We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand, quirky, relaxing, art, needs maintenance and not 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #62 of 199 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I got a last minute deal of 65AUD per night including breakfast and was given a free upgrade from deluxe room to a small private villa. For the price paid this was an excellent stay! The hotel is very unique with lots of art and it's grand furnishings, with very pretty relaxing gardens and pool spaces, however it is quite run down when you look closely. Dirty, old and worn out towels. Bed linen is def not 5 star, and slightly grey. Pool area seating is also a little dirty and some chairs in the restaurant are also rather worn. The shuttle service into Ubud centre is brilliant, free and very accommodating. Hotel spa is vey pricey, can get much cheaper in Ubud. Our outdoor bathing area was very pretty although just needed some maintenance, cracks in the wall and a bit of mould around walls. Breakfast was ok, but not brilliant. The hotel has many places of relaxing and nature and art and grandeur to explore. For the price I paid this was truly an excellent stay. Not sure I would come back, for a more expensive price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 1,299 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

Having read some of these reviews, you can almost pick the personality from them! I stayed by myself at the Mansions to get some relaxation after a friend's wedding in Legian, and loved it. Walking into the main lobby with huge curved grand staircases, art exhibits everywhere and slightly faded opulence made me think I had picked the right place. The gardens were beautiful and not over manicured. I had a suite room for a bargain of $250 a night, with a living area and daybed, leading to a huge bedroom with four poster bed, and into the very large marble bathroom. Everything was yes, perhaps not brand new, but clearly good faded quality and I loved the colour schemes and timber blinds. I ate breakfast every morning and dinner by myself twice, and found the service to be a little over the top but still very friendly, which is what you want when dining alone. The food was adequate, leaning to very good at times, but the menu can do with some improvement. However the room service was good and the staff overall very friendly and willing to help in any way. The massage and wrap was very expensive for the quality of it - the masseuse seemed very disinterested and not well trained - however, there are plenty of spas you can visit for most of the day for the same price that are much better, including Bali Botanica in Ubud.
Overall I would recommend the stay; I love the faded grandeur and the comfort of the rooms, the quirky gardens and pool, and food and service. If you want perfection and modern 5 star - go elsehwere, if you want to be interested in your surroundings of lush greenery and a mix of modern and local art - the Mansions is the place for you. I will definitely be going back one day.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
5  Thank Helenoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Let me start by saying that this is not your typical, sterile, 5 Star Chain Resort. Stay in Nusa Dua if that's your desire. We arrived here after 5 days in Nusa Dua and I found the entire experience amazing, although in a kitschy sort of way. It was actually very refreshing to get away from the Western version of a resort and experience what I would consider a more Bali-like atmosphere.

We stayed with our 1 year old and the service and scenery were fantastic. My only concern was the shuttle to the town center, this was not reliable. We ended up renting a vehicle, but that was nice since it opened up endless sight seeing opportunities. However, driving in this country is not something to take lightly, it's about as crazy as it gets.

All in all, I would highly recommend the Mansion.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Estaban46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We stayed at The Mansion for 2 nights. We got an online deal from Australia $249 for 2 nights inclusive of breakfasts, 1 night dinner and 15 minutes massage. The Mansion is GRAND- no other word to describe it but we felt that this was just the facade and underneath the razzle dazzle, the place had been let go. Most guests we spoke with were from Australia and on a "special online deal"- most playing between $100-$130 night.

We stayed in the Govenors suite which was massive, had a huge bath, marble floor, big bed. However the mirors hadn't been cleaned for a long time, drapery was dirty, towles old and threads dangling. We ordered beer to the room and it was delivered 30 minutes later and was warm, we then sent it back to get cold beer and was told that it was going to be another 15 minutes.

General service was poor- there were beer bottles and plates left around the pool area from other guests- when we asked staff for a towel (via the telephone as there were no staff around), they bought us a towel but then walked passed the bottles and plates !

Breakfast was okay- lots of options but average quality and the hot food was only just warm. We used our free 15 minute massage but did not extend the time as the prices for the spa were expensive in bali terms i.e. 450 000 rp- we got great massages in Ubud for 50 000.


The gardens are amazing and there are a few great little places to sit and relax. The front gardens are immaculately kept, but the gardens around the pool were let go and had weeds etc. The staff had a very low level of english which made it challenging to communicate. Asking for a map of the local area, we were provided with a bad photocopy of a map that was hard to understand and staff could not communicate particulars on the map (other than the staff that were trying to sell tours).

The free shuttle into Ubud was great and they were fairly good on the pick up and drop off times. However if you missed the shuttle you could get a taxi for 50 000 rp which was cheap enough.

We loved Ubud- great place. We would not come back to stay at The Mansion- but it was an experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zululu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

My wife and myself just returned from one week stay at The Mansion where we had the most unforgettable time.

We previously stayed in Seminyak, and when we were checked in into our pool villa, through a very smooth and efficient registration, we felt like we were on heaven.
Coming from the busy city with heavy traffic, a walk through the huge and peaceful gardens and we finally reached this great relaxing ambiance we all expect for our holidays.

The rooms are very well appointed, we had a beautiful wooden bungalow within a private courtyard, with semi outdoor bathroom. This was our honeymoon trip, and each evening we had our villa decorated in a new way. On the first night our outdoor bathtub was filled with flowers and surrounded with candles. Next day, it was the pool that they arranged with plenty of floating candles, it was a never ending surprise, a great present we will always remember.

All our best thoughts to The Mansion staff, you have all been great! We will come back soon!

Room Tip: With some wooden villas, you will get a very cosy privatie, with a stylish private swimingpool in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ariya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012 via mobile

I have read the bad reviews & felt we must have stayed at a different place! Our room was very clean & comfortable, the staff were wonderful, the grounds were well keep, the pools cool & inviting. We ate many meals here & could not complain about them, tasty & well cooked. While something's need a bit of work, example some blinds in our room did not work well, I found the staff keen to help, we complained about the shower head & it was replaced immediately. We would stay here again as we did enjoy our stay but I would call it 4 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yearlytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were staying 4 nights in a Deluxe Room at the Mansion Hotel in Ubud. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was very spacious and confortable. Unfortunately, linen, towels etc were not very clean and not 5 star. The blinds were dusty and damaged. Looking out the windows we faced unkept gardens and rubbish. We had our own jacuzzi which didn't work but we were able to go to another villa.
The grounds were big with 3 pools but no service available. Breakfast buffet was very basic but the food and service were very good.
The Mansion needs a good overhaul, gardens tidied up and building repaired and painted!
The massage at the spa was divine!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fellmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#26 of 199 in Ubud
789 reviews
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
0.6 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#39 of 199 in Ubud
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.6 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 199 in Ubud
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#49 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#53 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £57 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing