get complimetary high tea once and 30 minutes massage (back and shoulders)

It is in Sayan Village , about 10 mins drive from Ubud centre. Free shuttle to unud centre. Just call reception half and hour before and they get a local driver to drive u there. You tell them what tome you want to come back to hotel and where to meet the driver dor return back to hotel.

We stayed there for 3 nights and wish we would ve stayed there longer. For the price you pay, you get what you pay for.

From there, you can get a local driver to travel up north to kintamani and other few places ( up to you, just have to let the driver know- cost 500,000 rupiahs for 6 hours. Equals to $Aud 50.

All in all, we had an awesome time. Will definitely come here again, or at 3 other locations in Bali.

For soon to be honeymooners- please consider this place. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zagriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Bisma
Komaneka at Bisma
#15 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,784 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kamandalu Ubud
Kamandalu Ubud
#37 of 192 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Ubud
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Pita Maha Resort and Spa
3.3 mi away
Komaneka at Tanggayuda
2.8 mi away
Amori Villas
Amori Villas
#5 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa

Property: Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa
Address: Sayan Village Ubud P.O. Box 777, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Ubud
#22 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kayumanis Private Villa & Spa at Ubud is a refreshing retreat that takes travellers away from the demands of modern living. Gently nestled on a serene parcel of landscape above the flow of the Ayung River, a total of 23 luxuriously appointed villas offer total privacy from the outside world. Each villa is set within its own tropical compound with a private pool and open-style bathroom. Tastefully themed interiors draw attention to the artistic heritage of the Indonesian archipelago. All villas feature a gourmet kitchen and other high-end facilities to ensure that every stay is one of pure indulgence. A newly launched Spa environment, designed to focus on personal wellness, incorporates five treatment pavilions, a small restaurant, an infinity edge swimming pool and a series of inspiration decks. The Dining Corner is an intimate restaurant at the property offering sweeping valley views and a signature menu of authentic Thai cuisine. Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa do not accommodate children under 16 years old ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa Hotel Ubud
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa And Spa
Kayumanis Ubud Private Villa & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing