We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic balinese experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #67 of 196 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Feels right at home ... Great for a family vacation. The setting is spacious, expansive, and lush. As anticipated, staff were warm and courteous but communications were not great. The internal phone system did not work well ... had to run back n forth between lobby and free room to contact each other.

Room Tip: General tip: get a sim card w data at the airport on arrival or at some shop nearby ... costs about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank xiaomifeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2014

beautiful gardens, but need to be maintained better, or in a year it ail be too hard to get back to what it once was. Many staff, but many don't seem to do much. Pool areas all very nice, but when it rains, cushions on chairs are not moved to assist with drainage.The rooms were good & comfortable. Breakfast was mediocre. On our last day there the buffet was not available, with no explanation given, however we were given al la carte, but staff had some difficulty with the orders.
Checked out at 1200, & went back to hotel to pick up luggage &get transfer to airport @ 2000. We were offered a room to shower & change in, very much appreciated.
Overall a good place to stay, but is not 5 star, more like 4 star

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank boblynAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Arrived here with my office groups. The room are not well prepared, it was not that clean as I expected. Some dust on my bed. The Air Con are blow straight to bed so it wasn't very comforting. The breakfast are good with many food varieties. It was quite hot at night around pool.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Hotel beautiful. Gardens and pools very well maintained. Room delightful with the best bathroom I have ever seen. Service at the restaurants was very poor. Staff unable to understand English therefore orders always incorrect. Very frtustrasting!!! When food did arrive although incorrect, tassted good. Breakfast was the same every morning.....disappointing. Having said all that, would go nback again. Thank you for a pkeasasnt experience.

Room Tip: Delux garden rooms beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Deb G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Beautiful gardens, vistas and pools.
One of our rooms had an unusual layout - with handbasin in the bedroom not the bathroom, and no bedside tables - but pretty and clean and otherwise nice. The other room was small and not very luxurious.
Some difficulty communicating dates and arrival times etc with reservations, but otherwise good and friendly service.
The massage was light and 'underwhelming', but nonetheless the spa experience was nurturing.
Didn't have a chance to eat a meal other than breakfast there, but the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HolyGrail613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

-big, nice and clean rooms
- wifi in the room
- very professionnal staff (speaks good english, fast, carefull)
- nice nreakfast with a good choice and an "egg station"(altough fresh fruit juice would be an improvement)
- beautifull house, gardens and pools
- freeshuttle to ubud

Room Tip: We had room "Srikandi" wich is a first floor with terrasse close to the lobby and were ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JOe_B3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights, and although the staff were all very nice, we found that the Mansion Hotel is way OVER PRICED, and was not like they had projected on there web site. The staff had problems understanding English, and it was just easier for us not to get what we wanted as it was just "too hard" to keep trying to explain.
On our first night it started to rain and just outside our room they started to paint the footpath, I asked them why they were doing this, and again the English barrier was an issue, so we just went to bed. In the morning it was flooded and all the paint was floating and the pathway was very slippery and dangerous. We were stuck in our room! Also water was coming up from under the ground which smelt terrible. We had to walk through all this and had paint on our feet and the soles of our thongs. We then asked to be changed to a different room, and they showed us several rooms, all different quality and none the same, but not really very nice, they are all run down and decor is very tied and old looking. Although I understand that they want to keep it a tradition looking Hotel, it is VERY over priced, and not appealing. We ended up staying in our room which was the "Cempaka" room, as all of the others that they showed us were just terrible. They had to clean up all of the wet paint and the water problem, which took 1 1/2 days.
We did enjoy the pool areas and it was nice to walk around and take photo's of the garden's ect and did have a relaxing feel to it.
The "Spa" was very expensive and was very average compared to other Spa's around Bali and what they offer you, The Mansion Spa needs to have a review on quality of products, or should I say "lack of products" that they offer. But the girls are very nice, but it just doesnt cut it when you get your bill.
The restaurant was good and we enjoyed our meals, but hard to explain to staff what we wanted from the menu. Again quite expensive.
There is no WIFI in your room and if you want to use the internet you have to sit in the lobby, using your own smart phone ect.
We had 2 x spa's (jaccuzzi's) just outside of our room, which to our surprise they charge $25US for one hour, the rooms are so over priced that I thought it would include sitting in a spa.
We probably wouldn't come back to this hotel unfortunately, there are better hotels in Ubud than this for a better price too.

Room Tip: Ground floor bungalow style, no rooms have numbers, they are named all different Indonesian names.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DeniceDonners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elie G, General Manager at The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Mr. & Mrs. Donners,

Warm greetings from The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your afternoons spent swimming in our pools, walking & photographing around The Mansion grounds, as well as your repeated dining at our Indochine Restaurant and your repeated treatments at our Heaven & Earth Rejuvenation Spa.

During the four days of your stay The Mansion Team & Management all greatly enjoyed hosting and serving you, sharing so many interesting conversations with you. Our whole team always commit to its very best to provide our valued guests with quality service and relaxing experience. We were therefore really shocked and surprised to read through your review:

• On regular basis, our cleaning team treats the footpath with anti-slippery coating, which would dry fast, however we apologize that the few meters treated got washed due to the heavy extreme rain, caused some inconvenience in front of your room.
• All our Staffs related to guests’ services speak English fluently; as for some Gardeners, Cleaners & Busboys would speak some English.
• We trust you have enjoyed the repeated massages at our Spa, where treatment prices’ are comparable to the mainstream Luxury Resort in Bali. Our Heaven & Earth Rejuvenation Spa offers certified therapists and uses the highest quality products, our own line of Spa products is based on natural herbs, Almond and Jojoba oil, refine the most natural & healthy treats to even sensitive skin.
• As for Food & Beverage, prices are also comparable to the mainstream Luxury Resort in Bali. Indochine Restaurant, Café La Terrace and Cherry Blossom Dim Sum have extended menus & specialties with imported & organic ingredients.
• WIFI is available in all rooms; however wind & rain could affect signal strength.
• The Mansion Bali has 165 Bedrooms. Whether it is at The Royal Penthouse, a Luxury Suite, a Private Pool Villa, a Residence or a Deluxe, most of the rooms has different ambiance; Classic, Balinese, Modern; to create authentic atmospheres for our guests to experience.
• The Mansion Bali, a well-established five star Luxury Resort with 4 hectares of stunning gardens, 6 swimming pool and not less than 14 Galleries and Museum featuring the most important milestones of South Asia art history, Ballrooms, Convention & Wedding Venues, that cannot be compared as a home-stay as you have stated.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to host you in the future. We would be happy to welcome you back and exceed your expectations.

Kindest regards,

Elie Gaborit, Mr.
General Manager
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
0.6 mi away
Sri Ratih Cottages
Sri Ratih Cottages
#38 of 196 in Ubud
1,090 reviews
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort Ubud
Sankara Resort Ubud
#27 of 196 in Ubud
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#42 of 196 in Ubud
481 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tjampuhan & Spa
1.3 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#60 of 196 in Ubud
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#52 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#58 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range: £48 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing