We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent location, historic and freindly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #60 of 198 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exellent location, historic and freindly staff”
Reviewed 27 September 2012

My daughters and I stayed for three nights and were totally happy with the experience. The staff is efficient, helpful, friendly, and welcoming. The reception is very courteous and well accommodated, On arrival, we were pleased to have welcoming drink and a walk out around the hotel. We were totally amazed, this property looks like a museum which is rich in ornate architectural design and beautiful gardens. We had originally booked a deluxe room but were delighted to be informed that we had been upgraded to a Villa residence “RAMA” which was simply beautifully elegant and luxurious. All goes well for room amenities. The Indochine Lounge is a wonderful amenity and provided impressive buffet breakfasts with morning sun and pool view.

The location, near the artists villages of Ubud, walking distance is approximately 25 minutes away from the center. We took advantage of the village and rice paddy walk to ubud center, it is a great way to see real village life and learn a little about Balinese culture. Free shuttle bus is available as well, which makes it perfect for those who want to be close but not too close to the action. the drivers are friendly and helpful. The surroundings are beautiful; surrounded by rice fields and local traditional villages which is convenient to almost everything .

The Mansion is the perfect base for exploring the rest of the island. The resort provides details of tours which they are happy to organize on the guests behalf. We took advantage of this service and booked a day tour which included three temples and a visit to the volcano.

Our excellent tour guide and driver called Puja, what a treasure he was, and he speaks such a good English and provided great insight of each of the stop off points as well as suggesting additional stop off points which may be of interest, including a visit at the coffee plantation (highly recommend this!) Our regret is not having more days left at this resort to take additional trips for other locations around the island.
We highly recommend the Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa for your stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derrel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    627
    398
    111
    61
    35
See reviews for
255
559
63
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I've stayed in a lot of 5 star hotels in Europe, but they didn't have a patch on The Mansion in Ubud. The setting was glorious, lots of little pools, flowers galore, and extremely helpful staff. The setting was stunning, and even though we went in relatively high season, we always had the pick of the loungers, and often had the pool to ourselves. Some people say they found this eerie, personally I loved being away from the crowds.

We stayed in one of the garden villas, and it was beautiful, spacious and relaxing. We got a great deal through a last minute room site and only booked a few days before. We got excellent value for money. The villa is very 'open' with glass on three sides, but curtains can be used for privacy. The design was very funky and it has all you would need - TV, aircon, ceiling fan and a massive bath. Anyone complaining about hearing frogs etc needs their head read. What do you expect from a tropical island?

The hotel is not in walking distance to Ubud, but they had a free shuttle there and back running throughout the day. These are quite busy, but they will run as many cars as they need to get you there promptly.

The only thing I would not recommend is the spa. While lovely, they charge in US dollars, and it doesn't not represent value for money. In fact, it cost more than I pay in Melbourne. Go into town

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank f1recrack3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent 5 days here and loved the resort. The charm and friendliness of the staff was a bonus. Loved the pool area and were amazed at the design of the gardens.
Found both the SPA and the restaurant very over priced so used the shuttle service to source alternatives in Ubud. I think the owners should reconsider the pricing strategy as would have enjoyed to spend more time utilizing options at the resort.
Breakfast choices were a bit limited.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Governor Suite and it was very luxurious. A five day package is worthwhile. The shutt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We tried 3 different room here......all wonderful and charming. We booked for one night originally and extended for 5 nights hence the different rooms. We ended at cottonwood pool villa which was just beautiful. We also had a room called kenanga which was beautiful with hot tub outside. The service was excellent and the restaurant serves great food. The gardens are delightful and so relaxing. Great value for money! They offer a free shuttle into central ubud which is useful.
Very happy and will easily recommend this hotel to anyone going to ubud.

Room Tip: All beautiful and unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emilyh35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I spent 8 days at the resort and found it overpriced for what you get and what is on offer in Ubud. It is definitely nowhere near the 5 stars that they advertise - probably more 2 star. The plumbing was awful and I did not have hot water for the first 2 days of stay and then another day later on. I did not have water at all for 2 days of the stay. The staff were not very helpful with this and eventually the hot water was only fixed after I demanded to speak to Manager after the second day. The plumbing also made very loud noises (woke me up every night and I am a very sound sleeper) at night which keeps you up, The prices of the spa were ridiculously expensive. The location is quite a long walk from Ubud centre and most tours will not fetch you from the hotel. The worst part was that they charged me double for the trip. I booked via Expedia and paid in advance. When I checked in, I was asked for a credit card for incidentals and when I returned home after the trip, I see that the hotel charged for the full stay again on the credit card. They are still trying to find the "best way", according to the manager, to refund me.

I would not recommend the hotel or go near the place again!

Room Tip: Do not book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Approach to hotel and entrance is good. Hotel full of over designed- rich and ornate furnishing. Lots and lots of things everywhere even if it has no aesthetics.

Rooms are laid out like In a sea side resort but the quality and amenities may be just about or below average.

Not particularly a hotel that will be appeal to repeat users or someone familiar with Ubud and market.

But the staff are friendly and smile and do their best to assist you.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank btakhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I can think of lots of little things that were wrong with The Mansion, but overall, the place is fantastic, and I couldn't recommend it highly enough. I absolutely loved staying there and, having left there a few nights ago, I know the fondness in my memory for this place will only grow with time.

First, the bad points:
It is a fair way out of the centre of Ubud (about 5km I think). It is fairly much in the middle of nowhere, with nothing of great interest to me within walking distance. There is cafe Vespa that is close, but alas, by the time I realised it was a decent cafe the Galangun (religious celebration) had started and it was closed because of it for the last few days I was there.

This means you have to rely on the Mansion's shuttle service, or taxis, everyday. However, despite previous reviews to the contrary, I found the shuttle service to be very reliable, and never missed out on getting a ride in. They have two shuttle vans, so if one is full they will send the second one out as well. Getting back was a bit less reliable, but most of the time we just got cabs, for 50,000 (equivalent to about $5 Australian; for a trip that would cost about $20 in Australia).

We had a massive bath tub in our room, but the hot water was very limited, and we couldn't fill it more than about 5 inches deep before the water was cold.

We ate at the restaurant on our first night and the food was very ordinary, and expensive. We were there for a week and never ate dinner there again. We didn't bother with our one free dinner after that, which was part of our deal. My wife had duck and it was really terrible, dry to the point of almost being inedible. I had a seafood medley and the prawns looked aged.

Despite all the outdoor pools, and water space, there were no heated spas.

The Wisnu suite, which we stayed in, and which was superb overall, didn't have a closed off bathroom or toilet. It's a separate space, but not walled off.

Finally, we travelled with a 21/2 year old, and we were expecting a separate bedroom, so that we could put her to bed and then spend time together without disturbing her. I would have complained, but the room was just too good to give up for something that may not have been as good.

Now the good:
The Mansion really is a mansion, with a grand entrance and foyer area. The property is very big and well kept, with so many pools and lovely outside lounge areas.

The buildings have a lot of character, which a lot of newer style resorts lack. The quality of the materials they used to build the mansion is very high; no corners were cut when they built this place.

The suite we stayed in was huge, with a balcony over looking the grounds.

The staff were great.

I know some have complained about the buffet breakfasts, but I can't understand why. The food quality and variety was excellent, and the setting is beautiful.

Overall, while it wasn't perfect, it is just such a great and unique place to stay that I couldn't recommend it highly enough. By staying there, you really will feel like you've stayed somewhere special, as I do, especially now reflecting back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Napoleon06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#25 of 198 in Ubud
737 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#42 of 198 in Ubud
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#58 of 198 in Ubud
603 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 198 in Ubud
1,023 reviews
1.6 mi away
Plataran Ubud Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#47 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#52 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, ACCOR, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing