We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a mixed bag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #59 of 195 Hotels in Ubud
Certificate of Excellence
perth
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a mixed bag”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just returned from a week at Mansion. It a 45 minute walk out of Ubud centre via the attractive bridge where the outside Bridges Restaurant is located. Transfers to town are 2 hourly, so a 50,000 cab fare ($5) was sometimes necessary. Mansion's staff are extremely pleasant and helpful, as is the case with the staff at Wake where we previously stayed. The room was fine, well air-conditioned, the grounds could do with better upkeep. While breakfast was quite good, the restaurant generally had a cook rather than a chef and does not compare favourably with other Ubud eateries. We might stay there again due to the staff and reasonably tariff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kamaleshPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    603
    381
    106
    60
    33
See reviews for
245
534
61
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

My wife and I had a 3 night stay using an internet voucher in a single room. After a minor plumbing problem on the first day the staff had no hesitation in relocating us to a two bedroom room which was very comfortable. We love Ubud and quite enjoyed being just a few minutes out of town. The grounds of the hotel were beautiful and we enjoyed several of the pools. The staff were very friendly and helpful. While we hired a scooter to get around on the hotel offers a regular transfer into the centre of Ubud. A very pleasant stay and would be happy to recommend The Mansion to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights after purchasing an internet voucher for a deluxe room. It included breakfasts, daily spa treatments and a three course dinner for two plus one way airport transfer. We really enjoyed our time here. The room while not modern was spacious and clean. We stayed in the SriKandi room which had a great balcony which we sat on most nights enjoying a couple of drinks, a cool breeze and the sounds of nature. There are a couple of things that made our stay here outstanding. The first was the grounds of the hotel. The property is very large and the rooms are spread throughout it so there is a real sense of privacy and peace. The gardens are beautiful and very well maintained. We spent a lot of time wandering around them. There are lots of little nooks and crannies with beautiful statues and interesting art and garden features. The pools were all set within lovely areas and were never crowded. In fact most days I had them to myself. For me though the most outstanding thing about this hotel was the staff, particularly reservation and front of house staff. They were always friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome. The spa treatments were wonderful too. The buffet breakfast spread was not huge but it was tasty. This is not a new modern streamlined hotel so if that is what you are looking at to make it a five star rating it may not be for you. For us however the grounds, sense of space and tranquility and the kind, caring staff made our stay 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumbo321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Not a 5 star
The most horrible 5 star hotel I have ever stayed at. Not a pleasant experience right from the start, this hotel need serious renovations especially rooms. Everything in hotel is from 20th century, very uncomfortable and old bed, bed looked like more than 100 years old, will make noises even with a slight movement, horrible and faulty toilet that do not work, kept me awake all night with constant flow of water. Too many issues to list here, avoid at any cost. Staff is great but that does not matter when you have to stay at a miserable place. Pictures given on internet are deceiving.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khurramriaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The staff are the very best part of the hotel. Our room was one of the cheaper ones and is the reason I have given it four overall. As I have said the staff is five being always helpful and a delight. The hotel, the part where we we staying, was looking just a little tired but the up market side looked better. The grounds are delightful and, although we didn't avail ourselves of them the pools looked great. The hotel is a few minutes out of Ubud and the hotel has transfers that operate every couple of hours or, if like we were, you're were running short of time the hotel only charges five dollars (Aust) for a car to drop you off. Oh, and the restaurant is good for dinner as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

An amazing place to experience total relaxation, gardens are fantastic with many areas just to relax and enjoy life as if there is not a care in the world. Staff are very good and intent on making your stay memorable

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank DavidvPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at the wonderful Mansion in Ubud. Both times we have enjoyed warm, welcoming service from the staff especial our friend Wayan. Our room has been a special treat, with its extra large bedroom, huge bathroom and extra living areas on the balcony and lounge areas for us to entertain our friends in.

The breakfasts are fresh and plentiful and the evening meals are a delight. Served with charm and grace by the traditionally dress staff.

The pool is clean and cool with lots of lounge areas.

The estate around the Mansion is vast and worth taking the time to look at. The gardens are exotic and very well maintain.

The Art collection is certainly extensive containing both classic and modern pieces .

Room Tip: the only down would be for business travellers is that the WiFi can be a bit hard to connect too but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Susie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubud hotels
1.2 mi away
KajaNe Mua Private Villa & Mansion
2.6 mi away
Sankara Resort
Sankara Resort
#28 of 195 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.6 mi away
Alaya Resort Ubud
Alaya Resort Ubud
#46 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Lokha Ubud
The Lokha Ubud
#53 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ubud Village Hotel
Ubud Village Hotel
#35 of 195 in Ubud
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
1.1 mi away
Komaneka at Rasa Sayang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Penestanan, Sayan, Ubud 80571 , Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Ubud
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Ubud
#44 Romantic Hotel in Ubud
#46 Luxury Hotel in Ubud
#50 Spa Hotel in Ubud
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mansion Hotel & Spa is one of Bali's rare gems. Set in a tropical lush green park estate, it offers outstanding hospitality and the extensive facilities of a luxury resort. The Mansion is a registered five stars luxury hotel. The Mansion is situated in the artist community of Penestanan on the Sayan Ridge just a few minutes drive from the centre of Ubud, the island's cultural centre. The Mansion Resort has been nominated by the prestigious Conde Nast Traveler as the World's 100 Best New Hotel, 2004 Hot List, is selected by Luxury Group since 2006, and is choosen by National Geographic Traveler Indonesia as one of 20 favourite hotels, may 2010. Hotels were chosen throughout Indonesia based on the following criteria: service; unique hotel personality; environment and social awareness; online booking facilities; architecture and views; safety and security; value for money. Heaven & Earth Spa at The Mansion Resort has been awarded by the prestigious "World Luxury Spa Awards" as "Best Luxury Hotel Spa - Country Winner 2011" and "Best Luxury Medical Spa - Country Winner 2012" , and was recently selected by Conde Nast Johansens 2013 in its epicurean collection of Luxury Spa. Experience the ultimate in massage and healing rituals at Heaven & Earth, The Mansion's celebrated spa facility. Treatments are drawn from the most traditional therapies to the most comprehensive selection of modern medical spa therapies to rekindle your Body, Health, Beauty, Mind & Senses. Guests at The Mansion can enjoy a unique culinary experience reminiscent of classic dining ambiance. In an ornate setting, perfect for celebrating a special occasion or important announcement, dining at The Mansion offers the ultimate in ambience, service and attention to detail. At Indochine, savour the unique combination of Asian & Continental nouvelle cuisine, an ideal location for a select dinner or gathering. Cafe La Terrace offers a casual menu in an airy conservatory, decorated with an impressive array of art selected from The Mansion's private collection.Sia Pacific region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mansion Resort Hotel And Spa
The Mansion Hotel Ubud
Mansion Hotel Ubud
The Mansion Resort Hotel & Spa Ubud, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing