We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“3 Star Property” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #58 of 190 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“3 Star Property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed here 4 nights due to the cheap rates for 2 adults and 2 kids after staying in an expensive high end resort in Nusa Dua.
Hotel was quiet so our service was good but i can imagine as other reviewers have said this could unravel if they were busy.
The staff are lovely.
Food at dinner was a big letdown.
Breakfast was not buffet and was restricted and basic motel fare.
Wifi was not existent outside main lobby - don't believe any other information.
We still enjoyed our stay as we accepted these negatives as reflected in hotel price.
I have stayed in 30 + 5 star resorts and this could not officially be rated as such. It would never get 4 or 5 stars in a legitimate appraisal.
I don't like to bad talk the place too much and we enjoy all our stays while on vacation and enjoy different experiences but don't like misinformation.
This hotel is a love or hate type property that given its big size and dating facilities is a maintenance headache for the owners - it would cost far too much to renovate properly . Some of the neglected pools (many on large property away from main activities) looked very dirty.
We would only recommend this place to people if it was made clear that it is not a 4 or 5 star resort. The grounds are very tacky or 'charming' hence the name 'Bollywood'
Main building is impressive though.
All in all if you expect to get what you pay for then you can overlook some of these shortcomings.
My wife slipped over and hurt her ankle on the slippery paths. To be fair all of Ubud is slippery.
I would not advise people to stay here but wouldn't tell them not to either.
The kids loved it. 6 & 8.
I hope this information helps you make your decision.

Room Tip: Did not see other rooms but from other reviews i would say that there are lots of variation in diffe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    589
    374
    104
    60
    32
See reviews for
239
524
60
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Eli thanks for all you help and flexibility. The most beautiful hotel I ever seen! 5 to 6 swimming pools. Staf very helpfull and flexible. Very good priced. We really loved this hotel. It is unique how it looks. Really good!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Masion is without a doubt our favorite place in Ubud ... The story hotel telling through art and beautiful small environments around the garden's aesthetic beautifully. The staff are all helping to make it one of the most beautiful and best places in Ubud. My wife and I will always come back to the hotel when we are in Ubud.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed at the Mansion in mid January 2014 and were accommodated in a two bedroom villa with a sumptuous private living area and gorgeous pool out the front. Staff were congenial and eager to help. Breakfast was good - no buffet, but a nice variety of Balinese and Western food.The property appears to be vast with a number of inviting pools dotted around the tranquil gardens which are teeming with tropical plants and flowers. We had a relaxing and enjoyable. Certainly felt like an authentic Balinese experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank vick707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Feels right at home ... Great for a family vacation. The setting is spacious, expansive, and lush. As anticipated, staff were warm and courteous but communications were not great. The internal phone system did not work well ... had to run back n forth between lobby and free room to contact each other.

Room Tip: General tip: get a sim card w data at the airport on arrival or at some shop nearby ... costs about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank xiaomifeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

beautiful gardens, but need to be maintained better, or in a year it ail be too hard to get back to what it once was. Many staff, but many don't seem to do much. Pool areas all very nice, but when it rains, cushions on chairs are not moved to assist with drainage.The rooms were good & comfortable. Breakfast was mediocre. On our last day there the buffet was not available, with no explanation given, however we were given al la carte, but staff had some difficulty with the orders.
Checked out at 1200, & went back to hotel to pick up luggage &get transfer to airport @ 2000. We were offered a room to shower & change in, very much appreciated.
Overall a good place to stay, but is not 5 star, more like 4 star

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank boblynAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Arrived here with my office groups. The room are not well prepared, it was not that clean as I expected. Some dust on my bed. The Air Con are blow straight to bed so it wasn't very comforting. The breakfast are good with many food varieties. It was quite hot at night around pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#27 of 190 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#45 of 190 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#34 of 190 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
1.3 mi away
Mathis Retreat
Mathis Retreat
#26 of 190 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571 , Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#46 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#52 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Southall Travel so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing