We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started rocky but ended well!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #69 of 200 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Overall our stay was very nice and we would definitely go back. First I will talk about the good then the bad.
Service is very good, friendly staff always willing to help and address you with a smile and pleasant welcome. Breakfast is really good offering an omelette bar, vegetarian option, fruits and dessert. The property is huge and overall the decor is amazing, very bali wood. The rooms are big and lots of different styles. We first stayed in one room then we switched to another room. This is the bad part. The first room they gave us was big, 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom with a bathtub and shower. Very nice room but full of ants everywhere even in the bed. Unfortunately we checked in after midnight so they were not able to switch our room until the next morning. I am deathly afraid of ants and Ubud (bali) definitely has a lot of them, everywhere all different sizes. The staff switched our room no problem and let us check the new room before committing. The other bad is the location. It's very nice if you like privacy but we would have preferred to stay in the center. Although they offer a shuttle which is definitely nice. The reason we chose this hotel initially was because it had good wifi which we needed for work and they did not disappoint. Overall we really enjoyed our stay especially for the price, the hotel is definitely worth it.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nvitser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,332 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed at the mansion for 5 nights , we booked a two bedroom villa and when we arrived we were given a studio that you share the living area with another guest as we were tired and had a baby with us we stayed here in the 1st nite.
They did move us to a 2 br villa the following morning however made no apologies for the error.
The rest of the stay was ok , but there are a lot of areas that can be improved,dishes left pool side for 2 days,not enough towels in the rooms, bath and shower didn't drain,the staff were very friendly and they do the best they can.
Breakfast was boarding school quality and not the quality of a 5 star.
Would not stay here again , and I think there is better quality out there in Prices are high for everything , we opted to get delivery for some meals.
3 Star quality.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the main house unless you like sharing with strangers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Everywhere you turn is an inviting, peaceful nook. Breakfast by the pool with an amazing vista charmed me for hours. Just touring the grounds was a photo journey. The staff is so kind and inviting. Definitely a place to go back to!

Room Tip: We stayed in Spring Wood bungalow, off the pools. We were there during a quiet time, so it was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JenniferAmman_Jordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

My friend and I just returned from Bali. We spent two days at the mansion which was beautiful, so restful and tranquil. Pools of water everywhere, both decorative and to swim in. Day beds, a fantastic Spa. The room itself I just wanted to take home with me. It was a great place to wake up for our first day in Bali. The hotel staff could not have been more helpful, the transport into town was great. Breakfast was plentiful if somewhat limited in choices. A total bargain for the price we paid - absolutely no complaints.

Room Tip: You want to be in one of the outside rooms not in the mansion house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstenmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We stayed November 2012 for our honeymoon and were very impressed with this place. After reading other reviews we were a little reluctant to book but decided on balance to go with it. Our experience was a very good one and we didn't experience any of the insect problems described by others. The staff were lovely, as was the buffet breakfast with dedicated staff member to make fresh omelettes. The vast gardens and pool areas were wonderfully maintained and added to the overall ambience. The only thing that bothered us was the unnerving statues in the bathroom, so if you are bothered by that sort of thing then eep...

The in house SPA treatments are far more expensive than equivalent treatments in Ubud so we decided not to go for that.

It is a little far away (10 mins drive) from ubud and the free shuttle into town appears to only be every two hours, which is confusing as the ride back comes every half hour...

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan_n_Grace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Took advice of our friend who had stayed in The Mansion Ubud last year, and had shown us some nice picture of this resort. We decided to include Bali to our Thailand and Singapore trip.
It was a great decision, The Mansion Ubud had added memorable time to our trip,
love the romantic setting! The ground are so incredibly beautiful, and the staff are so helpful, kind, and excellent service, We felt very pampered!
We looking forward to coming back to bali, and staying at The Mansion again.

stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smitt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We booked our trip as a package, which always leaves me a little concerned about getting the 'leftover' rooms. We were pleasantly surprised! Our room was massive, and complete luxury. Usually when staying in Bali we have a private villa, so the only thing we really missed was our own private outdoor area. However, the gardens have lovely private areas you can set yourself up in. Unfortunately, the pool side service for drinks & food are non existent, & the hotel is too far out of Ubud to walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa. The rooms are nice, but if you are looking for privacy, the villas are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DockoAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#37 of 200 in Ubud
1,095 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 200 in Ubud
849 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#44 of 200 in Ubud
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#43 of 200 in Ubud
2,174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#53 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#60 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £48 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing