We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mansion -- a Must” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #60 of 193 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“The Mansion -- a Must”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

We arrived rather late in the evening and very hungry due to a few unexpected travel issues. It was pouring rain, so the road from the airport in Denpasar to Ubud made for slow-going. By the time we arrived the kitchen at The Mansion had closed, but the staff reopened it so that we could enjoy a late-night snack from the impressive menu.

The service at The Mansion is impeccable and welcoming. The gardens are meticulously groomed and the rooms equally so. There was a semi-private jacuzzi outside our rooms that my traveling companions enjoyed. I had an acupressure massage at the spa, which was professionally done and not so expensive.

Breakfast was excellent: a nice selection of fresh fruit, sweet potatoes, breads, juices and a fellow making omelettes. The only thing we didn't like was the coffee, which didn't taste like real coffee at all.

The Mansion itself is an art gallery with a few comfortable couches. The grounds have several pools to choose from.in an idyllic setting a few kilometers outside Ubud. The hotel has a free shuttle into town that runs several times a day.

I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    379
    104
    60
    32
See reviews for
242
527
60
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

Sweet, nice, comfortable, private, tranquil.

For a private quiet hide away from the crowds of "downtown" Ubud, this is superb. Easy access to town by way of scooter or I believe a shuttle service.

Would return on another visit to Ubud for sure.

Did not try their breakfast / restaurant.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank FlowerPetalBlooming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013 via mobile

At first I was a little disappointed as is starting to show signs of its age. But then the charm of this place kicked in. Such a beautiful setting, massive grounds and so much to look at. Shuttle service is a little unreliable in terms of picking up from Ubud but after a quick phone call they always come and pick you up! Overall you very much feel you are being transported back to another time ( in a good way!). 4 nights here and will be sad to leave - but great memories!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

What a property this is. So picturesque. A gentle reminder of the Bali that was, with all the mod cons. Beautiful old furnitureand settings. it doesn't have all the clean lines of modern hotels but makes up for this in spades.
Right from the Grande entrance and stairway you get an idea of what to expect and the Rolls Royce and 2 Mercedes parked up outside.
We were very lucky to be put in the Kresna room in the Jasmine residence and this made our holiday.
The staff as always in Bali were excellent and would like to thank them all. Alit, Wayan and Sugi amongst many.
As others have mentioned breakfast is not as good as most other hotels we have satyed in but was ok.
We would stay there again definately.

Room Tip: If you get the chance to stay in the Jasmine residence Kresna room take it !!! It made our holiday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank review649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

If you want to live at one with nature this is the hotel for you! Magical entrance and gardens. Our room enormous, lovely thatched room with outdoor bathroom, four poster bed and.... resident GIANT spider and indoor ribbiting frog. We asked to be moved as the spider was a bit too much for us, and without hesitation, we were moved to a very nice de luxe room. I booked this hotel because it was classed as a five star which it definately isn't. Quite tatty in places, needs a good overhall but having said that staff are very, very helpful, polite and come in threes to remove creepy crawlies. The surrounding area is lovely, a very interesting walk round the paddie fields to the rear of the hotel and a very good cafe 'The Vespa' (run by and expat) is in walking distance. Also within walking distance are several spa's. Had a facial at one only to be disturbed by a viper in the thatch above me, but that is another story.
Only downside of the hotel is the distance to and from the airport particularly through Kuta's congested traffic. Took two hours to go just 10kms. The trip is worth it if you want to see the real Bali.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a deluxe room the others aren't worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

Ive read some of the other reviews for The Mansion Resort and I honestly think that something is a miss here. The Hotel is as one lady said, cluttered and dirty. Our room was nice at best but the bath room was horrible, damp full of mould with the paint coming off the walls. The ceiling in the bathroom looked like it was going to cave in. The restaurant is really over priced but i guess some people pay it because its a '5 star luxury resort' make no mistake about it, this is not anywhere near a 5 star Hotel and at the very best would just scrape a 3 star in the western world. The breakfast is nothing short of appauling, stuffed in a small corner of the room with flys everywhere its just not good for a Hotel that claims so much, we were here for a week and I only ate once at the Hotel because it was so bad (Breakfast). The gym also has 4 machines only one of which works properly.
The hotel is not within walking distance to Ubud, if you are a real walker then you may decide to take it on but for normal people its just to far. The shuttle runs every 2 hours which is fine.
I hate to have to write bad reviews but I travel alot and what really gets me is so called 5 star Hotels claiming to be this and that when they are worse than cheaper places. You can get alot better in Ubud for your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ecopaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

Overall a great hotel and excellent value for money. Would recommend this place to people who would like a nice friendly stay without the 5 star prices.

Service was excellent and friendly all the time.

Nice pools, great SPA and generally a great hotel.

Dinner is overpriced, so best go into Ubud for a nice dinner.

Some rooms are a little dated, however generally very good for the price.

Room Tip: 1. Request a room in the main part of the hotel or not in the function area (near the furtherest poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_rod2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#29 of 193 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#47 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.3 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#55 of 193 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571 , Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#46 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#51 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing